Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
53 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 68 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Jerry R Junkins Elementary School 5

Posted June 01, 2016
- a parent
We moved from a different elementary school during the summer of 2015 to Carrollton. My daughter attended first grade at Jerry Junkins during the 2015-2016 school year. We were a little nervous and uncertain how the school year would turn out. First and foremost, we are Extremely pleased with her first grade teacher, Ms. Rezadad. She is such a wonderful, caring teacher with all the students and always kept us informed of our children's academics as well as the school's upcoming activities/holidays. Ms. Rezadad is an outstanding teacher! She cares for the students, supports, and does her job with great dedication and passion. Very accessible too! My daughter and I will miss her greatly. The school has musicals every year and this year we enjoyed Annie for the 2016 Musical. Jerry Junkins is a diverse elementary school which focuses in science and technology. I was very surprised and satisfied to see a lot of parent involvement in the school PTA and activities from beginning to end. Their lunch menu offers a variety of options and a healthy lunch menu is top priority in the cafeteria! I am pleased with my daughter's first year attendance at Jerry Junkins. I hope that all of the teachers continue to support our children's academic journey and know the importance of the impact they have on our children both positive and negative. We look forward to an exciting and empowering second grade year for my daughter. Keep up the good TEAM Work Jerry Junkins!

Jerry R Junkins Elementary School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted June 01, 2016
- a parent
Thank you Ms. Rezadad for a wonderful school year as my daughter's first grade teacher. You really made a positive impact on her. I am very pleased that she had you as her first grade teacher. We truly appreciate your hard work, dedication, and caring for our children. We will miss you at Jerry Junkins!


Jerry R Junkins Elementary School
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted June 01, 2016
- a parent
We loved Ms. Rezadad as my daughter's first grade teacher. She was caring, dedicated, accessible, and shows true passion as a teacher. Definitely has a positive impact on our children.

Jerry R Junkins Elementary School 5

Posted April 09, 2015
- a parent
I love this school! We moved from Frisco and were very scared of all the scandals DISD has been through. This school was meant to be a temporary environment until we could place her in a private school. We fell in love with her teacher and her classroom management. Our daughter has surprised us with everything she is learning and bringing home. Her teacher is very involved in communicating to us any concerns and progress. We decided to leave her here and hope that next year will be the same success story. Thank you for everything you do for our kids!

Jerry R Junkins Elementary School 5

Posted April 09, 2015
- a parent
I love this school! We moved from Frisco and were very scared of all the scandals DISD has been through. This school was meant to be a temporary environment until we could place her in a private school. We fell in love with her teacher and her classroom management. Our daughter has surprised us with everything she is learning and bringing home. Her teacher is very involved in communicating to us any concerns and progress. We decided to leave her here and hope that next year will be the same success story. Thank you for everything you do for our kids!


Jerry R Junkins Elementary School 1

Posted October 12, 2013
- a parent
This is one of the worst schools in this area. Teachers are mean to kids. I kind of agree with the robot review as I have observed the same thing too. The supplies that you buy for your kid won't be used for your kid because they will never know whose supply is whose.. Their organization skills are the worst.. I withdrew my son after a week from this school because he got selected elsewhere. When I went there to get back the supplies that I provided i got only half of what I gave them and that too all the brands and sizes were different. That's how I realized that the supplies I buy for my son wont be used anyways on him. I feel very bad about it. The evening pick up is a horror story. There is absolutely no security. Anybody can scoop into the cafeteria during the evening pick up. The principal although a very good person lacks capabilities to control his staff. One day I observed that parents waited for 45 minutes without a single kid being released So parents if you want to experience all this first hand please go ahead and your child in this school.. If you have options then please don't put your kid in this school. I feel for parents who don't have a choice.

Jerry R Junkins Elementary School 4

Posted September 10, 2013
- a community member
My grandson goes to this school, and he is an A/B student. I believe the teachers are very caring and professional, as is the rest of the school staff. This is his third year at this school, and he has really flourished!

Jerry R Junkins Elementary School 1

Posted August 06, 2013
- a parent
This school is looks like the kids are robot's, all the children dress a like, walk a certain way, and follow robot motions that the teachers instill. Then can't talk at all while then are walking, they can't talk in the cafeteria even when they are through eating lunch and have to put there heads on the nasty/dirty tables when they are done until they get released. If they forget and accidently talk the whole class looses recess. You can hear teachers yelling from down the hall at the kids. The tests scores are awful and the kids walk around like zombie's. The only positive thing I can say about this pathetic school is they have a great after school play program to those kids fortunate enough to go to the after school program. This program is only offered through the after school program. This is the ONLY thing that is school has to offer. Other than that plan on your kids coming home sick all the time and Not learning anything but dirty words and how to put their head on the lunch room tables when they are done eating. This school should be shut down! I am ashamed a school in Texas is run like this. Parents be warned.


Jerry R Junkins Elementary School 4

Posted July 31, 2013
- a parent
My child has been enrolled at Jerry Junkins since kinder w/ mrs. Tilley. Went on to 1st w/ Mrs Brumbelow and 2nd grade w/ Mrs Decker. 2nd grade was a challenge due to teacher on maternity leave. We were upset at the lack of communication the sub provided to us as a parent. The dual language program in my opinion needs work. The concept is great but the follow thru needs MAJOR help! We love Junkins but communication is key. We are parents that want to know what our child is struggling with so we can provide one on one help at home. Waiting until report cards are sent is not helping anyone, especially a child. Aside from that Junkins is a good school!

Jerry R Junkins Elementary School 5

Posted May 10, 2013
- a parent
We recently moved to this area from another state and I was so pleased by the school and its staff. They welcomed my daughter mid school year and helped her catch up to her fellow students. When we arrived she was one of a few Kinder kids not reading, I am so excited that as the school year comes to and end she is reading well beyond a 1st grade level and is loving it. This school is great!!!!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Jerry R Junkins Elementary School
2808 Running Duke Drive, Carrollton, TX  75006
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 68 reviews. (972) 502-2400
Last modified Jerry R Junkins Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 5 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top