Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
9-12
Public
Bay City, TX
Students enrolled: 978
Before care: No
After care: No

4 stars
Based on 10 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


12 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Bay City High School 5

Posted November 05, 2013
- a parent
A Hometown School with Big City Opportunities! More Academic Choices Largest & most diverse curriculum in the county. More AP/Dual Credit, more Career & Technology, and more Extra-Curricular offered on-site. More fine arts Music, Choir, Theater, Dance, Studio Arts 4A District Large enough to offer more opportunities; small enough to provide personal service

Bay City High School 5

Posted November 05, 2013
- a parent
A Hometown School with Big City Opportunities! More Academic Choices Largest & most diverse curriculum in the county. More AP/Dual Credit, more Career & Technology, and more Extra-Curricular offered on-site. More fine arts Music, Choir, Theater, Dance, Studio Arts 4A District Large enough to offer more opportunities; small enough to provide personal service


Bay City High School 2

Posted January 24, 2013
- a parent
I am a parent of children going to this school and the only good thing I have to say about it is that if you work really hard and have the money you can graduate with 40 college credits. That's not saying you learned much. They have some great teachers but my opinion is they have more that just don't care. BCHS has a consistency problem, bullying, drugs, sex, and not following up/through with issues or complaints. Ignore it and it will go away is their moto!

Bay City High School 4

Posted January 11, 2011
- a parent
Great small school which offers excellent student/teacher ratio. Teachers prepared my children for college. BCHS offers AP and dual credit courses which even larger districts do not provide. Small student/teacher ratio meant my children got the help they needed to be successful. They received academic scholarships and have gone on to do well at college.

Bay City High School 4

Posted January 11, 2011
- a teacher
As a former teacher of almost 20 years who currently works in Bay City ISD, and as an educator who's worked in many districts in Texas, I can assure you that BCHS offers as much if not more to its students in the way of curriculum, has a dedicated staff, and works hard to secure the safety of all its students. The high school principal is a "can-do" person, who works tirelessly every day for her students. She works hard at building personal relationships with her students, and her door is always open to her students, staff and parents. Her positive and boundless energy are truly inspiring to see. She genuinely listens to her students' needs and ideas, and has implemented many of their suggested changes. She has also added many new elective course offerings and extra-curricular activities. Students who take advantage of all this campus has to offer are doing well -- students continue to go off to Ivy League and major universities, into the armed forces, and on to advanced schooling or work. The school is small enough that teachers know the students, but large enough to offer something for everyone.


Bay City High School 5

Posted November 24, 2009
- a community member
Great opportunities for all students. biggest class options for AP and Dual credit. Can have over 50 college hours before graduating from High School.

Bay City High School 0
no rating

Posted October 12, 2009
- a student
The school is lacking and has been lacking since I arrived, I am a Freshman. The teachers hardly teach anything and a lot of rowdy kids bully the others. While they do have a facility on the nicer side this school is filled with drugs. I don't recommend it.

Bay City High School 5

Posted November 05, 2008
- a community member
I worked for BCHS for 12 years, Bay City has rooted history and I truly believe that any parent that enrolls their children there will not be dissappointed. Just like any school district they strive to provide the best education possible the decision is totally up to the individual student just how bad they want to succeed. Go Black Cats ! Submitted by a former paraprofessional


Bay City High School 0
no rating

Posted June 25, 2007
- a teacher
Given the typical TX public high school, I feel, as a former teacher at Bay City High School, that it is well above-average with its academic standards as well as the support of the administration of its teachers. My contract was renewed for a subsequent year at BCHS; I did leave to go to Houston to teach, and now I do regret it. Accolades to BCHS !

Bay City High School 2

Posted July 30, 2004
- a former student
As a former student of Bay City High School, I left feeling that the administration was focused more on their own personal welfare than the students. Everything centered around the football program - most other programs were seldom supported. I am a 4 time Dean's List awardee in college, but without the support of a few veteran teachers that worked outside school hours, I would have have no preparation from the curriculum set by BCHS. I truly believe that familiarity with the students by the prinicipal staff makes a difference in tracking a student's progress and creating a support system, but I mostly encountered avoidance and negative attitudes. I once greeted out school prinicipal, repeated it three times, and he chose to ignore me. There was no one else in the hall. The prinicipals also showed indifference in our AP testing, making loud noises eating and inviting a friend in to converse.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Bay City High School
400 7th St, Bay City, TX  77414
(979) 245-5771
Last modified Bay City High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 3 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Bay City High School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 12 reviews. Top