Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
14 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 15 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Central Senior High School 1

Posted June 27, 2014
- a community member
this school needs help, rules are never folowed and kids are very disrespectful to teachers. fights happen often, but teachers try and do what they can. sometimes it feels like no one really cares

Central Senior High School 1

Posted June 03, 2014
- a teacher
Central has got to be the worst school ever. There is no support from administrators, money for supplies, and to top it off, the kids are HORRIBLE. More time is spent in class managing students than actually teaching the lesson. Students cuss teachers out because their is no respect for authority. School is basically a social gathering. Studies conducted in the golden triangle place Central at the bottom of every list. Glad I found a job else wear, the best of luck to all those who decided to stay after the whole BISD scandal.


Central Senior High School 1

Posted December 30, 2013
- a teacher
The district within itself has become quite a spectacle over the past 2 years, and this school has been at the heart of nearly every reason for it. Central is considered a "second chance school," meaning that there is virtually no rigid disciplinary system in place to govern either the behavior or the academic progress of students. The disciplinary recommendations of teachers are usually undermined to give students an excessive amount of second chances in such a way that violent behavior, truancy, and the level of disrespect has escalated. Especially during the weeks leading up to holidays, the school becomes one giant playground; 1 AP in particular does nearly all jobs you'd expect of the principal (of whom, is rarely involved in or seen by teachers and/or students), so nothing effective gets accomplished, and teachers are left to fend for themselves. It's no surprise that the level of teacher retention has become deplorable because of this lack of administrative support. The vast majority of the students attending read and write well below grade level and have absolutely NO social or interpersonal skills. To parents: West Brook should be your first choice, hands down.

Central Senior High School
no rating

Posted November 01, 2009
- a community member
Central has a great band, and the Medical Science Academy is awesome.

Central Senior High School 1

Posted November 08, 2008
- a community member
During volunteer events, students seemed to rule the school while teachers seemed afraid to discipline.


Central Senior High School 5

Posted August 02, 2006
- a parent
I for one would like ot say that Central High School is an exceptional school with an outstanding staff that truly cares about the students well-being. I'm proud to say that I was 1 among many in the transition between BCP and French High School which created what is today Central High School. Forget the stereotypes of 'Ghetto' or 'Uneducated' because this school has been and will remain a cornerstone of excellence not only for the community but Beaumont as well. I want to extend my thanks, love and gratitude to all of the Central High School Staff and students for a job well done. Mr. Dennis L. Harris

Central Senior High School 4

Posted February 22, 2006
- a student
I graduated from central in the year 2002. I strongly feel that this is an excellent school and is an asset to the community

Central Senior High School 4

Posted August 25, 2005
- a student
Good school I recomend this school to people how enjoy meating good people


Central Senior High School 4

Posted May 03, 2005
- a student
I am proud to be affiliated with Central High School! The quality of advanced placement academic programs coupled with the availability of sports, art, and other extra curricular activities are superior to other educational institutions in the Golden Triangle; yet, amazingly enough, Central usually carries a tarnished reputation. Why? Ignorance. Since people in the community aren't informed of the positive changes being made at Central, and the local media plays into the stereotype of the 'Ghetto, all-black' school, Central is often made out to be the scapegoat for all negativity in BISD. In all honesty, Central's staff is helpful and truly shows concern for promising students- and for me, they undoubtedly prepared me for the challenges of collegiate level work. Thanks Mr. Ammons, Ms. Hendrix, Mrs. Smiley...and the rest of the Central staff in it's entirety. -a student from the class of 2004.

Central Senior High School 3

Posted January 29, 2005
- a parent
There is too much drama in this school. My child loves Central, but I fear she will gete into trouble or harm will come her way.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Central Senior High School
88 Jaguar Drive, Beaumont, TX  77702
Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 15 reviews. (409) 617-5300
Last modified Central Senior High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 2 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top