Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
PK-5
Public district
Burleson, TX
Students enrolled: 430
Before care: No
 

3 stars
Based on 12 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Norwood Elementary School
Teacher effectiveness: Very ineffective

Posted May 31, 2015
- a parent
The teachers yell at students to stay on task and do not help with things the children have problems with. They do not keep in contact with parents, so the parents don't know what's going on and so the parents can't help either.

Norwood Elementary School
Develops respect: Strongly disagree

Posted May 31, 2015
- a parent
Absolutely not. It's hard to instill respect when the staff doesn't respect the students or their parents.


Norwood Elementary School
Develops empathy: Strongly disagree

Posted May 31, 2015
- a parent
Bullying is rampant and it goes unpunished or ignored. Children do not feel safe here.

Norwood Elementary School
Develops honesty: Strongly disagree

Posted May 31, 2015
- a parent
Bullies go unpunished, victims are blamed for getting bullied, the teachers and administrators are dishonest.

Norwood Elementary School 1

Posted May 31, 2015
- a parent
To get straight to the point, this school has a major issue with bullying. There is also a serious lack of communication from the school. Not to mention the teachers and the administration mistreat the children and their parents. They do not know how to properly support a child with special needs. Our child will not be returning to this school next year. Steer clear of this school


Norwood Elementary School 5

Posted February 19, 2015
- a parent
My son has been blessed to attend Norwood. They have done many things to help him succeed and excel! He wants to be involved with everything the school has going on.
1 person found this helpful

Norwood Elementary School 1

Posted April 16, 2014
- a parent
Bullying and harassment seem to be an issue within the student body. My daughter felt like an outsider and was excessively punished routinely for behavioral issues even though I blame it all on the fact that for her 1st grade year in 2014 she had 8 teachers and was shuffled around to 3 different classrooms with still 8 weeks of school left. Her transfer to another school was yet another great change for her. No consistency in homework or reading lessons sent home daily. There was several weeks that no daily return of the behavior folder ever even came home. At one point there was a non certified teacher filling in as one of the many temps that wasn't even giving the children daily work instead of maintaining a daycare like environment instead. It all started at the beginning of the year with the teacher announcing she would be leaving on maternity leave in the first few weeks of the school year. My daughter is now 6 months behind in all studies. Makes me very sad and angry for my daughter.
2 people found this helpful

Norwood Elementary School 1

Posted April 16, 2014
- a parent
Not good. Poor teacher communication and inter-teaching skills. Needs a new principal for the 2014/2015 school year to get back to being good ol' Norwood Vikings :) The kids are the ones suffering with the lack of leadership for efficient teaching and control of the bullying issues.
2 people found this helpful


Norwood Elementary School 1

Posted March 26, 2014
- a parent
I've been very disappointed in the lack of communication from this school. The principal does not seem to care about much.
2 people found this helpful

Norwood Elementary School 5

Posted August 21, 2013
- a parent
We love Norwood my daughter wants to go to every school activity which is great. They are really great at teaching school spirit. We are about to start 2nd grade and couldn't be happier.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Norwood Elementary School
619 Evelyn Lane, Burleson, TX  76028
(817) 447-5770
Last modified Norwood Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 5 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Norwood Elementary School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 18 reviews. Top