Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

5 stars
Based on 18 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


22 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


The Academy At Nola Dunn 5

Posted February 14, 2013
- a parent
Both my boys love going to school at Academy. One is in 4th and one in 1st. Both started in Kinder there. I like that they stay with the same teacher for 2 years in K-3. All teachers and staff have always been friendly and helpful. They have great music, spanish, art, and PE programs/teacers. I know getting familiar with Spanish all through elementary is really going to help them later if they take it in High School. Oh, and you don't have to camp out to get your kid in anymore, so don't be scared by some of the earliest reviews! Now you apply online at a particular date/time and they fill the open spots in the order your app is entered online. There are steps you have to take before that though so visit the school or website for that info. The parent involvement is very high and each family must do at least 10 hrs of volunteering, but even if you work there are opportunities for getting it done. The other main thing is there is no bus service, so you have to provide transportation. The brain based teaching is great and I think it gives the teachers more freedom to really get the kids learning.

The Academy At Nola Dunn 5

Posted October 16, 2012
- a parent
I LOVE this school! The teachers are wonderful and so hands on. If your child is behind in any subject they pull them out of class for one on one tutoring.


The Academy At Nola Dunn 3

Posted November 18, 2011
- a parent
If you like a vice principal that never smiles and doesn't acknowledge you even when you say hello and and an office staff that glares at you when you come through the door, this school is for you! Not only does this school have it's own brand specific dress code that requires spending tax dollars outside of it's city, the vice principal personally okays if your child's shoes are appropriate. They pride themselves on everything they do, but the place is pretty unorganized. If you want to be an active parent, you are welcome and that may help you get past the unpleasant district employees that make you question if you child is in the right place.

The Academy At Nola Dunn 3

Posted May 18, 2011
- a community member
is it necessary to live in the disrict for nola dunn? is there an entrance test? we are planning to move to burleson. my son has to go in grade 2 this yr. need help !

The Academy At Nola Dunn 0
no rating

Posted October 05, 2009
- a parent
The Academy at Nola Dunn,is a wonderful atmosphere for not only students, but also parents.Everyone is so friendly and positive.


The Academy At Nola Dunn 0
no rating

Posted April 29, 2009
- a parent
My son has attended this school since his first grade year. I have been very pleased with the teachers and the school ! I would reccomend this school !

The Academy At Nola Dunn 5

Posted January 20, 2009
- a student
This review submitted without content.

The Academy At Nola Dunn 5

Posted November 24, 2008
- a community member
It's a shame all schools do not use brain-based learning techniques. After one year of home-schooling, my granddaughter went from high excellence to average at Stribling. Now at the Academy, she is back on top, mastering all subjects and getting superior reports. The vertical teams and emphasis on leadership are extremely beneficial to children's development.


The Academy At Nola Dunn 5

Posted November 23, 2008
- a parent
Both of my children attended Nola Dunn. What an amazing start for their education! They have been able to transfer what they learned in elementary to their learning in middle school and high school. My only problem is that Academy only goes through 5th grade. I would give anything for this type of brain-based learning to be implemented in the higher levels of education in Burleson. Over all, if you have the opportunity to get your child into the Academy at Nola Dunn, you will not regret it! Both of my children have never scored below commended on the TAKS test and I credit a lot of that to the Academy! Do yourself and your child a favor....check out this school...

The Academy At Nola Dunn 5

Posted October 01, 2008
- a parent
The Academy at Nola Dunn is different in that all teachers use brain-based learning techniques (Eric Jensen) hand-in-hand with the Multiple Intelligences Theory (Howard Gardner). Students enjoy field trips and traditions. Many extracurricular clubs and opportunities are available. Students are organized into vertical teams (one each of K-5 class together) as well as horizontally (all grade level together) for learning activities. Parent involvement is required through various volunteer activities. The school has a total 'outside the box' mentality and new ideas and teaching methods are welcomed. Most of the teachers are outstanding and put in far more hours preparing curriculum than the average elementary teacher to provide the necessary stimulation. Teachers team-teach and lower level teachers communicate with upper level teachers so subject matter is taught in a logical fashion in order to reach Texas requirements (TEKS) and to prepare students for the TAKS (state-mandated testing). Students wear uniforms.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

The Academy At Nola Dunn
201 South Dobson Street, Burleson, TX  76028
(817) 447-5895
Last modified The Academy At Nola Dunn is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
The Academy At Nola Dunn Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 22 reviews. Top