Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

St Vincent's School

Private | PK-11

 

Be sure to visit

 

Living in Bedford

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $111,600. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $890.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 3 ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

19 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 30, 2014

My son is in the 3 year old class and his teacher is amazing. Everyday he wants to go to school to learn. He already knows all his letters, sounds, numbers to 20, how to spell not only his name but every one in his class. St. Vincent's has a strong Christian faith from the moment school starts in chapel. It makes a mother proud to say prayers with her son at night as he recites The Lord's Prayer. I would not trust any other school with my son and WE are looking forward to next year!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 1, 2014

This is our third at this school and it is amazing!! The teachers and staff truly care about my children. I love the small class size, daily chapel, after school activities, and religious classes. My children are building a great foundation from both an acadimic and religious standpoint. You can't go wrong with their hot lunches either. We look forward to many more years at St. Vincents!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 12, 2014

My children started at St. Vincent's in the 3 year-old class. We are in the middle of our fourth year at St. Vincent's. We have had such a positive experience. The teachers are truly invested in our children and go the extra step to help our kids succeed. The teacher to student ratio allows individual attention when needed. I love that each day begins with chapel. I frequently hear my kiddos singing hymns around the house and it puts a huge smile on my face knowing they are songs that they sing in chapel. To be celebrating their 50th Anniversary this year, you know that St. Vincent's is doing something right!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 2, 2013

We love St. Vincent s School and the impact it has had on our children. The teachers really care about bringing out the best in each student. We ve been impressed with the caliber of their curriculum and feel confident that our children are getting the best education available. We have found the teachers to be pro-active in meeting the needs of both of our children and they are always available to meet with parents. I ve watched my son go from being painfully shy to being unafraid to speak in front of a room of people. I love that they start every day with a chapel service that teaches the children about God s love for them. This school has consistently exceeded our expectations. It s been said before, but there is just something special about this school. I recently heard someone describe it as a sense of peace that they feel when they come into the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 30, 2013

Be aware of the deceptive nature of this school especially from the marketing director during the application process. Also, if you dispute the application fee, all the information on your application will be sent in to the credit card company from the school, which was not authorized,but done by the school to prove their case I am thankful that after meeting the above person, we knew this school was not for us. Maybe the school principal can use the app. fee for sensitivity training of his marketing director.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 15, 2012

This school denied enrollment for my 9 year old daughter simply because they thought she was too 'slow' for their standards. They called and left a voice mail telling us this, and not to bother to come back. We never did talk to them again and they sent our inquiries to secretaries and voice mail without returning them. REPEATED attempts to find out what about my daughter was not acceptable to the school was met with threats and disrespect. I would NOT recommend this school. Even if the teachers are terrific (which we have no idea about) this implies a front office management style and a lack of Christian values that are serious warning signs.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 15, 2012

We love this school and are so thankful to have found it. I think academically it is one of the best in the metroplex. Because of the small class sizes, the teachers are able to meet the individual needs of the students and determine where they need more challenge and where they need a little extra help. As great as the scholastics are, we've found that its the warm, caring and Christian environment that makes the students here different. They have a kindness and confidence about them that shines through. My children love participating in the chess club and school sports. We've been here for 5+ years (since preschool program) and have no desire to go anywhere else.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 7, 2011

This is a fantastic school. I have two children attending, and plan on the third one starting when he is old enough. The teachers care about the development of each individual child, and due to the small class size, they can help with any learning differences. The moral enviornment can not be beat and I appreciate knowing who my children are making friends with. Academics and character development are both important, this makes for a very well rounded child. The money for a private education is worth every penny, it is well worth the investment at this school. The parents are very involved and the administration is open and willing to discuss any issues.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 31, 2011

Great school with fantastic teachers. Preschool and kindergarten teachers were helpful and took kids on a great journey throughout the year. Love this school and would definetely send all of my children here.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 26, 2010

My child was a former student at St. Vincent's. I had written a review before, but for some reason it was removed. I do agree with they have fantastic teachers and academics. Their chapel is beautiful. Love their garden. However, they do not incorporate biblical teachings into any of the academics and contrary to what we were originally told about being non denominational they are definitely very traditional Episcopal. (including having all the kids drink out of the same cup for eucharist, etc.) If you are considering this school and not Episcopal, better check out the chapel service first.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 1, 2010

I have been at St. Vincent's for 9 years, I am about to graduate from 8th grade, and leave for high school. St. Vincent's has prepared me greatly for high school. The students are all very kind and friendly, as well as the teachers. Everybody is like a big family since there are not very many people. It is a very small school, but it is very prestigious, and very nurturing to each individaul student. It is a very safe environment in a nice part of town. Everybody gets to play any sport they want too, no try outs. Even with such a small school and few athletes, St. Vincent's has accomplished many sports championships. St. Vincent's offers co-Ed tennis, co-Ed soccer, girl's volleyball, football, girls and boys basketball and co-Ed track. You can start playing sports as young as fourth grade.
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 5, 2010

Great school, but pricey. Higher than most other Christian based prechools.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 4, 2009

I am a proud student at the wonderful St. Vincent's School. My first year at SVS was pre Kindergarten ,and I am now in 8th grade. SVS shows you how to be a leader. I wake up every morning excited to go to school. St. Vincent's is like a 2ed home to me.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 14, 2008

ST. Vincents is an excellent school. My 2nd grade child is learning the equivalent work of 3rd grade in public school. In addition, they learn manners, such as opening doors for adults, community service, that they would not get in public school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 18, 2008

St. Vincent's is great school, with a wonderful envrionment, and wonderful teachers. A great community.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 7, 2006

My daughter is in her 3rd year at St. Vincent's. She is currently in the second grade. We have really enjoyed her being in school at SVEC. It is a wonderful, loving environment for children to learn in. Our daughter has exceled as they challenge her academically in a small classroom environment. She has had more one-on-one interaction with the teachers as her class size has never been larger than 12. She has also enjoyed their enrichment programs in art, music, computer, and spanish. We have also never had any problems with her peers. The children all get along very well and respect each other and the teachers. The school starts each day with a 20 minute chapel time which helps children start their day focused on God. I do wish they had biblical teaching incorporated throughout their curriculum. However, they choose to focus on academics and market to all beliefs.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 20, 2006

My child is in the Pre-K class and enjoys it thoroughly. She is learning music, spanish, doing lots of hands on activities and has chapel every morning. The staff are friendly and the teacher retention is very high. The price, however, is somewhat high.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 5, 2006

We love the school. Wonderful teachers and academics.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 4, 2003

St. Vincent's is an oasis in the educational desert of Texas. The students have wide-ranging academic opportunities and are taught by hands-on teachers. The school's Episcopal affiliation is the foundation of it's mission of achievement and excellence.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 89% 31%
Asian or Pacific Islander 4% 4%
Black 4% 13%
Two or more races 4% 2%
Hispanic 1% 51%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Episcopal
Associations
  • NAES
Fax number
  • (817) 354-5073

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1300 Forest Ridge Drive
Bedford, TX 76022
Website: Click here
Phone: (817) 354-7979

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Transition Program
Bedford, TX



Alter Ed Prog
Euless, TX


Homebound
Euless, TX


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT