Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
9-12
Public
Brownsville, TX
Students enrolled: 2,005
Before care: No
After care: Yes

3 stars
Based on 10 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


11 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Porter High School 1

Posted May 19, 2011
- a student
We don't do anything in this school but sleep and text. I realize that all the teachers expect nothing from you! students here don't believe in ambition. The hard truth, I even have video footage of my everyday school day on youtube. Whoever rates this higher than one star might be for the very same reason that yes, we do have a lot of chat time and text but that misses the point. A school in New York or Los Angeles would be very diffrent. Where are all ther artists, singers, actors, writers, presidents, and inspirational people from? L.A. or NYC of coarse. Have you ever heard of a Denzel Washington from Brownsville or Porter HS? The point is that Porter is a school that hides kids from the fact that we are meaningless little ignorants. Well said.

Porter High School 1

Posted November 09, 2009
- a teacher
This review submitted without content.


Porter High School 0
no rating

Posted May 07, 2009
- a student
I attended Porter H.S. my junior year, and as long as school spirit and students involvement I saw a great amount of it. The teacher and programs they have are meant to help students move ahead and catch up. I strongly believed this is a great school.

Porter High School 5

Posted March 26, 2009
- a student
the porter high school is one of the best school i went to,i hope many students do good,the teachers are very good to work with,so i think that porter is one of the best school to be at....

Porter High School 5

Posted September 23, 2008
- a parent
This review submitted without content.


Porter High School 4

Posted March 21, 2008
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Porter High School 5

Posted January 04, 2008
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Porter High School 3

Posted July 29, 2007
- a parent
I agree that the HS of Technology is an excellent program and strongly advise against the choir program as well.


Porter High School 2

Posted March 12, 2006
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Porter High School 3

Posted August 23, 2005
- a former student
Academic programs are great! Especially the H.S.of Technology! There isa lot of availability for extracurricular activites, but I would strongly not advise the music program. (choir)! Excellent parental invovlement!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Porter High School
3500 International Boulevard, Brownsville, TX  78521
(956) 698-1380
Last modified Porter High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 2 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Porter High School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 11 reviews. Top