Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

St. Luke School

Private | K-8 | 235 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Brownsville

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $77,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $590.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

8 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 11, 2014

This school is horrible academically, not a single teacher is certified. The teachers are so subpar; and they can barely speak English. Most of the parents pulled out their kids and the real problem continues. The principle is so full of herself that doesn't realize the teachers are the problem. She is not really what she seems to be. Students in fifth grade are testing at a third grade level if tested elsewhere. And since principle is a retiree from BISD, soon the school will be full of BISD retirees (tired and worn out), favoritism continues. I would never pay for such unworthy education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 8, 2014

They got rid of the old principle and the new principal at the school is the best!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 27, 2013

Very shady school/favoritism. The teachers are subpar but I will say the activities the school offers are nice. I've removed my child from this school and hope they become more fair to ALL students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 14, 2013

This is not a really good school. There is a lot of favoritism. The teachers dont teach well and some parents are involved to much that they become the principal's favorite
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 14, 2012

I had my son there since he was 4years old, and i am very dissapointed on how the leader of the school does not listen to the parents. i had issues that were never resolved so what i had to do was take out my son from that school, he was already in 4th grade but the principal does not listen to you and i did see a lot of favoritism and that is what is unfair for the others students that are good students too. The coach especially is very rude and are not flexible with the students. I had a very bad experience in the school. The majority of the teacher my son had were good but it was the environment that was not healthy for him that i did not have any other choice than to take him out from there. I do feel that being catholic and knowing the rules of God they still do things that are unfair to this kids. I was never heard and the issue was never solved. I believe that a child's school is their second home/family and if they disrespected and mistreated then they will not want to go and their self-esteem will be shattered. I am very dissapointed.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 13, 2008

St. Luke Catholic School is a small school community that creates a caring, loving and personal environment for their students. You feel welcomed when you enter the school and the children are happy to be in school. The curriculum is driven by a dedicated adminstrative team, faculty and staff members. Children are always challenged to reach the next level. Students receive special attention in the small classroom setting. The school also provides a true spiritual environment that sets the foundation and overall development of every child. I am very pleased with my children's progress at the school. This is a great school .
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 13, 2005

I took my son out of this school as quick as I could. His teacher was telling him things like when he plays video games he is playing with the devil, told his friend his dad was going to hell because he doesn't go to church... bad bad choices of words to tell a child.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 24, 2003

St. Luke has always provided my children with high standards of education. They not only encourage the children to achieve high levels of education; but also high levels of moral standards. The administration, faculty, and staff demonstrate their motto of Love, Care, and Respect for one another. I feel that my children have greatly benefited from their years at St. Luke. Thank you for your support.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 84% 51%
White 16% 31%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Asian or Pacific Islander 0% 4%
Black 0% 13%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 2%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NCEA
Fax number
  • (956) 544-4874

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Montessori
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Diocese of Brownsville
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2850 East Price Road
Brownsville, TX 78521
Website: Click here
Phone: (956) 544-7982

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Egly Elementary School
Brownsville, TX


Perez Elementary School
Brownsville, TX


Seventh Day Adventist
Brownsville, TX


Brownsville SDA School
Brownsville, TX


Hudson Elementary School
Brownsville, TX


Faith Lutheran School
Brownsville, TX


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT