Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Burkburnett High School

Public | 9-12 | 928 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars


Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

8 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 7, 2010

As a graduate of BHS, I am very unsatisfied with my education. The school focuses first on enforcing rules. Eencouraging learning opportunities and providing an education seems low on the list of priorities. I found myself very ill prepared for college, despite graduating with high marks. My peers in college had a much broader depth of knowledge: they had read books I hadn't, learned math and science principles I hadn't, and had studied disciplines that were entirely new to me.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 8, 2008

I went to Burk High, and I believe that it is the best school in the area. I have been to the christian and public schools in Wichita, and had friends in the surrounding towns. We all agree that Burk is so much better than the others. The connection the teachers had with us was outstanding. I never thought I would make anything of myself because the town was so small, and because our sports teams aren't the best anymore, but I got such great grades because the teachers helped out so much. There are only four counselors in the school and the teachers help them keep the load off their backs so that they can take care of the kids who have personal problems at home. the kids with disabilities are treated as equals unlike the surrounding schools. i suggest this school to everyone
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 2, 2007

The quality of the education at Burk High is exceptional. However, I do agree with the comment that the counselors do not connect with the students. I am a former Burk High School student who went on to college and graduate school. I do not remember ever talking with the school counselor and was never approached by one to discuss my future. I learned a lot of things the hard way. I feel that if I had the benefit of a career counselor I could have accomplished my goals in a shorter time frame. I think that Burk High is an excellent school and would recommend it to any parent with the caveat that their child take the initiative to make an appointment with a career counselor and make them assist you.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted January 3, 2007

I read the comment about placing your disabled child in another school district - and I don't agree! Burkburnett High School is considered a 'compassionate school' by the military, and if I am correct, there are only two of those in the nation. That means that the school district has met certain requirements to work with children with disabilities. I have found the school to be very student-centered and caring. I have had several children go through the school system at all levels. I would rate this school as the best of the five school districts we have been associated with through the years.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 27, 2006

If your son/daughter has any sort of mental or educational disabilities I would highly recommend finding another district.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 5, 2006

The academic programs do not compare to Wichita Falls City schools it is a nice clean school, the counselors do not connect with the children as they do in the city schools which is surprising due to the size of the school many teachers have been there a long time, so for too long they need fresh insight as with the sports programs
—Submitted by a former student


Posted June 18, 2004

I like the school. The priciples are cool. The Band Directors are the best! Ilove Mr L.Davis with a passion and Mr.B.Scearce! They are great teachers they are the ones who go the extra mile. No words could discribe the influence they put on my life. They really and truely changed and put a great impact on my life. If only they knew.
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 7, 2004

The 9th, 11th & 12th grades each have one of my children at Burk High, if she passes the math portion of the TAKS test, my daughter will graduate next month! The thing we appreciate about Texas schools,is the challenge it has provided them since we moved here. My daughter was struggling so badly in her old school.We told her this was her year and to give it all up would be crazy, so she worked very hard and has had some very caring teachers who pushed her to do well, for that we are so grateful! She has maintained better grades this year than any of her 4 years in high school.Our oldest son just lettered in AFJROTC and our 9th grade son is involved in band. Both organizations have kept them grounded because of the teachers and the leadership they see everyday. Thanks so much to their teachers!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 89% in 2011.

242 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
98%
Math

The state average for Math was 70% in 2011.

236 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
72%

2010

 
 
77%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 91% in 2011.

187 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
94%
Math

The state average for Math was 74% in 2011.

184 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
78%

2010

 
 
82%
Science

The state average for Science was 76% in 2011.

188 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
78%

2010

 
 
82%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 93% in 2011.

188 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
93%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 95% in 2013.

202 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
99%

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
95%
Math

The state average for Math was 89% in 2013.

201 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
93%
Science

The state average for Science was 95% in 2013.

201 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
96%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 98% in 2013.

202 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
99%

2012

 
 
99%

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
98%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students94%
Female96%
Male92%
Black or African American95%
Asiann/a
Hispanic90%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White94%
Economically disadvantaged91%
Special education68%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a

Math

All Students89%
Female89%
Male89%
Black or African American90%
Asiann/a
Hispanic63%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White92%
Economically disadvantaged81%
Special education60%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a

Science

All Students95%
Female96%
Male94%
Black or African American90%
Asiann/a
Hispanic83%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White97%
Economically disadvantaged91%
Special education75%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a

Social Studies

All Students99%
Female99%
Male98%
Black or African American100%
Asiann/a
Hispanic95%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White99%
Economically disadvantaged99%
Special education95%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

  • In 2010-2011, this school was rated "Academically Acceptable".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was rated "Recognized".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was rated "Academically Acceptable".

About the tests


Texas uses Accountability Ratings to indicate the overall performance of each school and district. The ratings are based on TAKS test results, dropout rates for grades 7 and 8 and school completion rates for grades 9 through 12. Schools and districts rated under standard accountability procedures are designated as Exemplary, Recognized, Academically Acceptable or Academically Unacceptable. Schools and districts rated under alternative education accountability (AEA) procedures are designated as either AEA: Academically Acceptable or AEA: Academically Unacceptable.

Source: Texas Education Agency

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 78% in 2013.

207 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
80%
Algebra II

The state average for Algebra II was 97% in 2013.

51 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
n/a
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 85% in 2013.

258 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
88%
Chemistry

The state average for Chemistry was 84% in 2013.

108 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
n/a
English I Reading

The state average for English I Reading was 65% in 2013.

253 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
70%
English I Writing

The state average for English I Writing was 48% in 2013.

268 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
49%

2012

 
 
64%
English II Reading

The state average for English II Reading was 78% in 2013.

230 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
n/a
English II Writing

The state average for English II Writing was 52% in 2013.

232 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
56%

2012

 
 
n/a
English III Reading

The state average for English III Reading was 63% in 2013.

143 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
50%

2012

 
 
n/a
English III Writing

The state average for English III Writing was 42% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 86% in 2013.

216 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
98%
Physics

The state average for Physics was 81% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
95%
U.S. History

The state average for U.S. History was 73% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
World Geography

The state average for World Geography was 75% in 2013.

262 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
83%
World History

The state average for World History was 70% in 2013.

228 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
46%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

Algebra I

All Students77%
Female82%
Male73%
Black or African American50%
Asiann/a
Hispanic79%
Multiracial88%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White81%
Economically disadvantaged75%
Not economically disadvantaged82%
Special education61%
Not special education80%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English78%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant78%
Gifted/talentedn/a
Non-Gifted78%
Bilingualn/a

Algebra II

All Students100%
Female100%
Male100%
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic100%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White100%
Economically disadvantaged100%
Not economically disadvantaged100%
Special educationn/a
Not special education100%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English100%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant100%
Gifted/talented100%
Non-Gifted100%
Bilingualn/a

Biology I

All Students83%
Female86%
Male80%
Black or African American63%
Asiann/a
Hispanic67%
Multiracial100%
American Indian or Alaska Native80%
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White87%
Economically disadvantaged75%
Not economically disadvantaged91%
Special education40%
Not special education88%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English83%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant83%
Gifted/talented100%
Non-Gifted82%
Bilingualn/a

Chemistry

All Students96%
Female97%
Male95%
Black or African American100%
Asiann/a
Hispanic100%
Multiracial83%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White96%
Economically disadvantaged91%
Not economically disadvantaged99%
Special educationn/a
Not special education96%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English96%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant96%
Gifted/talented100%
Non-Gifted96%
Bilingualn/a

English I Reading

All Students69%
Female79%
Male61%
Black or African American41%
Asiann/a
Hispanic59%
Multiracial70%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White73%
Economically disadvantaged64%
Not economically disadvantaged74%
Special education15%
Not special education75%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English69%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant69%
Gifted/talented100%
Non-Gifted67%
Bilingualn/a

English I Writing

All Students49%
Female62%
Male38%
Black or African American11%
Asiann/a
Hispanic33%
Multiracial45%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White54%
Economically disadvantaged45%
Not economically disadvantaged53%
Special education13%
Not special education53%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English49%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant49%
Gifted/talented100%
Non-Gifted46%
Bilingualn/a

English II Reading

All Students76%
Female84%
Male67%
Black or African American65%
Asiann/a
Hispanic78%
Multiracial88%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White76%
Economically disadvantaged69%
Not economically disadvantaged81%
Special education22%
Not special education80%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English76%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant76%
Gifted/talented100%
Non-Gifted74%
Bilingualn/a

English II Writing

All Students56%
Female66%
Male46%
Black or African American35%
Asiann/a
Hispanic59%
Multiracial75%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White58%
Economically disadvantaged43%
Not economically disadvantaged67%
Special education17%
Not special education60%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English56%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant56%
Gifted/talented100%
Non-Gifted54%
Bilingualn/a

English III Reading

All Students50%
Female54%
Male48%
Black or African American60%
Asiann/a
Hispanic44%
Multiracial33%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White51%
Economically disadvantaged45%
Not economically disadvantaged55%
Special education12%
Not special education56%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English51%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant50%
Gifted/talentedn/a
Non-Gifted50%

English III Writing

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrantn/a
Gifted/talentedn/a
Non-Giftedn/a

Geometry

All Students80%
Female82%
Male78%
Black or African American67%
Asiann/a
Hispanic77%
Multiracial89%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White81%
Economically disadvantaged74%
Not economically disadvantaged85%
Special education35%
Not special education84%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English80%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant80%
Gifted/talented100%
Non-Gifted79%
Bilingualn/a

Physics

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrantn/a
Gifted/talentedn/a
Non-Giftedn/a

U.S. History

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrantn/a
Gifted/talentedn/a
Non-Giftedn/a

World Geography

All Students80%
Female80%
Male79%
Black or African American65%
Asiann/a
Hispanic74%
Multiracial100%
American Indian or Alaska Native100%
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White81%
Economically disadvantaged73%
Not economically disadvantaged88%
Special education32%
Not special education86%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English80%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant80%
Gifted/talented100%
Non-Gifted79%
Bilingualn/a

World History

All Students69%
Female73%
Male65%
Black or African American50%
Asiann/a
Hispanic75%
Multiracial67%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White70%
Economically disadvantaged63%
Not economically disadvantaged74%
Special education23%
Not special education74%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English69%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant69%
Gifted/talented100%
Non-Gifted67%
Bilingualn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 73% 29%
Hispanic 12% 52%
Black 8% 13%
Two or more races 4% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 2% 0%
Asian or Pacific Islander 1% 4%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander N/A 0%
Source: TX Education Agency, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient (LEP) 1%N/A17%
Source: TX Education Agency, 2013-2014

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
Beginning teachers 3%N/AN/A
Source: Civil Rights Data Collection, 2011-2012

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • BRAD OWEN
Fax number
  • (940) 569-0512

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

109 West Kramer Road
Burkburnett, TX 76354
Website: Click here
Phone: (940) 569-1411

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Agape Christian School
Wichita Falls, TX



Hirschi High School
Wichita Falls, TX


Iowa Park High School
Iowa Park, TX


Wichita Co Jjaep
Wichita Falls, TX


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT