Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile

3 stars
Based on 10 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


10 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Norwood Elementary School 1

Posted April 16, 2014
- a parent
Bullying and harassment seem to be an issue within the student body. My daughter felt like an outsider and was excessively punished routinely for behavioral issues even though I blame it all on the fact that for her 1st grade year in 2014 she had 8 teachers and was shuffled around to 3 different classrooms with still 8 weeks of school left. Her transfer to another school was yet another great change for her. No consistency in homework or reading lessons sent home daily. There was several weeks that no daily return of the behavior folder ever even came home. At one point there was a non certified teacher filling in as one of the many temps that wasn't even giving the children daily work instead of maintaining a daycare like environment instead. It all started at the beginning of the year with the teacher announcing she would be leaving on maternity leave in the first few weeks of the school year. My daughter is now 6 months behind in all studies. Makes me very sad and angry for my daughter.

Norwood Elementary School 1

Posted April 16, 2014
- a parent
Not good. Poor teacher communication and inter-teaching skills. Needs a new principal for the 2014/2015 school year to get back to being good ol' Norwood Vikings :) The kids are the ones suffering with the lack of leadership for efficient teaching and control of the bullying issues.


Norwood Elementary School 1

Posted March 26, 2014
- a parent
I've been very disappointed in the lack of communication from this school. The principal does not seem to care about much.

Norwood Elementary School 5

Posted August 21, 2013
- a parent
We love Norwood my daughter wants to go to every school activity which is great. They are really great at teaching school spirit. We are about to start 2nd grade and couldn't be happier.

Norwood Elementary School 1

Posted February 03, 2013
- a parent
WE are new to Norwood and I have a daughter that is a great student, never gets in trouble in class and we have issues with her being bullied and nether teacher or administration or willing do do anything I was told its up to my daughter to handle the situation, in which she has for months with no sucess, staing away from her, ignoring, talking to the councler..I guess next step my daughter will just have to use physical force to get it to stop


Norwood Elementary School 5

Posted August 28, 2008
- a parent
Highly trained professional teachers and staff make the difference in the future of our children and our country.

Norwood Elementary School 5

Posted November 02, 2006
- a parent
I like that the school is so patriotic. Each morning the kids say the united states and the Texas pledge and then the whole school sings a patriotic song. My daughter loves it and it's instilling a love for her country and state very early!

Norwood Elementary School 5

Posted March 05, 2005
- a former student
This review submitted without content.


Norwood Elementary School 1

Posted September 25, 2004
- a former student
This review submitted without content.

Norwood Elementary School 5

Posted September 22, 2004
- a parent
I like the way the teachers stand outside before and after school to look out for the safety of their chidren and students.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Norwood Elementary School
619 Evelyn Lane, Burleson, TX  76028
(817) 447-5770
Last modified Norwood Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 5 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Norwood Elementary School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 10 reviews. Top