Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Ozen High School

Public | 9-12 | 1102 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
 

In the know: Get our expert advice on schools

No articles are available

Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

13 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted November 14, 2013

One of the worst places I've ever been placed. It was a year of experiencing the closest thing to jail. Violence, terrible teachers, insane gangs of students running wild. Never again.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 28, 2013

Ozen high school was once the most popular school to attend for many reasons. Here lately everything has seem to be falling apart. The band is small, drill team girls look lazy in the stands, football team can't win a game to save their lives, and academic wise well... on that note I blame both the teachers and the parents, your child will only give what you push them to give. Neither party helps this high school reach it's goals as being a true Magnet high school. As a minority school ozen is slowly turning the wrong way. But then there's the kids who want to learn and succeed and are actually doing it. As a graduate of the 2009 class I can say that my classmates are pretty successful with degrees of some sort. High school should be a fun learning environment for all students as well as faculty. Blame all parties for the lack of seriousness not the staff.


Posted April 27, 2012

I feel that the school is more serious about the clothes that the students wear than what the students are actually learning in class. The staff needs A LOT of improvement. The school is also somewhat dangerous because of the students that they cannot control. I only allowed my daughter to go to that school for 2 weeks and i removed her ASAP. The male students are unbelievably rude, and disrespectful to the female students, and that is one of the main things i seen when i visited the class one day. As did i see that the teachers did not pay close attention to their students, allowing them to do many inappropriate things.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 22, 2011

The students have a disciple problem,poor teachers that have been teaching for years with no improvement. The leadership cannot be trusted and needs to be replaced. Moral would be greatly improved.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 18, 2010

I find it sad that parents have to go out there in order to be sure the teachers are even teaching anything. The teachers really are not top of the line I think they are the left overs or rejects from the other schools.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 11, 2007

I am a recent graduate of Ozen High school and I believe that the school has great potential but the staff needs a little work. If they spent more time teaching then harrassing students on simple things that doesn't matter the school would be great. But instead the stress more about the color clothes you wear or the shoes on their feet. Most of the classes teachers spent more time on the students clothes than lesson. How are the students to learn if the teachers don't teach.
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 7, 2006

I am an ozen student and i feel that ozen is a very good school. it may have it's problems but i learned way more here than i did at central.We may have some faculity members that do inapropriate things but what school dosen't the only difference is we're all ways on the news.Anyway our principal is doing his best to reform the school so far his attemps are paying off our 10th grade TAKS scores have come up.We are the only school with a debate team in this district with the exception of pisd(Port Arthur Independent School District)and we are highly ranked num.1 if im not mistaken,I say all that to say this eventhough we have our problems we still maintain a great learning enviroment.
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 11, 2006

Ozen has a lot to offer if anyone wants to take advantage of the opportunities that are given. The only problem I see is there is a need for more help in TAKS tutorials. Starting with the students entering the 9th grade.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 1, 2005

i think ozen is a very intelligent school the only problem is all the teachers are coaches and to many fights
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 5, 2004

I am a proud graduate of Clifton J. Ozen High School.The faculty and staff did a great job of preparing me for college and I don't regret one moment.To those who have negative comments, you are probably the ones who haven't spent a whole school day at Ozen and really don't know what you're talking about. All I can say is that I did get a great education and had great moments. I was involved in the debate team, Beta Club, National Honor Society, and I played basketball all four years still managing to graduate magna cum laude. I love you OZEN and thanks for the memories. -B. Holmes
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 5, 2004

I went to Ozen and I graduated in the top of ten of my class. There is nothing wrong with Ozen if you stay focused. I also played sports. So in reference to the athletic comment, I made it, and I go to a decent college. True enough the hallways are crowded, but the food was alright. There are excellent teachers at the school but everyone isn't perfect either. Actually at times during my high school years I had to depend on faculty and staff to get me through and they were always there to help.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 26, 2004

Ozen high is not all what people may think it really is. This school is mostly best for students who you know will excel in sports such as, football, baseball, track, and basketball. Why? Well that's the only thing really that this school supports. The teaching level is not good, the academics here aren't good either. So if you are looking for a school that will better your child education wise, they should go to West Brook, if your child likes sports and plays well, Ozen is the best place. Ozen is really only recongnized for atheltics and giving good scholorships for sports. The decision is yours to make.
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 21, 2004

This school has many good oppurtunities for the students to do very well in high school and college. This school prepares everyone for college, even though many are not going to college. Most of the teachers have years of experience and are teaching on college level already. Even though some things are good, there is a lot of bad things. The hallways are real crowded, the facilities are too old(even though they are building), there isn't enough incentives for the students, their isn't a senior parking lot, the cafeteria is small and the food is terrible, the seniors have nothing to do, and lastly, the school is cheap. I recommend that everyone who is planning to go there check it out before you make a final decision.
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 89% in 2011.

290 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
82%

2010

 
 
89%
Math

The state average for Math was 70% in 2011.

281 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
54%

2010

 
 
61%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 91% in 2011.

273 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
87%
Math

The state average for Math was 74% in 2011.

267 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
71%

2010

 
 
63%
Science

The state average for Science was 76% in 2011.

266 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
82%

2010

 
 
67%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 93% in 2011.

267 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
93%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 95% in 2013.

225 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
93%
Math

The state average for Math was 89% in 2013.

223 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
77%
Science

The state average for Science was 95% in 2013.

225 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
92%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 98% in 2013.

223 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
99%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students94%
Female97%
Male91%
Black or African American94%
Asiann/a
Hispanic100%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged95%
Special education75%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a

Math

All Students82%
Female85%
Male78%
Black or African American79%
Asiann/a
Hispanic91%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged81%
Special education58%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a

Science

All Students94%
Female99%
Male89%
Black or African American93%
Asiann/a
Hispanic100%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged94%
Special education72%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a

Social Studies

All Students97%
Female100%
Male95%
Black or African American97%
Asiann/a
Hispanic100%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged97%
Special education75%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

  • In 2010-2011, this school was rated "Academically Acceptable".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was rated "Recognized".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was rated "Academically Acceptable".

About the tests


Texas uses Accountability Ratings to indicate the overall performance of each school and district. The ratings are based on TAKS test results, dropout rates for grades 7 and 8 and school completion rates for grades 9 through 12. Schools and districts rated under standard accountability procedures are designated as Exemplary, Recognized, Academically Acceptable or Academically Unacceptable. Schools and districts rated under alternative education accountability (AEA) procedures are designated as either AEA: Academically Acceptable or AEA: Academically Unacceptable.

Source: Texas Education Agency

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 78% in 2013.

259 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
61%

2012

 
 
66%
Algebra II

The state average for Algebra II was 97% in 2013.

48 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
90%
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 85% in 2013.

297 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
77%
Chemistry

The state average for Chemistry was 84% in 2013.

254 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
n/a
English I Reading

The state average for English I Reading was 65% in 2013.

322 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
41%

2012

 
 
45%
English I Writing

The state average for English I Writing was 48% in 2013.

348 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
29%

2012

 
 
37%
English II Reading

The state average for English II Reading was 78% in 2013.

279 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
59%

2012

 
 
100%
English II Writing

The state average for English II Writing was 52% in 2013.

282 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
29%

2012

 
 
100%
English III Reading

The state average for English III Reading was 63% in 2013.

141 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
49%

2012

 
 
n/a
English III Writing

The state average for English III Writing was 42% in 2013.

9 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
n/a
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 86% in 2013.

233 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
93%
Physics

The state average for Physics was 81% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
U.S. History

The state average for U.S. History was 73% in 2013.

23 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
n/a
World Geography

The state average for World Geography was 75% in 2013.

308 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
53%

2012

 
 
58%
World History

The state average for World History was 70% in 2013.

255 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
43%

2012

 
 
77%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

Algebra I

All Students61%
Female63%
Male59%
Black or African American59%
Asiann/a
Hispanic70%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White100%
Economically disadvantaged60%
Not economically disadvantaged69%
Special education60%
Not special education61%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English61%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant61%
Gifted/talented71%
Non-Gifted61%
Bilingualn/a

Algebra II

All Students96%
Female96%
Male95%
Black or African American94%
Asiann/a
Hispanic100%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged95%
Not economically disadvantaged100%
Special educationn/a
Not special education96%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English96%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant96%
Gifted/talented100%
Non-Gifted94%
Bilingualn/a

Biology I

All Students84%
Female84%
Male84%
Black or African American84%
Asiann/a
Hispanic80%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White100%
Economically disadvantaged83%
Not economically disadvantaged89%
Special education20%
Not special education85%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English85%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant84%
Gifted/talented100%
Non-Gifted83%
Bilingualn/a

Chemistry

All Students77%
Female79%
Male74%
Black or African American76%
Asiann/a
Hispanic79%
Multiracial88%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged74%
Not economically disadvantaged90%
Special educationn/a
Not special education76%
Limited English proficient (LEP)77%
Proficient in English77%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant77%
Gifted/talented100%
Non-Gifted75%
Bilingualn/a

English I Reading

All Students41%
Female46%
Male37%
Black or African American40%
Asiann/a
Hispanic35%
Multiracial80%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White83%
Economically disadvantaged39%
Not economically disadvantaged54%
Special educationn/a
Not special education41%
Limited English proficient (LEP)0%
Proficient in English43%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant41%
Gifted/talented88%
Non-Gifted40%
Bilingualn/a

English I Writing

All Students29%
Female35%
Male24%
Black or African American29%
Asiann/a
Hispanic23%
Multiracial50%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White67%
Economically disadvantaged28%
Not economically disadvantaged39%
Special education0%
Not special education30%
Limited English proficient (LEP)0%
Proficient in English31%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant29%
Gifted/talented75%
Non-Gifted28%
Bilingualn/a

English II Reading

All Students59%
Female63%
Male53%
Black or African American59%
Asiann/a
Hispanic59%
Multiracial50%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged55%
Not economically disadvantaged75%
Special education17%
Not special education60%
Limited English proficient (LEP)39%
Proficient in English60%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant59%
Gifted/talented86%
Non-Gifted57%
Bilingualn/a

English II Writing

All Students29%
Female32%
Male27%
Black or African American30%
Asiann/a
Hispanic32%
Multiracial17%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged28%
Not economically disadvantaged35%
Special education33%
Not special education29%
Limited English proficient (LEP)11%
Proficient in English31%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant29%
Gifted/talented71%
Non-Gifted26%
Bilingualn/a

English III Reading

All Students49%
Female57%
Male39%
Black or African American43%
Asiann/a
Hispanic64%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged48%
Not economically disadvantaged52%
Special educationn/a
Not special education49%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English50%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant49%
Gifted/talented100%
Non-Gifted46%

English III Writing

All Students78%
Female100%
Malen/a
Black or African American80%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantaged80%
Special educationn/a
Not special education78%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English88%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant78%
Gifted/talented100%
Non-Giftedn/a

Geometry

All Students80%
Female81%
Male79%
Black or African American76%
Asiann/a
Hispanic91%
Multiracial100%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged77%
Not economically disadvantaged93%
Special educationn/a
Not special education80%
Limited English proficient (LEP)92%
Proficient in English79%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant80%
Gifted/talented100%
Non-Gifted79%
Bilingualn/a

Physics

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrantn/a
Gifted/talentedn/a
Non-Giftedn/a

U.S. History

All Students96%
Female100%
Malen/a
Black or African American94%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged93%
Not economically disadvantaged100%
Special educationn/a
Not special education96%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English96%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant96%
Gifted/talented100%
Non-Gifted91%

World Geography

All Students53%
Female52%
Male54%
Black or African American51%
Asiann/a
Hispanic58%
Multiracial80%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White83%
Economically disadvantaged52%
Not economically disadvantaged63%
Special education25%
Not special education54%
Limited English proficient (LEP)0%
Proficient in English54%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant53%
Gifted/talented100%
Non-Gifted52%
Bilingualn/a

World History

All Students43%
Female37%
Male50%
Black or African American40%
Asiann/a
Hispanic52%
Multiracial71%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged42%
Not economically disadvantaged49%
Special education29%
Not special education44%
Limited English proficient (LEP)14%
Proficient in English45%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant43%
Gifted/talented75%
Non-Gifted42%
Bilingualn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 78% 13%
Hispanic 18% 52%
Asian or Pacific Islander 1% 4%
Two or more races 1% 2%
White 1% 29%
American Indian/Alaska Native N/A 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander N/A 0%
Source: TX Education Agency, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient (LEP) 4%N/A17%
Source: TX Education Agency, 2013-2014

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
Beginning teachers 4%N/AN/A
Source: CRDC, 2011-2012

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • ODIS NORRIS
Fax number
  • (409) 617-5496

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

3443 Fannett Road
Beaumont, TX 77705
Website: Click here
Phone: (409) 617-5400

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools






O C Taylor Center
Beaumont, TX


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT