Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
10 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 12 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


L A Gililland Elementary School 5

Posted July 14, 2013
- a parent
My school is AWESOME, and the teachers are excellents! Mrs. Bella Thompson is very professional and attentive with the parents and us students.

L A Gililland Elementary School
no rating

Posted May 15, 2008
- a parent
I have had my children in 3 elementary schools in the EMS-ISD school district and Gililland far exceeds my expectations compared to the other two elementary schools. We love my two daughter's teachers and have enjoyed the activities that the school has provided. The principal helped me to solve several problems and acted promptly to clear matters. Compared to the other elementary schools the teachers and the administrators all care very much about the children and make it a great academic place to be.


L A Gililland Elementary School
no rating

Posted May 13, 2008
- a parent
Gililland is a GREAT place for children and families alike. I have had 3 children attend Gililland, and all my children have excelled academically due to an above average staff and innovative teaching techniques. There is VERY little parent involvement which is difficult at times, but the SUPER-involved staff picks up where the parents leave off. The discipline could be a bit more consistent...but it seems as though it is getting better with time. Gililland is very diverse and community centered and is an asset to any child s elementary school experience.

L A Gililland Elementary School 5

Posted August 31, 2007
- a parent
This was a wonderful school! My niece went to Gililland and she thrived even with a disability. My son went there for Kindergarten and he had the most wonderful teacher. I was very impressed with the involvement the parents were able to have in this school. GREAT SCHOOL!

L A Gililland Elementary School 5

Posted August 28, 2007
- a parent
My children have done very well at Gililland and I am impressed by its overall quality. The principal has been a great help to us and some of my neighbor's kids as well. My children's teachers have been great too.


L A Gililland Elementary School 4

Posted May 22, 2007
- a parent
My child has enjoyed her teachers each year. She has learned far more at Gililland than her previous school. Parents and teachers are very supportive. The principal is lacking in support for teachers in regards to behavior problems and has very limited participation in school activities. You will rarely see her walking around campus or interacting with students. She seems to be trying to run the school like a middle school instead of the elementary school it is.

L A Gililland Elementary School 4

Posted May 08, 2006
- a teacher
Gililland is a very diverse school, and this makes for a wonderful learning environment. The staff is friendly, and really put 100% into helping the kids. Parents are really involved there too.

L A Gililland Elementary School 5

Posted March 21, 2006
- a parent
I have a first grader at LA Gililland. The quality of academics is excellent. His teacher and the rest of the staff work really hard to ensure student success.


L A Gililland Elementary School 3

Posted March 31, 2005
- a parent
All of my children have attended this school.Two are still enrolled at this school.I would have to say the leadership at the school is not as great as it should be. They do have some good teachers,but due to some of the recent bad behavior problems they are having and unable to keep under control at times I will be moving my youngest one to another elementary school next fall. My other child is in her last year thank goodness.

L A Gililland Elementary School 3

Posted January 07, 2005
- a parent
Overall I think this school is good. The teachers are wonderful. My son is in the fifth grade and he rarely has homework. Which is hard for me to believe. The classes are larger than I expected for such a small school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

L A Gililland Elementary School
701 Waggoman Road, Blue Mound, TX  76131
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 12 reviews. (817) 232-0331
Last modified L A Gililland Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 3 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top