Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
21 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 25 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Condit Elementary School 5

Posted December 17, 2015
- a parent
My son is currently in kindergarten at Condit and I am thoroughly impressed with this school. He has never once asked to stay home and seems to truly love going to school. I have already seen great improvement with his reading and writing. Love this school!

Condit Elementary School 2

Posted March 31, 2015
- a parent
This school is geared to the gifted only. If your child has any special needs at all they will go out of their way to make a spectacul of your child. They made my child feel unwanted and he often was punished for behaviors that were dismissed if done by the more fortunate students. Soon other students learned that bulling my child was over looked and ok. One teacher even went so far to call my child lazy, and it it was dismissed by the principal. Often my child cried before school, unknowing what abuse or neglect he would face from both teachers and administration. Grace the data clerk was extremely rude from the beginning, killing any excitement we had about moving to a new town. This should have been a warning. Don't be fooled, forgo this school and enroll your child in a private school.


Condit Elementary School 5

Posted February 26, 2015
- a parent
Excellent school! My son is a kindergarten student at Condit Elementary. When we were initially going through the admission process we debated between River Oaks elementary (he had got admission through HISD's vanguard process) and Condit Elementary which is our neighborhood school. I am so glad we decided to stay with Condit. It is like a close knit family - I love that they have an active PTO. Despite a full time job, I still get to meet other parents/kids at regular forums hosted by Condit/PTO. My son has an amazing teacher Ms. Driscoll who does a really good job of keeping children challenged (she - as I am assuming other teachers in Condit do - follows a differentiated instruction system) tailoring the curriculum based on how advanced the child is.

Condit Elementary School 4

Posted January 25, 2015
- a parent
Overall this school is a very good one, looking forward to my child returning back to this school.

Condit Elementary School 3

Posted September 06, 2013
- a parent
It is a mixed bag - and a lot depends on the teacher. There are some gems (Boedecker, Hilderman, Thomilson, Pete). But many may be too overwhelmed to care and teach only for the test scores. Bullying is an issue that needs to be tackled. If your child is in GT - your are probably fine. If your child fails to make it or gets out of GT for any reason, it is a problem. "Non-GT" students get a less challenging environment and so may not perform enough to get back into GT. Imagine what might happen if this carries forward into middle and High schools. It is ridiculous system that judges children so young and "tracks" them for failure for no fault of theirs. I love my children enough not to put them at the mercy of such a system. It may be the legislation and the system at fault but I honestly feel that the teachers can do a lot more and treat each child with care. One word of advice - if you are in Condit, be very visible and active in PTO. I have seen children of those active in PTO get in the right classes and, of course your child will love you for it.


Condit Elementary School 4

Posted May 11, 2012
- a parent
We relocated to Texas this past year. Our son is in 5th grade. Compared to the schools in his home state, academically, the expectations are higher. The downside is that coming from out of area, we couldn't access the GT classes this year which meant my son really didn't connect with the other kids, and the environment in the classrooms wasn't great. Not the schools fault -- just a lot of parents who either don't care, or are too overwhelmed to care. The classes are very segregated between GT and regular. Without a pathway for transferring students to enter GT classes easily, we spent the last year repeating a lot of material, and our son has made few friends. Clearly a lot of prejudice exists between the wealthier patrons of the school and the economically disadvantaged population that are also zoned here. Way too much standardized testing, but we can blame the legislature for that, not the schools.

Condit Elementary School 3

Posted February 06, 2012
- a community member
This is a good school as far as test scores go. My problem with it is that they seem way too preoccupied with standardized testing. The kids spend entirely too much time on worksheets, and very little time on actual application of concepts. In the upper grades, actual application of concepts are restricted to the kids deemed "gifted and talented" by their standardized test scores. Ours is in kindergarten, and we are hoping to transition him to a school that offers more life experiences and less disgruntled teachers (not their fault...really due to district policies) before he hits third grade.

Condit Elementary School 5

Posted November 27, 2010
- a parent
Condit is the quintessential elementary school. Everyone is welcoming. Kindergarten (Mrs. Davis) and Mrs. Peguero (1st grade) are amazing and your kids will not get a better education. The principal, Mr. Bowyer, is so kid friendly. Parents are very involved in this school. amazing reading program. Absolutely perfect!


Condit Elementary School 5

Posted November 09, 2010
- a parent
I can honestly say that having my kids attend Condit makes me feel like the best parent in the world. From Kindergarten to 5th Grade, our 2 boys were challenged, and at the same time nuirtured by the wonderful teachers and staff. Plus, you can't ask for a better principal. All of the parent volunteers, and all of the activities at the school make this the best elementary in the Houston area, hands down. If you don't believe me, check out all of the awards given by private organizations, and you'll always find Condit on top.

Condit Elementary School
no rating

Posted May 04, 2010
- a parent
I love Condit Elementary because of the great teachers and awesome principal who love our Condit Kids and use every effort to help them not only to academically achieve, but also to support them according to their individual needs to help them become healthy, confident and happy young people.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Condit Elementary School
7000 South 3rd Street, Bellaire, TX  77401
(713) 295-5255
Last modified Condit Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Condit Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 25 reviews. Top