Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
62 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Not enough (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Effective (2 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 82 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Akins High School 5

Posted June 21, 2016
- a parent
My son has improved tremendously since being at Akins. I am blessed he has teachers that care about his education.

Akins High School 1

Posted May 05, 2016
- a parent
Absolutely an unsafe school. Do not send your children here if you have an option. The administration does not act on bully situations unless someone is assaulted on campus even at that there will be no adults around to stop violence from happening. It is such a sad thing to see a school not act to try to protect their students. I will say there are great teachers and that is the best thing the school has going for them. Unfortunately the staff has no sense of urgency in potential violent situations. Hopefully in the future this will change. But I do not see that happening any time soon.


Akins High School
Develops honesty: Strongly disagree

Posted May 05, 2016
- a parent
Absolutely an unsafe school. Do not send your children here if you have an option. The administration does not act on bully situations unless someone is assaulted on campus even at that there will be no adults around to stop violence from happening. It is such a sad thing to see a school not act to try to protect their students. I will say there are great teachers and that is the best thing the school has going for them. Unfortunately the staff has no sense of urgency in potential violent situations. Hopefully in the future this will change. But I do not see that happening any time soon.

Akins High School 5

Posted January 18, 2016
- a community member
I attended Akins for the full four years of my high school career (2009-2013). The faculty at this wonderful school is the single most valuable asset that W. Charles Akins H.S. has to offer. They are extremely caring and go well beyond what is expected of a secondary school educator. If it wasn't for the guidance and wisdom of the teachers of Akins H.S., I would not be progressing towards my masters degree in economics at the University of Texas at Austin. If your child has a desire to succeed, they will thrive at this school.

Akins High School 5

Posted September 04, 2014
- a parent
Great school and academy programs. My sons are currently enrolled in this school and have nothing but good things to say about their teachers. This school has come a long way and I have nothing but good things to say about it. If your involved with your kids life there is no reason why your child should not succeed!


Akins High School 2

Posted March 26, 2014
- a parent
Low expectations by teachers if child is not enrolled AP Classes. Low support by coaches even if parent contacts coach.

Akins High School 5

Posted December 30, 2013
- a community member
Akins was not built as an alternative school it was just another high school in south Austin . I have plenty of friends that graduated from Akins and plenty of them are plenty successful. Please do your research before deeming a school as an alternative school.

Akins High School 5

Posted January 07, 2013
- a parent
Akins has really come along way from it orgins. Akins was initially a school where badly behaved kids were sent and now it is a recognized campus. The school has been said to have one of the best campuses and best teachers. Akins High School has also gotten a lot of media attention because of the way the school is set up by academies so that students are able to focus on a career that they are interested just as of they were in college.Akins High School is also known for having the best science,math,engineering,medical, law, and business programs(those just being about 20% of the programs offerd) in Austin. No other high school could come close to providing the education that this school can. When you send yor child to school here it is almost as of you are sending your child to a prestigious High School. It basically seems as of your sending your child to law school or to medical school because the studens who go to Akins get the experience and special cources as of they were.


Akins High School 2

Posted August 24, 2012
- a student
Teachers really do alot for students and I was able to get my certificate from my academy major but the principle and the leadership are not nice to the teachers. Sometimes they are rude even in front of the students to the teacher. Every year my teachers find other jobs because they do not like to be treated like that.

Akins High School 5

Posted May 15, 2011
- a parent
Akins has made tremendous strides from a few years ago. The academy structure has provided my children many opportunities! My kids have selected majors and have participated in internships. It is a recognize campus just like Bowie, Anderson, and Austin High. The teachers are the best I have seen.

Nearby schools

Akins High School
10701 South 1st Street, Austin, TX  78748
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 82 reviews. (512) 841-9900
Last modified Akins High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 5 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top