Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Bellaire High School

Public | 9-12 | 3604 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

45 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 9, 2014

I went to Bellaire back from 2008-2012. Bellaire is great for AP students, but for all others, including special ed, it is the complete opposite. During my time there, I was in all regular classes and considered to be a special ed student because I have ADD. To be quite frank, the education that I was receiving from my teachers was SUB PAR and I was never encouraged to do better. A lot of stereotyping goes on in the class as well. Blacks and Latinos make up most of the regular classes so the teacher does what they can to make sure that they pass without actually learning anything. What they fail to realize is that students (like me) actually care about their education and actually want to go to college just like the AP kids do. I am now a junior at American University in Washington, DC give no credit to Bellaire for my academic success. I had to learn the hard way that college was a different ball game because the teachers at Bellaire did not bother to teach me or challenge me to broader horizons. What Bellaire should do is treat ALL they're students equally for the sake of their education and challenge them to do better for themselves.
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 5, 2014

Bellaire High School is a terrific high school. I highly recommend it. The principal and teachers are excellent. My daughter just graduated, after spending all four years at Bellaire. The teachers are challenging and fair. There are a wide variety of sports and other activities with which to get involved. The college coordinator sends lots of information and answers e-mails and phone calls promptly.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 15, 2013

If you want a true high school experience, then Bellaire is the right school for you! The school is a melting pot of all kinds of people, and gives you a glimpse of the real world. The people are good and the teachers, although there are some who just want to destroy your experience. The lunch is so-so, and there is a wide variety of food to choose from (as long as you have the money). Lastly, you can wear those clothing your middle school had made a big deal about, because there is free dress.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 12, 2012

I am currently a junior at Bellaire and know it's ins and outs. There are so many clubs and opportunities, it is highly competitive, especially in the top 5-10%. Bellaire students are good at everything, except for maybe football and band. the work is extremely time consuming, as most of the great students are involved in multitudinous extracurriculars. The facility is horrendous; the bathrooms are horrible, the A/C is unpredictable, and it looks like a prison. Walking down the hallways, you will see great diversity:class skippers, homework procrastinators, couples, fights, loiterers, the like. You get a full high school experience here. Some of the teachers are great, most are mediocre at best. I admit, it's the most competitive and academically succesful school in houston with a very diverse group of students. I have so far enjoyed my years at bellaire, but i feel that i could perform so much better in a not so competitive environment. Bellaire is where cheating is the norm and the students are nocturnal.
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 29, 2011

BEST high school ever I've been in this school for a year, but it is so far the best school that I've ever attended. Bellaire has great teachers, and people here are really friendly and nice. Even though this school is very crowded, it has really good environment. This school has lots of different languages to choose from, along with many courses and sports. It also has many different levels to choose from (regular, college prep, pre-ap, AP, pre-IB, and IB). Even though there can be a lot of work, with few hours to sleep, but this will prepare you for later on in college. - A junior at BHS
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 17, 2010

Bellaire is by far the BEST public school around. Though it doesn't get as good of ratings as CVHS or Debakey or some other schools, it is by far a better school. I have many friends and have visited debakey and talked with the students there, and I attended Carnegie, supposedly one of the top schools in the nation, for a year. Bellaire's curriculum is far better and more advanced than Carnegie's, and it has so many more opportunities and a better, happier environment than Debakey. Bellaire gives students the opportunity to grow and develop as people, and to choose their path in life. Though I can mostly only speak for the advanced courses, in general the teachers and administration have been EXTREMELY supportive and accommodating, as long as one has a willingness to learn and puts in effort as best they can. It is very stressful, and at times difficult to handle, and I definitely do not get the amount of sleep I should, but it is definitely worth it because the overall experience is so wonderful.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 18, 2010

Its diverse but really challenging


Posted February 9, 2010

Well, I have a contrary opinion to the previous viewer.Bellaire has a very healthy environment and Yes, you have to work hard to go to the Ivy League and if there is no competition kids often complaint it is Boaring and off course hard work pays off.Bellaire is a great school very safe,great programs and very near to medical center.I reccomend Bellaire high school to anyone who wants their kids to be focus and do well overall.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 12, 2010

There are definitely many criterions to consider when one attempts to objectify the quality of a school. If you look at highschool as a vehicle to an Ivy League or a Tier-1 college, then Bellaire is the perfect choice for you. However, the academic environment, while inspiring, is rather fierce. For many, the aggressiveness and the competitive nature of the school is too much to handle. Students will literally have many instances where the workload is simply too much to handle, even if the student do not sleep. My personal sleep schedule never allows me more than 5 hours of sleep, after which I must once again return to a mundane cycle of study, eat, study, and then sleep. Of course, this mundane lifestyle succeeded in rocketing me into an Ivy League school, yet I often question myself whether it was worth it all. Reflections by a Bellaire Senior
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 3, 2010

I am a senior currently attending Bellaire; contrary to the previous reviewer, I would definitely send my kids to this school. I am also an officer of many organizations (if it adds to my credibility, specifically Prez/VP of both academic/nonacademic clubs). This school's environment has significantly contributed to who I am. Agreed, the administration can sometimes be unreasonable, but I completely disagree with the statement about 'horrible' teachers. If any student puts in the effort to converse with teachers outside a classroom setting , he/she will definitely find themselves in the company of passionate educators. This statement is unequivocally true, especially if the student pushes himself/herself to enroll in the hardest AP/IB coursework. At those levels, teachers like Peek, Ghosh, Newland, Clark, Mazzoni, and Casteel prove that inspiring academia exist in our country's HS system. Teachers today are under-appreciated in society; it's time we treat them with some fairness.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 15, 2009

I am a student from the inside of Bellaire, and honestly I think my opinion is more relevant than parents or teachers. Bellaire High School is a school I would never send my children to. The administration, counselors (apart from Ms. Rubin) and teachers (apart from the RARE few) are not there to help they are there because they have no other option or they, are the few that actually enjoy teaching. I am an officer of four organizations at Bellaire and I am a member of six active clubs, I am not just a slacker who hates Bellaire just because. I feel as if the administration does a horrible job of helping the students, they are more out to hurt students. I have never felt as if Bellaire has helped me in anyway, most of my teachers have been slackers, push overs or just ignorant.I intend on transferring soon.
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 9, 2009

Bellaire is one of the top schools in the nation with many graduates went to MIT, Harvard, Princeton, Yale, and other great schools.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted March 9, 2009

A mathematics teacher, Ed Mazzoni, was awarded the American Star of Teaching from the United States Department of Education in 2005, the highest honor a secondary school teacher can receive. After competing with thousand of students in the United States, a student won Third Place in the 2005 National High School Essay Contest. The Bellaire economics challenge team won First Place at the 2004 National Economics Challenge in West Region and Third Place in the 2006 National Economics Challenge. In December 2007 a Human Geography teacher was selected to participate in Polartrec's research program, traveling to Antarctica to spend 2 months working on a project entitled 'Monitoring the Effects of Human Activities at McMurdo Station, Antarctica'.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 18, 2009

I have one daughter who graduated BHS and is now a junior at St. Thomas University, she was accepted to Rice, but we prefered the smaller campus. My other daughter is now a junior at BHS, she is in all AP classes and is being recruited by universities already. Bellaire High School is an outstanding school with high academic standards and above average college preparation. I am proud to be a parent of 2 highly acheiving teenagers, thanks to the high standards of the school. I support BHS and will fight to maintain it within its high ranking.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 15, 2009

Had two daughters graduate from Bellaire. Neither was even close to being in the top 10% but both were accepted at every school they applied, including Texas A&M. They did not apply at Texas. The schools diversity and extracurricular activities are endless which counts greatly to college acceptance. My third daughter will be there next year and I assume will be just as prepared for college as the other two when she graduates. The school is very large and yes, your child can fall through the cracks. So the review below may be a little harsh, but easily understandable IMHO.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 15, 2009

I believe that Bellaire High School is the best school in Texas. It offers alot of academic courses and extra curricurlim that all students can try to get in. It is a school that prepares it's students for college no matter what level they are and their sports team are a team to be reckoned with especially the freshman football team. I so far have enjoyed Bellaire and all my friends have too.
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 7, 2008

From reading the other posts...I would say that Bellaire is good for self-motivated, achievers. For those of us with average children Bellaire is not as advertised. I as a parent never gotten the impression that they care about any individual student. My other child attends a small religious high school and the difference is night and day -- I would love to send them both there but it is too late for that.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 10, 2008

Best school in Texas. Two of my children attended BHS and were very prepared for college. Great counselors too!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 7, 2008

I just graduated Bellaire High school recently and am currently a student at Harvard. For me, it provided the competitive environment necessary to drive me to do my best. At the same time I was able to befriend many insanely smart people who will go on to do great things. I highly doubt any other public school in HISD could have given me the same opportunity. I did the IB diploma and took all AP classes, as did most of my friends. My sister on the other hand, is an above average but by no means amazing student. And while she is also in all AP classes, she sometimes struggles with the workload and pressure. She is happy there though. If a students wants to stay in Texas for college and have an easy time being in the top 10%, he should look elsewhere and save himself the effort.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 4, 2007

This school has incredible teachers and the students are so competetive! The perfect environment for my child. One thing about this school though is that you might find it a bit crowded.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 89% in 2011.

843 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
93%
Math

The state average for Math was 70% in 2011.

846 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
69%

2010

 
 
71%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 91% in 2011.

788 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
95%
Math

The state average for Math was 74% in 2011.

800 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
76%

2010

 
 
83%
Science

The state average for Science was 76% in 2011.

800 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
79%

2010

 
 
82%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 93% in 2011.

766 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
95%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 95% in 2013.

694 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
97%
Math

The state average for Math was 89% in 2013.

688 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
94%
Science

The state average for Science was 95% in 2013.

690 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
94%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 98% in 2013.

692 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
99%

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
98%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students96%
Female97%
Male94%
Black or African American93%
Asian98%
Hispanic94%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White98%
Economically disadvantaged94%
Special education81%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a

Math

All Students91%
Female93%
Male89%
Black or African American85%
Asian98%
Hispanic85%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White98%
Economically disadvantaged85%
Special education54%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a

Science

All Students96%
Female97%
Male95%
Black or African American94%
Asian100%
Hispanic94%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White99%
Economically disadvantaged94%
Special education80%
Limited English proficient (LEP)50%

Social Studies

All Students99%
Female99%
Male98%
Black or African American98%
Asian100%
Hispanic98%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White100%
Economically disadvantaged98%
Special education96%
Limited English proficient (LEP)67%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

  • In 2010-2011, this school was rated "Academically Acceptable".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was rated "Recognized".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was rated "Recognized".

About the tests


Texas uses Accountability Ratings to indicate the overall performance of each school and district. The ratings are based on TAKS test results, dropout rates for grades 7 and 8 and school completion rates for grades 9 through 12. Schools and districts rated under standard accountability procedures are designated as Exemplary, Recognized, Academically Acceptable or Academically Unacceptable. Schools and districts rated under alternative education accountability (AEA) procedures are designated as either AEA: Academically Acceptable or AEA: Academically Unacceptable.

Source: Texas Education Agency

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 78% in 2013.

442 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
75%
Algebra II

The state average for Algebra II was 97% in 2013.

332 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
98%

2012

 
 
100%
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 85% in 2013.

1151 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
96%
Chemistry

The state average for Chemistry was 84% in 2013.

501 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
n/a
English I Reading

The state average for English I Reading was 65% in 2013.

973 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
74%
English I Writing

The state average for English I Writing was 48% in 2013.

976 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
65%
English II Reading

The state average for English II Reading was 78% in 2013.

774 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
n/a
English II Writing

The state average for English II Writing was 52% in 2013.

778 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
n/a
English III Reading

The state average for English III Reading was 63% in 2013.

91 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
n/a
English III Writing

The state average for English III Writing was 42% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 86% in 2013.

650 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
98%
Physics

The state average for Physics was 81% in 2013.

6 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
n/a
U.S. History

The state average for U.S. History was 73% in 2013.

8 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
n/a
World Geography

The state average for World Geography was 75% in 2013.

952 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
89%
World History

The state average for World History was 70% in 2013.

748 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
n/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

Algebra I

All Students87%
Female88%
Male87%
Black or African American83%
Asian100%
Hispanic84%
Multiracial80%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White95%
Economically disadvantaged83%
Not economically disadvantaged92%
Special education94%
Not special education87%
Limited English proficient (LEP)35%
Proficient in English90%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant87%
Gifted/talented100%
Not Gifted86%
Bilingualn/a

Algebra II

All Students98%
Female99%
Male97%
Black or African American100%
Asian98%
Hispanic97%
Multiracial90%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White100%
Economically disadvantaged99%
Not economically disadvantaged99%
Special educationn/a
Not special education99%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English99%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant99%
Gifted/talented99%
Not Gifted98%
Bilingualn/a

Biology I

All Students92%
Female93%
Male91%
Black or African American90%
Asian98%
Hispanic88%
Multiracial100%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White98%
Economically disadvantaged89%
Not economically disadvantaged96%
Special education80%
Not special education92%
Limited English proficient (LEP)61%
Proficient in English93%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant92%
Gifted/talented100%
Not Gifted90%
Bilingualn/a

Chemistry

All Students96%
Female97%
Male94%
Black or African American93%
Asian99%
Hispanic92%
Multiracial100%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White99%
Economically disadvantaged92%
Not economically disadvantaged98%
Special education60%
Not special education96%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English96%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant96%
Gifted/talented100%
Not Gifted93%
Bilingualn/a

English I Reading

All Students79%
Female85%
Male74%
Black or African American75%
Asian93%
Hispanic72%
Multiracial87%
American Indian or Alaska Native40%
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White92%
Economically disadvantaged73%
Not economically disadvantaged87%
Special education43%
Not special education81%
Limited English proficient (LEP)8%
Proficient in English84%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant80%
Gifted/talented99%
Not Gifted74%
Bilingualn/a

English I Writing

All Students68%
Female74%
Male62%
Black or African American59%
Asian91%
Hispanic57%
Multiracial80%
American Indian or Alaska Native40%
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White84%
Economically disadvantaged57%
Not economically disadvantaged80%
Special education26%
Not special education69%
Limited English proficient (LEP)4%
Proficient in English72%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant68%
Gifted/talented98%
Not Gifted59%
Bilingualn/a

English II Reading

All Students84%
Female88%
Male81%
Black or African American86%
Asian94%
Hispanic73%
Multiracial93%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White96%
Economically disadvantaged76%
Not economically disadvantaged92%
Special education72%
Not special education85%
Limited English proficient (LEP)24%
Proficient in English88%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant84%
Gifted/talented99%
Not Gifted79%
Bilingualn/a

English II Writing

All Students69%
Female75%
Male62%
Black or African American59%
Asian88%
Hispanic56%
Multiracial73%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White87%
Economically disadvantaged55%
Not economically disadvantaged81%
Special education39%
Not special education69%
Limited English proficient (LEP)10%
Proficient in English72%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant69%
Gifted/talented99%
Not Gifted58%
Bilingualn/a

English III Reading

All Students75%
Female79%
Male69%
Black or African American47%
Asian88%
Hispanic71%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White85%
Economically disadvantaged71%
Not economically disadvantaged77%
Special educationn/a
Not special education74%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English75%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant75%
Gifted/talented92%
Not Gifted62%

English III Writing

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Not migrantn/a
Gifted/talentedn/a
Not Giftedn/a

Geometry

All Students96%
Female96%
Male95%
Black or African American94%
Asian99%
Hispanic94%
Multiracial100%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White98%
Economically disadvantaged95%
Not economically disadvantaged97%
Special education92%
Not special education96%
Limited English proficient (LEP)63%
Proficient in English97%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant96%
Gifted/talented100%
Not Gifted94%
Bilingualn/a

Physics

All Students100%
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantaged100%
Special educationn/a
Not special education100%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English100%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant100%
Gifted/talentedn/a
Not Giftedn/a

U.S. History

All Students75%
Female83%
Malen/a
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantaged80%
Special educationn/a
Not special education83%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English83%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant83%
Gifted/talentedn/a
Not Giftedn/a

World Geography

All Students91%
Female91%
Male91%
Black or African American86%
Asian98%
Hispanic88%
Multiracial94%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White99%
Economically disadvantaged87%
Not economically disadvantaged97%
Special education63%
Not special education93%
Limited English proficient (LEP)42%
Proficient in English93%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant91%
Gifted/talented100%
Not Gifted89%
Bilingualn/a

World History

All Students79%
Female79%
Male79%
Black or African American77%
Asian95%
Hispanic66%
Multiracial86%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White93%
Economically disadvantaged69%
Not economically disadvantaged88%
Special education50%
Not special education80%
Limited English proficient (LEP)13%
Proficient in English81%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant79%
Gifted/talented99%
Not Gifted72%
Bilingualn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 43% 52%
White 22% 29%
Black 20% 13%
Asian or Pacific Islander 14% 4%
Two or more races 1% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander N/A 0%
Source: TX Education Agency, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient (LEP) 6%N/A17%
Source: TX Education Agency, 2013-2014

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
Beginning teachers 2%N/AN/A
Source: Civil Rights Data Collection, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students ELL/ESL Coordinator
School social worker/counselors(s)
Speech and language therapist(s)
Nurse(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school officials and community members.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Staff resources available to students
  • Speech and language therapist(s)

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
Music
  • Band
  • Bell / Handbell choir
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Orchestra
Performing and written arts
  • Dance
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Technical design and production

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Arabic languages
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • French
  • German
  • Hebrew
  • Italian
  • Japanese
  • Latin
  • Russian
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Staff resources available to students
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Nurse(s)
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • MICHAEL MCDONOUGH
Fax number
  • (713) 295-3763

Programs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Foreign languages taught
  • Arabic languages
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • French
  • German
  • Hebrew
  • Italian
  • Japanese
  • Latin
  • Russian
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
  • Nurse(s)
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
Extra learning resources offered
  • Counseling
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
  • Transportation provided for special education students only
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Football
  • Golf
  • Lacrosse
  • Soccer
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Wrestling
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Cross country
  • Golf
  • Lacrosse
  • Soccer
  • Softball
  • Swimming
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
Music
  • Band
  • Bell / Handbell choir
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Orchestra
Performing arts
  • Dance
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Technical design and production
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

5100 Maple Street
Bellaire, TX 77401
Website: Click here
Phone: (713) 295-3704

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT