Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Genesis High School

Public | 9-12 | 89 students

 
 

Living in Bastrop

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $144,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,020.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 27 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

41 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 20, 2013

This is a good alternative for the students who are self motivated and need to fast track graduation from High School. Many Students enter the workforce full-time or part time while they continue their education. After graduation, many students continue their education at a community college or trade school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 26, 2012

This is one of the best schools I have ever had the pleasure of working for! The teachers and students are awesome! I wish the school luck in all they do thier future endeavors!


Posted December 6, 2011

I went to Genesis because I was sick of going to a normal high school and did not like the high school environment. Genesis was a good alternative because it's much smaller and therefor flexable. I was able to finish my entire senior year in a semester. Genesis has great teachers that are willing to put in extra effort to help you get where you want to be as long as you are willing to do the same.
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 4, 2011

This school is helpful to all teens who messed up in the past and want to get their life together and make something out of their life. If it wasn't for genesis i wouldn't be graduating but thanks to them i get to graduate and move on to college early.
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 28, 2011

If I hadnt gone to Genesis I would not have graduated!!!! This is a great school for people who do not think they are going to graduate!!!
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 10, 2011

I went to this school, and graduated really fast. Everyone there is super friendly and helpful. I thought I wouldn't graduate but I will.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 20, 2011

Genesis HIgh School helped me so much to become a better and well educated person. I recieved a huge amount of help from the teachers. They helped me learn the subjects more better and made me smarter than I was before. The staff is very polite and nice when you need their support. I thank everyone at Genesis for helping me reach my goals at becoming a better adult. I really admire everyone a Genesis for the person that they made me today. I loved the kind of style that their schools goes by because it so organized and obeyed by everyone. The classes are really small that way you can work in a better environment.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 23, 2011

This school is AWESOME! The teachers are great! I have learned so much being at this school, it is the best feeling in the world to graduate early knowing you actually earned it. Genesis has inspired me to become a teacher. I would never regret choosing to come to this school.
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 24, 2011

Genesis High School is an amazing school full of opportunities and new things to learn. I would recommend this school to someone before I would reccomend another school.
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 25, 2011

I would like to thank Genesis High School for helping me graduate. It has being one of the best decisions i have made in my life. The teachers there not only guide you trough your classes but commit themselves to get you going and help you have that proactive mentality. I was a step away from dropping out and Genesis really was my New Beginning. It had being years since i was excited about being in school, and coming here made me really believe in myself. Mr. Granado really does care about getting your future going and i promise you, they will really do " WHATEVER IT TAKES" to get you that diploma.
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 24, 2011

i think this school is a great school to go to. All the teachers are very kind and helpful.
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 19, 2011

this was a great experience for me. i was actually able to get all the right help that i needed to get through it. it was way way better then bhs. im so glad that im graduating, now i can go to sschool for cooking. thanks everyone.
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 19, 2011

This was a very good experience for me.i learned so much here. All the staff is very caring and respectful. i like the fact that its a small school. Im so proud that i actually got things together, buts its because of this school.((: they are GREAT!!!!!
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 17, 2011

My experience at this school was far better than I had thought it would be. With the school being so small, and the classes uncrowded, you get the right help and tutoring you need.
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 17, 2011

This school helped me so much. I am infinitely thankful for the opportunity I had by coming to this school, and finishing earlier than I would have had I stayed in BISD. A competant staff mixed with well thought out plans renders this school among the elite.
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 16, 2011

like oh my god oh my god. i would have never been able to gradute on time or at all without the help of the genesis family. i was so close to dropping out of school. untilll i got accepted into this scghool. now i'm graduating a year early and on my way to colleage, the first in my family. genesis is the best schoool in all the univerese. i give it 12 thumbs up.
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 16, 2011

As a graduating student from Genesis High School I think this school is awesome! We have the best teachers ever!! They will to everything in their power to ensure that we will succed. Attending this school has taught me nit to give up, and how to function in the "real world." I would recommend it to anyone that is looking for an alternative route for their high school education. I couldn't have done it without you guys! THANK YOU GENESIS!!!
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 15, 2011

Genesis High School is a great school. A school where one can learn about self motivation and perseverence. In order to get any where in life you must work to the point of exhaustion, and then work harder. If one wishes for their education at Genesis High School they MUST study hard and work harder. Very much similar to life, and thats what the instructors at Genesis teach. Skills for the real world; the world past high school, and I thank them for it.
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 12, 2011

As a student of Genesis High School i could say that i would recommend this school to anyone it is the best school that i have ever attended and i been to alot. The principal and staff create a great family like environment and work with each student one on one. And if your like me and have a child then this is the place to be, before Genesis i had no hope i was a drop out and Genesis helped me get my child in a daycare close by and i don't have to pay a dime. Genesis has given me hope again and now i can say that i did it. I got my diploma.
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 12, 2011

I am very thankful for genesis high school the reason i am thankful is because htye had work something out for the situation that i was and they were giving me courage each time that i was going to do my work... THANK U GENESIS
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 89% in 2011.

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 70% in 2011.

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 91% in 2011.

11 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
82%

2010

 
 
77%
Math

The state average for Math was 74% in 2011.

14 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
7%

2010

 
 
21%
Science

The state average for Science was 76% in 2011.

14 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
7%

2010

 
 
46%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 93% in 2011.

13 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
46%

2010

 
 
70%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 95% in 2013.

11 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
84%
Math

The state average for Math was 89% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
45%

2011

 
 
71%

2010

 
 
75%
Science

The state average for Science was 95% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
82%

2010

 
 
94%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 98% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
100%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students100%
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a

Math

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a

Science

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a

Social Studies

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

  • In 2010-2011, this school was rated "AEA: Academically Acceptable".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was rated "AEA: Academically Acceptable".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was rated "AEA: Academically Acceptable".

About the tests


Texas uses Accountability Ratings to indicate the overall performance of each school and district. The ratings are based on TAKS test results, dropout rates for grades 7 and 8 and school completion rates for grades 9 through 12. Schools and districts rated under standard accountability procedures are designated as Exemplary, Recognized, Academically Acceptable or Academically Unacceptable. Schools and districts rated under alternative education accountability (AEA) procedures are designated as either AEA: Academically Acceptable or AEA: Academically Unacceptable.

Source: Texas Education Agency

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 78% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
Algebra II

The state average for Algebra II was 97% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 85% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
Chemistry

The state average for Chemistry was 84% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
English I Reading

The state average for English I Reading was 65% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
English I Writing

The state average for English I Writing was 48% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
English II Reading

The state average for English II Reading was 78% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
English II Writing

The state average for English II Writing was 52% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
English III Reading

The state average for English III Reading was 63% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
English III Writing

The state average for English III Writing was 42% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 86% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
Physics

The state average for Physics was 81% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
U.S. History

The state average for U.S. History was 73% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
57%
World Geography

The state average for World Geography was 75% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
World History

The state average for World History was 70% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

Algebra I

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrantn/a
Gifted/talentedn/a
Non-Giftedn/a
Bilingualn/a

Algebra II

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrantn/a
Gifted/talentedn/a
Non-Giftedn/a
Bilingualn/a

Biology I

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrantn/a
Gifted/talentedn/a
Non-Giftedn/a
Bilingualn/a

Chemistry

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrantn/a
Gifted/talentedn/a
Non-Giftedn/a
Bilingualn/a

English I Reading

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrantn/a
Gifted/talentedn/a
Non-Giftedn/a
Bilingualn/a

English I Writing

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrantn/a
Gifted/talentedn/a
Non-Giftedn/a
Bilingualn/a

English II Reading

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrantn/a
Gifted/talentedn/a
Non-Giftedn/a
Bilingualn/a

English II Writing

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrantn/a
Gifted/talentedn/a
Non-Giftedn/a
Bilingualn/a

English III Reading

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrantn/a
Gifted/talentedn/a
Non-Giftedn/a

English III Writing

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrantn/a
Gifted/talentedn/a
Non-Giftedn/a

Geometry

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrantn/a
Gifted/talentedn/a
Non-Giftedn/a
Bilingualn/a

Physics

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrantn/a
Gifted/talentedn/a
Non-Giftedn/a

U.S. History

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrantn/a
Gifted/talentedn/a
Non-Giftedn/a

World Geography

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrantn/a
Gifted/talentedn/a
Non-Giftedn/a
Bilingualn/a

World History

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrantn/a
Gifted/talentedn/a
Non-Giftedn/a
Bilingualn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 52% 52%
White 31% 29%
Black 12% 13%
American Indian/Alaska Native N/A 0%
Asian or Pacific Islander N/A 4%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander N/A 0%
Two or more races N/A 2%
Source: TX Education Agency, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient (LEP) 11%N/A17%
Source: TX Education Agency, 2013-2014

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
Beginning teachers 0%N/AN/A
Source: CRDC, 2011-2012

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1200 Cedar Street
Bastrop, TX 78602
Website: Click here
Phone: (512) 772-7230

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Gateway School
Bastrop, TX




Cedar Creek High School
Cedar Creek, TX



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT