Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
9-12
Private
Beaumont, TX
Students enrolled: 431
 

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Monsignor Kelly Catholic High School 5

Posted January 23, 2012
- a parent
Kelly is an amazing high school and prepares the students for college. Parents are extremely involved. A large number of teachers have their masters and know by name almost all of the students. The classes are on the block system like college so there is extended learning time for all classes. Besides top academics, the school also requires service hours and has a first class extra-curricular activities like debate, art, band, dance, cheer, and all sports. Many of the sport teams go to play-offs. The senior class normally rates among the top high school in amount of college scholarship money awarded. If you are planning for your child to be successfull in college and in life, this is the school for you.

Monsignor Kelly Catholic High School
no rating

Posted January 04, 2010
- a parent
I love Kelly High School. Compared to the other area high schools it is by far the best choice.


Monsignor Kelly Catholic High School 5

Posted May 14, 2009
- a parent
Monsigonor Kelly Catholic High School is rated as a 'top 50 Catholic High School in the US' and deserves the rating. I have been pleased with curriculum and my children's accomplishments and successes. The negative's comments are somewhat misplaced or misguided as MKCHS is Parochial and Private and Catholic. I would expect nothing less. We need to set our children's standards high and expect them to behave and have high morals. Just because you don't understand a rule, does not make it right of wrong. Most rules are written to protect the students and to make the school/students excel in a safe, orderly environment.

Monsignor Kelly Catholic High School 3

Posted January 15, 2009
- a student
i go to Kelly High School and if you want your child to be highly educated and taught well then this is a good place. But i know; as a freshman; that most of the freshman teachers are nice and willing to help but some are more leniant toward the senior class as most high schools are....but sometimes i feel that rules are demanding at times for what reason im unsure of? Considering that Kelly is the only Private High School in Beaumont.....But with regards, Kelly is a good school...just prepare your child for a lot of work and good study habits

Monsignor Kelly Catholic High School 4

Posted July 05, 2007
- a parent
Kelly is the best school in the region. As a parent who has lived in various regions across the world, I give Kelly credit for what it has done in the region, especially with regional focus on education so low, i.e. it has done the best with what it has to work with - Southeast Texas. Also, as a parent who has worked at the school, discipline is only hard on those who are constant offenders of the school's dress and behaviour code, but it is by no means tough on regular students. The teachers are well adapted to teach these students; there is an amazing amount of attention paid to the student, especially at the AP level. Once again, the undisputed best high school in Southeast Texas.


Monsignor Kelly Catholic High School 1

Posted June 07, 2007
- a parent
This is not a good school at all. My kid says the staff is horrible and non-helping. They take the rules to far. so i dont recommend this school to anyone.
1 person found this helpful

Monsignor Kelly Catholic High School 5

Posted May 16, 2006
- a parent
High achieving students. Friendly and supportive staff. They really care about each of the students. Not equipped to help the child with learning differences even though they try.

Monsignor Kelly Catholic High School 5

Posted August 02, 2005
- a teacher
Great school we love it. teachers are great and so are the students. the parent involvement is not so good.


Monsignor Kelly Catholic High School 5

Posted September 09, 2003
- a parent
Great school, great academics and extracurriclar activities.

Monsignor Kelly Catholic High School 2

Posted August 22, 2003
- a community member
Right now, Kelly has a wonderful principal. However, some of the administration is not quite up to par. The discipline should get a 5, but only because it is enforced - way too much. Kids walk through school scared that they are about to get detention for something ridiculous, such as a skirt hem that is half an inch too short. If important things, such as teacher and counselor quality was focused on more, Kelly would really be a great place. There are about 1 or 2 good teachers in each department; however, they cannot make up for the others who are not qualified to teach at the level Kelly advertises itself as having.
1 person found this helpful

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Monsignor Kelly Catholic High School
5950 Kelly Drive, Beaumont, TX  77707
(409) 866-2351
Last modified Monsignor Kelly Catholic High School is a Private school that serves grades 9-12
Monsignor Kelly Catholic High School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 20 reviews. Top