Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
57 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Not enough (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Somewhat effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 76 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Chaparral Star Academy 3

Posted February 18, 2016
- a community member
First, I advise you to throw out all of the "Star is THE best (or worst) school in the world" reviews - they are obviously biased and written to persuade. Do your own research and look at facts. A significant number of high school students have left over the past year due to dissatisfaction over minimal instruction, limited number of courses , strong cliques, and teacher (and staff) -student favoritism. There is a strong emphasis on the speech team, which could be a good thing, except that the school places less emphasis on other academics. For example, the Board approved a large amount of funds for the speech team, yet would not approve the Biology teacher's request for enough textbooks to distribute to each student, because they felt the the textbook downloaded onto their oft-malfunctioning tablets were sufficient. Regarding the state's school rankings, remember that standardized test scores do not provide much information. The state-mandated passing grade for the STAAR EOC exams in Biology, Geometry, and English I in 2015 were 50%, 46%, and 61%, respectively. That's not hard to accomplish with minimal instruction. If your student is looking to explore different areas of interest and want more opportunities, look to the larger schools. There are excellent public schools in the area.

Chaparral Star Academy 5

Posted August 07, 2015
- a community member
I am a proud CSA alumni and have recently completed my first year of college. I graduated from CSA with not only a 4.0 GPA but also an understanding of how to study, use my time effectively, and succeed in classes whether I love the subject or not. The condensed schedule does mean that there is a lot more homework than at your typical high school, however I can tell you from my college experience that this amount of outside work prepares you tremendously for the hectic college schedule that you may have later on. This school challenges you to be your best and because I worked hard and got the grades to show that, I was accepted into the Honors College at a major university. Not only that, but CSA taught me enough time management that throughout high school I was able to keep up my GPA while also being involved in multiple school clubs. Because of these experiences, I was presented with a Service and Leadership Scholarship from my university. I fully believe that CSA gave me the knowledge I needed in the main school subjects, but more importantly it taught me how to succeed in a challenging environment. Yes there is a lot of homework, and yes you have to put time and effort into your classes to get an A. But coming from a current college student, I can tell you that having to work for my 4.0 in high school is the reason that I have had the skills to be able to keep up that 4.0 GPA in college. CSA did a great job of preparing me for my next step after high school, and I can't thank the teachers and administration enough for giving me the opportunity to attend this school.


Chaparral Star Academy
Develops empathy: Strongly agree

Posted August 07, 2015
- a parent
Students are supported, but not enabbled to make poor choices. Discipline issues are addressed immediately.

Chaparral Star Academy
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted August 07, 2015
- a parent
CSA sets the standard by employing wonderful role models. The administration provides an open door for everyone on campus to share any concerns, which are addressed promptly.

Chaparral Star Academy 5

Posted August 07, 2015
- a parent
Chaparral Star Academy has been a wonderful choice for our family. I feel confident the children will continue to receive an excellent education provided by amazing teachers. The administration will not tolerate bad behavior and provides student/parent support unlike anything we've experienced before.


Chaparral Star Academy 5

Posted February 19, 2015
- a parent
We truly love the school, but would prefer a female be added to the middle school staff to support behavior management, especially for the boys, who at this age can often exhibit poor conduct choices in a social setting. The school principal, Mrs. Hagen, has been very supportive and we are confident the school will continue to improve and excel. There is no doubt it's where we prefer our kids attend school.

Chaparral Star Academy 3

Posted January 25, 2015
- a parent
This school has excellent teachers who know their subjects well and work with very few resources to teach students, many who attend for the shorter hours than for the academics. Teachers work longer hours than at other public schools due to the double daily sessions they teach. It is a challenging environment for the teachers and staff, but they work hard and care about their students. The school works well academically through middle school. As with many small schools, there are problems. Once in high school, the course choices are lmited, even among the core subjects. Currently, chemistry and physics classes are taught online, with only a classroom monitor present. Student enrollment is small, so the social dynamics plays a huge role. Children of staff appear to get preferential treatment. Bullying has been a growing problem over the years, but not addressed. Students have left the school when the social dynamics have become difficult. If a student is immune to the social hierarchy, wants the flexibility of a shorter school day, and is satisfied studying mostly core subjects, the school will work for him/her. Otherwise, a different school will be a better choice.

Chaparral Star Academy 1

Posted November 06, 2014
- a parent
This is an excellent school if you have a child in the elementary or middle school. Once your child hits high school RUN AS FAST AS YOU CAN!! The board does not support the high school students and allows disadvantages to their own student body. There are little to no honors, pre-AP and AP classes and when asked about them they will tell you "all our classes are on honors levels" but the kids get no credit for such. Very disappointing school and school board. Not an elite school at all.


Chaparral Star Academy 3

Posted September 29, 2014
- a parent
CSA is NOT a good fit for you if... > You want a personalized curriculum. It s a traditional public school education, complete with TEKS/standardized testing, condensed into 4 hrs. If you want alternative educational options, check altedaustin.com. >You seek a strong sense of community at events. Parent involvement is low and it s usually the same parents. >You expect stellar teachers across the board. As with any school, there are a handful of fantastic educators, a handful you wish weren't there, and a lot who fall somewhere in between. CSA might be a good fit for you if >Parents are willing to be co-educators. A condensed 4 hour school day means increased responsibility at home. >You easily fall into line with expectations/rules. Admin is cordial but usually unwavering when it comes to issues. You often hear "As a K-12 school, we face a challenge with <insert concern> because..." >You value school rankings & awards. CSA earns many of them but exemplary awards don't mean the curriculum is superior. Students who don't perform well in this environment often transfer out, leaving only those who excel in this type of education model. That can skew performance indicators.

Chaparral Star Academy 4

Posted April 20, 2014
- a parent
We are happy with the school after our child's first year in kinder. The main pro is small class size (15), which allows for individualized attention. My child reads well and the teacher was proactive in making sure she stays challenged. There seem to be few/no issues with bullying. The con is that as a charter school, Star does not receive as much funding as the local school. It shows in the facilities (lack of a library, playground, greenspace). Teachers have said they appreciate how much less bureaucracy they have to deal with here vs. at a regular public school. The half day allows us extra time to pursue music & sports w/o tiring out our child or running into weekends. Other notes: does not feel like a traditional school. It is in an office building; entrance is cold & concrete. There are dogs onsite. It is very religiously diverse, so they are careful not to celebrate certain holidays. The school feels very "family" where kids know other kids across grades. The families seem to be less well-off than the suburban area where we live but committed to their kids' education and on the whole, people we like to be associated with.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Chaparral Star Academy
14046 Summit Drive, Austin, TX  78728
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 76 reviews. (512) 989-2672
Last modified Chaparral Star Academy is a Charter school that serves grades K-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top