Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

PK-12|Private
417 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
11 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Don't know (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Staff member (1 response)
characters left.
There are 18 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


The Post Oak School
Develops grit: Neutral

Posted April 26, 2016
- a community member
Montessori is not a grit. It is about learning and succeeding, but the method of instilling that in a child is not with persistence and grit. They seem to do that with a tad of goading and love. They direct the children in such a way that they respond to the goad!

The Post Oak School
Grateful to: Staff member

Posted April 26, 2016
- a community member
The Head of School, Director of Admission, & the entire staff at Post Oak School are a gracious group of professionals. It's a great place to work and to send your children.


The Post Oak School 5

Posted April 26, 2016
- a community member
Great school, great staff, & great method of teaching for our children! I would recommend this school to anyone who wants the best for their children.

The Post Oak School 1

Posted March 22, 2016
- a parent
Rudest staff ever. Still can't get over how unbelievably rude the lady handling admissions was! She literally screamed at me because I called her on the phone to enquire about available spots in their pre-k program. I would be too scared to send a little child to this school.

The Post Oak School 1

Posted April 09, 2015
- a parent
After going through a time-consuming application process, we were told that only one, yes ONE, student that was a non-sibling was accepted into the full-time daycare YCC program. From the orientation and tour, they made it seem like half the students that got accepted were siblings while the other half were not. If we had known that there would only be ONE spot available, we definitely would not have wasted our time or money. We feel a little cheated. Just wanted to give other parents a heads up before applying your child here. I really don't know how non-siblings ever get into this school.


The Post Oak School 5

Posted August 21, 2013
- a parent
Our children attend Post Oak School. The practical life skills they learned from Post Oak alone make the steep tuition worthwhile. At 18 months our first child was toilet trained, got and served herself her own snacks, cleared her plates, learned to work in a group setting with others, etc. It's all been pretty amazing. Our eldest is in a class with 3 - 5 year olds. The 5 year olds are doing long division. !! Great school. Great parents. Very happy as are our children.

The Post Oak School 5

Posted November 22, 2012
- a parent
The new high school is awesome! They are blocks away from some of the best museums in the country (Modern Art, Natural Science, etc) and the school takes full advantage of it. They cost more than other schools, but we are so glad we made the investment.

The Post Oak School 3

Posted March 02, 2009
- a parent
Overall a good school academically. Sorely lacking in art and music programs as a part of everyday curriculum. The physical education and Spanish programs are thin. Lots of teacher turnover the past couple of years. Parental involvement is strong. Expectations of pre-school age children is rather high.


The Post Oak School 5

Posted March 14, 2008
- a parent
Excellent AMI Montessori School! One of the best in the country. Fantastic teachers and faculty!

The Post Oak School 5

Posted December 26, 2007
- a parent
Excellent Montessori school. We've had several children attend the school over the past 14 years. Great teachers. Good all around community of families generally well versed in the Montessori method and environment.

Nearby schools

The Post Oak School
4600 Bissonnet Street, Bellaire, TX  77401
(713) 661-6688
Last modified The Post Oak School is a Private school that serves grades PK-12
Top