Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

4 stars
Based on 15 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


16 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Lake Pointe Elementary School 3

Posted October 31, 2013
- a community member
Academically this school is great, as are many of the teachers. Unfortunately there are some bigoted teachers who claim to welcome all but in reality are biased against all but the WASP children/families. Racism and xenophobia rule amongst the few! Office staff when we visited this prospective school were very unfriendly. I understand that arriving at the exact time for an appointment is optimal, but to be subjected to eye rolling, pen throwing, and general anger for being a five minutes EARLY is unacceptable. Be professional! Sadly these are our memories of Lake Pointe. Our children will not be attending despite the school's academic successes. Life is about more than a grade on a piece of paper.

Lake Pointe Elementary School 5

Posted December 31, 2010
- a parent
We have been proud parents of two (son and daughter) LPE students for the last 8 years. This is truly a great neighborhood school with excellent parent and community support. The outstanding school staff, parent involvement and community support combine to make this one of the best elementary schools in Austin.


Lake Pointe Elementary School 5

Posted January 24, 2010
- a parent
Our son has attended K, 1st, and is now in the second half of 2nd and LPE has been simply outstanding so far. Most other parents we talk with feel the same way. I find one of the poor reviews below hilarious that the person doesn't like the use of dodge ball....they obviously aren't from around here thinking we've done away with it - it's my son's favorite part of PE! We've had parents who send their kids to private schools comment they are very surprised at the quality of education and activities LPE students get for 'free' (of course we as taxpayers are paying for it, so it is certainly not free, but no 'extra' private school tuition required).

Lake Pointe Elementary School 5

Posted January 26, 2009
- a parent
My son is in his second year at this school and we are thrilled with it. The principal is innovative, fun and truly accessible to both students and parents. The parent involvement is the best in the entire district and the PTO uses their fundraising money for extras like an outdoor classroom and Spanish for all kids. (The only school in the district to do so.) We couldn't be happier!

Lake Pointe Elementary School 5

Posted September 30, 2008
- a parent
This review submitted without content.


Lake Pointe Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted June 24, 2008
- a parent
This is a really great school with awesome community support. We have been very impressed with the challenges and the encouragement to do their best that the teachers and staff give our kids daily.

Lake Pointe Elementary School 5

Posted May 31, 2008
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Lake Pointe Elementary School 5

Posted November 14, 2007
- a parent
My daughter is now in second grade and she loves her school. Each of her teachers she has had have been great including the ones who teach music and arts/crafts/sience projects. Every morning all the children meet in assembly for announcements and other activities. We moved from our ranch to this subdivision because of this schools reputation and have no regrets. The school and community are very involved with after school activities such as carnivals and talent shows.


Lake Pointe Elementary School 3

Posted October 30, 2006
- a parent
Overall a pretty good school academic wise, but daughter was new to the school at the beginning of the year, and no one assisted her with where to go, how to get lunch, and common procedures. Teacher hardly ever responds to e-mails from parents. Child claims that teachers are nice one day and very moody and cranky the next. Lack of common sense witnessed a few times so far this year 06-07. Dodge ball in PE? I thought we all did away with those horrilbe memories in the 70's!

Lake Pointe Elementary School 5

Posted March 16, 2006
- a former student
It is a great school. They have a new outdoor classroom that is great for the kids. It has a massive field for after lunch with basketball courts,ect. It is two stories and the staff there is wonderful.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Lake Pointe Elementary School
11801 Sonoma Drive, Austin, TX  78738
(512) 533-6500
Last modified Lake Pointe Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Lake Pointe Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 16 reviews. Top