Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

K-12|Private
525 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
11 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered School leader (1 response)
characters left.
There are 18 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Geneva School Of Boerne 5

Posted January 11, 2016
- a student
Geneva prepares you in every way to be a lifelong learner, if you are willing to accept the challenges and hard work that come with a classical education. The teachers, even those without formal education, care deeply about the well-being and education of their students, and do, in fact, know what they are talking about, or they would not have been hired. In fact, I would make the claim that the teachers I respected the most were those whose passion for their subject more than made up for their lack of an education degree. Geneva doesn't need a formal campus minister because every member of faculty acts as a role model and counselor for the students. The complaints lodged by some reviewers here are real concerns, but I believe that they stem from those who attend Geneva for all the wrong reasons. You send your children to Geneva because you want them to read primary sources, struggle with the big ideas of life, learn how to work as a team among their house, and most importantly, because you respect the mission of the school to "equip students with a lifetime of learning, service, and leadership to the glory of God". When parents look at Geneva simply because they've heard it's a Christian school, or they think that their children will get into better colleges, they are doing a huge disservice to themselves and to the community of Geneva. They are missing the whole point of a Geneva education. Yes, Geneva is a Christian school. Yes, your child will probably be better off in terms of college having attended. But that is not the point. The point is to create leaders and learners whose beliefs have been shaped by a true desire to know the truth and the good. If that is not what you think school should be, then by all means, go to the Boerne schools, or TMI, or Keystone. But Geneva is a wonderful place, and has changed and shaped countless lives for good.

Geneva School Of Boerne 1

Posted June 01, 2015
- a community member
We had a terrible experience at this school. Most of the teachers are also parents and not all are necessarily trained as educators. Also, there is not as much spiritual guidance (campus minister) as we'd like to see at a Christian school. The attitude seems to be very exclusive and elitist, but it's not up to par with Keystone, TMI and other private schools in the area. My advice -- put your money in a college fund and send them to Boerne schools. We love our Boerne teachers!


Geneva School Of Boerne 5

Posted March 29, 2015
- a parent
This is the 3rd year for our children at Geneva: one is in middle school (logic) and the other is in high school (rhetoric). I am convinced there is no better or well-rounded education in existence than the Christian and classical education available at Geneva. The curriculum logically integrates and links all classes both horizontally and vertically through a purposeful connection of history, literature, even math and sciences. Kids get to see and understand the "big picture," not merely the detail of a particular class or subject. Additionally, Geneva's educators and administrators truly strive to "walk the Christian walk" and infuse every class with a Biblical worldview and example. They love and care for my children while setting the academic bar high and encouraging them to achieve. The resulting graduate is a person who is able to think for himself or herself--able to cut through the "noise" and nonsense to get to the truth and formulate/communicate their own well-thought out opinions; a lifelong learner; and someone who is able to communicate the Gospel with both winsome words and compassionate behavior. My husband and I are so thankful this school exists!

Geneva School Of Boerne 5

Posted July 01, 2014
- a parent
I have 2 children attending Geneva School of Boerne. I am very pleased with the Classical Education model and the leadership of the school. I am particularly impressed with the quality of the senior thesis that seniors present. They write and memorize a 20 minute persuasive presentation and then defend it for 20 minutes. The administration and teachers encourage and challenge students and are on their side to help them succeed. In other schools, I've seen an approach in which teachers want to "trick" the students. I also love how the literature of a time period is studied alongside the history of that period. Interestingly, students begin learning Latin in 3rd grade. My children are excelling in this environment with a house system and small classes that encourage relationships and high standards in academics and athletics.

Geneva School Of Boerne 1

Posted June 03, 2014
- a community member
This school is terrible, only 5% of the teachers actually know what their talking about. The rest of the teachers are snotty and don't care about the students and complain a lot.


Geneva School Of Boerne 5

Posted November 01, 2013
- a community member
Exceptional school which focuses on CLASSICAL education format with a Christian (non-denominational) worldview. As a parent of who has raised three children and now a grandparent with 3, I am well versed in education, being from a family of educators. This is a 5 star school in everyday. I currently have two grandchildren attending Geneva School of Boerne. Could not be more pleased.

Geneva School Of Boerne 5

Posted June 29, 2013
- a parent
Exceptional in every way. This is a private school so you pay tuition (unless on scholarship). They work for you and they do so exactly as you would expect from someone whom you pay - within the framework of their curriculum (Classical and Christian). My children have been in the Boerne Public system their whole lives. While the school district is better than most, there is still poor accountability of the educators to the parents. It only takes one poor teacher to jack up a kid and we have had more than a few. Geneva is amazingly accountable and proactive in a way I have never experienced. By the way, their graduates (every one of them) average over $100K in ACADEMIC scholarships for college. Related to this is that Geneva's counselors are far superior in guiding the students post secondary education. They have an extracurricular sports program that is very competitive. Best school in Boerne, hands down; and perhaps in South Texas.

Geneva School Of Boerne 5

Posted March 16, 2009
- a student
Coolest school ever! i go there! people are amazing, its fun, and great education!


Geneva School Of Boerne 5

Posted July 11, 2008
- a parent
An amazing school!! Christian and Classical.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Geneva School Of Boerne
113 Cascade Caverns Road, Boerne, TX  78015
(830) 755-6101
Last modified Geneva School Of Boerne is a Private school that serves grades K-12
Geneva School Of Boerne Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 18 reviews. Top