Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile

5 stars
Based on 10 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


12 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


St Mary's Catholic School 0
no rating

Posted October 21, 2009
- a parent
I have a 4th grader and a 1st grader that currently attend St. Mary's. I really love the school and feel that it is a warm, caring place for my kids to be everyday. The academics are vigorous in the upper grades. Children are prepared well for public school as well as for the private high schools (particularly St. Joseph Academy where most of the graduating 6th graders go to.) This school is very good about not inundating kids with homework in the lower grades. The new principal is wonderful and the principal and new vice-principal have done a great job of bringing in fresh ideas. Parents are very involved. I would like to see a better Spanish program, but the administration has said they hope to improve that next year. They have a science lab that the upper grades use. The Montessori program is outstanding.

St Mary's Catholic School 0
no rating

Posted March 19, 2009
- a parent
I went to St.Mary's catholic school and it was a great school now I currently have a child enrolled there and I am very proud to have her in the best school in brownsville. She is learning at a more advanced level.


St Mary's Catholic School 5

Posted June 01, 2008
- a community member
I'm a graduated student from St.Mary's, and I bealive it is the best school in the valley of Texas. This School reinforces the bealive in the Roman Catholic Religion. Also, this school has the best teachers and are on a modern system of education.

St Mary's Catholic School 5

Posted August 15, 2007
- a student
This is the Best school I had the best years here i loved my teachers.

St Mary's Catholic School 4

Posted June 23, 2007
- a parent
St. Mary's Catholic School should have more healthy food and a more modern system such as computers and diferent study objects. The School is to old when it comes technology. Althought St. Mary's could use some improvments I still highly recommened it for any kid that wants to be in a very stpiritual community


St Mary's Catholic School 5

Posted June 22, 2006
- a parent
My children have been part of the St. Mary's Catholic School family since they were 3 years old. I have two children in middle school and am pleased to announce that they are both National Junior Honor Society members. Recently my daughter was nominated for the Junior CYLC and my son was elected MVP for several sports at his new school. I credit their accomplishments to the St. Mary's Catholic School staff. As with any child, if you work hard to achieve your goal you will be ready for anything that comes your way even if it is your weakest school subject. I thank the teachers and staff of St. Mary's for having my children reading, multiplying, dividing, adding, subtracting and recognizing parts of speech before event entering 1st grade. Thank you St. Mary's Catholic School for laying down a great foundation for my children.

St Mary's Catholic School 4

Posted May 05, 2006
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

St Mary's Catholic School 5

Posted March 30, 2006
- a former student
This review submitted without content.


St Mary's Catholic School 4

Posted February 06, 2006
- a parent
My kids have been in this school for the past 6 years, and I like the warm feeling of being there, it has a lot of parent involvement and the extracurricular activities are enough for the kids. The academic programs are starting to be somewhat short, the school needs to update some and make them more challenging for the kids. Their math program needs improvement since when the kids move out to the middle schools they find that they are weak in this area. The staff in general is very into the kids, but some teachers need to work on their skills to become better teachers. The school has a great leadership in the pastor, and the kids love the principal.

St Mary's Catholic School 5

Posted August 02, 2005
- a parent
I have had my four kids there for over six years. Very good caring teachers, principal. Strong curriculum, innovative. I recommend it strongly.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

St Mary's Catholic School
1300 East Los Ebanos Boulevard, Brownsville, TX  78520
(956) 546-1805
Last modified St Mary's Catholic School is a Private school that serves grades PK-6
St Mary's Catholic School Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 12 reviews. Top