Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

St. Joseph Academy

Private | 7-12

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Brownsville

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $101,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $580.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

7 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 27, 2013

Tuition cost are obscene! Shame on this school! Shame on the Diocese for a total lack of financial support! One of the highest tuitions for Catholic Schools in the State!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 9, 2013

St. Joseph Academy is the biggest rip-off in schools. My child went there and the administration will change the grades in order to meet the standards, they will allow children do whatever they wanted to, because they are the clients. Students are very rude and do not respect the teachers, besides at the end when they graduate most of them end at a Community College. It is a Catholic school that do not apply their catholic believes. If you want to waste your money go to SJA if not send them somewhere else.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 4, 2009

High school in St. Joe was one of the best and most rewarding experiences ever. Not only did I recieve a complete education both school wise and morally, but I made the friends of a life time. St. Joe is family to mee.


Posted February 6, 2006

I think that the academics program is great and challenging one, and the teachers a good ones. The school needs to tighten their discipline methods to the kids, and have more direct supervision on them especially in their free time. The extracurricular activities are limited to sports, and there is very few options for other ones, plus not everybody is elegible to participate in those. The school needs to implement other type of activities like book reading club, chess, etc. I think the parent involvement is good when they let you in, since is kind of selective.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 24, 2005

My child attended Saint Joseph Acadamy from 7th to 12th grade. When she attended college she found it a breeze because saint joe provides the students the same atmosphere as a colllege does. The transition from highschool to college is easy for an sja student. She found that she was well prepared and was more advanced then her fellow students. Overall saint joe provides a future and a loving atmosphere for their students
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 2, 2005

St. Joseph Academy has done so much for my children. I am presently using this site to help me find a good school up north and I could not help in reading the other parents comments about St. Joseph Academy. The school has had choir, drama and dance as long as I know because my oldest child has participated in all of them for the past three years. They do not have home economics though. I would highly recommend SJA for any parent who wants their child subjected to role moldeling citizens. My oldest who graduated this past year is attending Harvard with a full scholarship based upon his experience at SJA.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 7, 2004

My child dropped out of this school after two months! The students at this school who are not american citizens were rude, and when they broke rules, the administration turned their heads as long as their family made a nice donation. Choir, drama, dance, and home economics are currently not offered to high school students, the only electives availible to them are band and phisical education. You would think a school that sets you back 7,000 a year could do better! This school may be very challenging to smart students, but can that possibly excuse a corrupt administration? Financial aid, is only given to students who are of the Roman Catholic Faith!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 85% 47%
White 13% 37%
Asian 2% N/A
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Black 0% 14%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% N/A
Two or more races 0% N/A
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • SACS
  • TCC,NCEA
Fax number
  • (956) 542-4748

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Diocese of Brownsville
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

101 St Joseph Dr
Brownsville, TX 78520
Phone: (956) 542-3581

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

First Baptist School
Brownsville, TX


Cummings Middle School
Brownsville, TX


Incarnate Word Academy
Brownsville, TX



Esperanza School
Brownsville, TX



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT