Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Brownsboro High School

Public | 9-12 | 850 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

11 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted March 8, 2013

Brownsboro High School has the greatest quality of teachers, staff, and students. It is a family oriented atmosphere, truly is concerned with student success both in the classroom and in life. I am proud to call Brownsboro ISD my home. Thank you for doing an outstanding job in educating our students. The teachers and staff at BHS clearly exemplify the core values of Character, Integrity, Work Ethic and Unity.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 1, 2013

I am a former student and I do believe that some of the teachers have a favorite and don't get on to them as much as others. I know it is true because they did the same thing to my sister and she had to go and get her GED instead of a high school diploma. It was because of the assistant principal that they had at the time I'm sure now it has changed. I believe the only reason the why this school is getting more strict on the dress code is because they want to get approved for uniforms. When I was going their they were denied for uniforms because they could not enforce the dress code they had much less uniforms so that's why I believe they have got more strict with every little thing like earrings, hair color, ect... but that is no excuse for showing favoritism towards other students that like to be different. They should be able to fix their dress code so it is only pointing out what they wear clothing wise not how they do their hair or what they put in their ears. Next thing you know they will try to tell students they can't carry purses or something crazy like that. This school needs help because they defiantly have some problems.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 26, 2010

I am a Sophomore and have been here since first grade. This school has problems. Most of the teachers are prejudice against people who wear a lot of black. Teachers say they don't have favorite students but thats a lie. The school claims not to discriminate but I've found many flaws in that area. for example: boys can't wear ear rings but girls can. Goth/emo/punk or anything similar is discriminated against. For example: Last year i dyed some of my hair purple, I got I.S.S. on the 3rd day after dyeing my hair. But I know of at least 6 preppy teacher's pets who had pink hair for 3 weeks and they weren't punished. And I had to take out my color and they didn't. I brought it to the school's attention and they didn't do anything about it. I wish i could say more but theres a word limit
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 13, 2009

I am a former student at BISD and a current parent of a junior high student and a high school student. Like all schools, this one has a few issues, but overall it is a good school. I had no problem transitioning into college from there, and I performed well in college with the base of education I received at Brownsboro. My kids are both flourishing there. Just this morning, I met with Mr. Wooten, the high school principal, about an issue between my daughter and one of her teachers. Within an hour, he called me at work to inform me of the actions he took to address the issue. He is a fine man, and there are many fine teachers throughout the school system, several of whom attend my church. The school and community make this the best place for my family. Class of 1986
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 5, 2009

I am in Intermediate at B-Boro and I love it my mom and dad are both teachers at the high school so if ur moving to this area go to brownsboro its really a great school!


Posted May 22, 2009

Mr. Wooten, the principal, is new and should be given a chance to make things better. As in most small towns, most of the emphasis is placed on football, and there aren't many extra curricular activities. My son was in AP, but chose to take reg classes. His English teacher, no longer there, was wonderful, but she wasn't like the other teachers. Mr. Wooten promises to find more like her in the future, so maybe things will change.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 21, 2009

Mrs. Wesley and Mrs. Porsh make this school what they are because they are exquisite teachers. Mrs. Wesley has helped a tremendous amount on my writing skills and being a leader instead of a follower. She is funny and has a gret personality.
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 27, 2008

It is getting better with recent administration changes. Still one big change needed, however, but he will have to retire. There are some great teachers and staff that really care if students (no matter whose children they are) learn and they care for their emotional well being. There just isn't enough of those type teachers. Too many coaches.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 16, 2007

I graduated from brownsboro high school in 2004! I think Mrs.Erman and Mrs.Giles along with Mrs brewton were by far the best teachers there! The school has room for improvement but all in all its a pretty good school!
—Submitted by a former student


Posted June 19, 2006

I am a former student of BISD. I when there most of my life. It a wonderful school. very much in They take great pride in there student. To name a few their geart teacher mrs.Wesley, mrs,Giles Mrs.hergertry and mrs. James.yes is small school but it better because you get to know everybody.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted June 30, 2005

I am a former student of Brownsboro High. It is a small school, however the student/teacher ratio is high. Most of the teachers don't make much of an effort with the students unless they are athletic. There isn't much to be learned by this low budget school; suprisingly, English is their only strong point.
—Submitted by a former student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 89% in 2011.

238 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
92%
Math

The state average for Math was 70% in 2011.

235 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
71%

2010

 
 
69%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 91% in 2011.

181 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
92%
Math

The state average for Math was 74% in 2011.

178 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
69%

2010

 
 
67%
Science

The state average for Science was 76% in 2011.

175 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
75%

2010

 
 
69%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 93% in 2011.

180 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
93%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 95% in 2013.

200 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
95%
Math

The state average for Math was 89% in 2013.

204 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
89%
Science

The state average for Science was 95% in 2013.

205 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
95%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 98% in 2013.

202 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
98%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students97%
Female100%
Male94%
Black or African American93%
Asiann/a
Hispanic100%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White96%
Economically disadvantaged97%
Special education82%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a

Math

All Students88%
Female92%
Male84%
Black or African American86%
Asiann/a
Hispanic93%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White87%
Economically disadvantaged85%
Special education59%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a

Science

All Students96%
Female96%
Male95%
Black or African American86%
Asiann/a
Hispanic96%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White96%
Economically disadvantaged92%
Special education67%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a

Social Studies

All Students96%
Female95%
Male97%
Black or African American86%
Asiann/a
Hispanic100%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White96%
Economically disadvantaged93%
Special education59%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

  • In 2010-2011, this school was rated "Academically Acceptable".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was rated "Recognized".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was rated "Academically Acceptable".

About the tests


Texas uses Accountability Ratings to indicate the overall performance of each school and district. The ratings are based on TAKS test results, dropout rates for grades 7 and 8 and school completion rates for grades 9 through 12. Schools and districts rated under standard accountability procedures are designated as Exemplary, Recognized, Academically Acceptable or Academically Unacceptable. Schools and districts rated under alternative education accountability (AEA) procedures are designated as either AEA: Academically Acceptable or AEA: Academically Unacceptable.

Source: Texas Education Agency

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 78% in 2013.

201 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
79%
Algebra II

The state average for Algebra II was 97% in 2013.

34 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
n/a
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 85% in 2013.

230 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
91%
Chemistry

The state average for Chemistry was 84% in 2013.

196 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
n/a
English I Reading

The state average for English I Reading was 65% in 2013.

250 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
71%
English I Writing

The state average for English I Writing was 48% in 2013.

258 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
51%

2012

 
 
59%
English II Reading

The state average for English II Reading was 78% in 2013.

207 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
26%
English II Writing

The state average for English II Writing was 52% in 2013.

206 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
61%

2012

 
 
16%
English III Reading

The state average for English III Reading was 63% in 2013.

205 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
64%

2012

 
 
n/a
English III Writing

The state average for English III Writing was 42% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 86% in 2013.

195 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
100%
Physics

The state average for Physics was 81% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
U.S. History

The state average for U.S. History was 73% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
World Geography

The state average for World Geography was 75% in 2013.

239 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
84%
World History

The state average for World History was 70% in 2013.

202 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
66%

2012

 
 
n/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

Algebra I

All Students87%
Female88%
Male86%
Black or African American77%
Asiann/a
Hispanic89%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White89%
Economically disadvantaged83%
Not economically disadvantaged92%
Special education50%
Not special education91%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English87%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant87%
Gifted/talentedn/a
Non-Gifted87%
Bilingualn/a

Algebra II

All Students100%
Female100%
Male100%
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White100%
Economically disadvantaged100%
Not economically disadvantaged100%
Special educationn/a
Not special education100%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English100%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant100%
Gifted/talented100%
Non-Gifted100%
Bilingualn/a

Biology I

All Students90%
Female92%
Male88%
Black or African American90%
Asiann/a
Hispanic93%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White91%
Economically disadvantaged87%
Not economically disadvantaged93%
Special education53%
Not special education93%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English90%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant90%
Gifted/talented100%
Non-Gifted90%
Bilingualn/a

Chemistry

All Students74%
Female81%
Male70%
Black or African American48%
Asiann/a
Hispanic93%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White76%
Economically disadvantaged68%
Not economically disadvantaged79%
Special education31%
Not special education78%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English74%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant74%
Gifted/talented100%
Non-Gifted73%
Bilingualn/a

English I Reading

All Students67%
Female71%
Male63%
Black or African American54%
Asiann/a
Hispanic51%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White71%
Economically disadvantaged55%
Not economically disadvantaged81%
Special education10%
Not special education72%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English68%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant67%
Gifted/talented100%
Non-Gifted66%
Bilingualn/a

English I Writing

All Students51%
Female64%
Male38%
Black or African American33%
Asiann/a
Hispanic36%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White56%
Economically disadvantaged39%
Not economically disadvantaged63%
Special education4%
Not special education56%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English51%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant51%
Gifted/talented91%
Non-Gifted49%
Bilingualn/a

English II Reading

All Students82%
Female92%
Male75%
Black or African American77%
Asiann/a
Hispanic83%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White82%
Economically disadvantaged76%
Not economically disadvantaged86%
Special education50%
Not special education84%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English82%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant82%
Gifted/talented100%
Non-Gifted81%
Bilingualn/a

English II Writing

All Students61%
Female75%
Male51%
Black or African American36%
Asiann/a
Hispanic67%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White63%
Economically disadvantaged47%
Not economically disadvantaged72%
Special education0%
Not special education66%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English61%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant61%
Gifted/talented100%
Non-Gifted59%
Bilingualn/a

English III Reading

All Students64%
Female74%
Male56%
Black or African American64%
Asiann/a
Hispanic81%
Multiracial40%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White62%
Economically disadvantaged56%
Not economically disadvantaged71%
Special education38%
Not special education65%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English64%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant64%
Gifted/talented100%
Non-Gifted62%

English III Writing

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrantn/a
Gifted/talentedn/a
Non-Giftedn/a

Geometry

All Students83%
Female88%
Male79%
Black or African American67%
Asiann/a
Hispanic100%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White83%
Economically disadvantaged80%
Not economically disadvantaged85%
Special education50%
Not special education85%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English82%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant83%
Gifted/talented100%
Non-Gifted82%
Bilingualn/a

Physics

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrantn/a
Gifted/talentedn/a
Non-Giftedn/a

U.S. History

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrantn/a
Gifted/talentedn/a
Non-Giftedn/a

World Geography

All Students74%
Female73%
Male76%
Black or African American35%
Asiann/a
Hispanic80%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White80%
Economically disadvantaged67%
Not economically disadvantaged82%
Special education35%
Not special education78%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English75%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant74%
Gifted/talented100%
Non-Gifted73%
Bilingualn/a

World History

All Students66%
Female67%
Male65%
Black or African American45%
Asiann/a
Hispanic71%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White69%
Economically disadvantaged61%
Not economically disadvantaged69%
Special education37%
Not special education69%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English66%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant66%
Gifted/talented100%
Non-Gifted64%
Bilingualn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 79% 31%
Hispanic 11% 50%
Black 8% 13%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 0%
Asian 1% 3%
Two or more races 1% 2%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Mr Kenneth Wooten
Fax number
  • (903) 852-5195

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

14128 State Hwy 31 W
Brownsboro, TX 75756
Phone: (903) 852-2321

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Aces Campus
Brownsboro, TX




Bridges Center
Athens, TX




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT