Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

4 stars
Based on 13 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


14 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Mccoy Elementary School 5

Posted September 11, 2012
- a parent
GREAT elementary. We started our kids here and were sad to move. The principal is energetic and really motivates her teachers. The GT program is truly a GT program, not just a name. I feel like my son got the best start to his school expereince by attending this school Sad to leave. :(

Mccoy Elementary School 5

Posted June 21, 2011
- a parent
My 8 year daughter just completed her 3rd year at McCoy elementary. She has been in ACE (excelerated learning program) since kindergarten. She has attended her regular classes and received addtional class work to keep her motivated and involved. The teachers have managed to provide customized teaching for my daughter along with the other 15-20 kids she has attended each grade with. The school has an amazingly involved PTA and teacher base. I highly recommend it!


Mccoy Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted February 20, 2010
- a parent
I am a mother of six years old daughter. I have to say her teacher is great .All the staff are helpful. Teacher Quality is above.

Mccoy Elementary School 5

Posted May 25, 2009
- a community member
This review submitted without content.

Mccoy Elementary School 5

Posted May 27, 2008
- a parent
Great attention to detail by teachers and administrators. We are very pleased by the overall PTA involvement. The emphasis of blending classroom education with Field Trips provides for a good overall education.


Mccoy Elementary School 3

Posted May 08, 2008
- a parent
The LEAP program in this school is unique in the state in that it caters to children who are highly gifted. ACE ( in regular classrooms in other schoolsi n the district) caters to gifted children. The Principal at the school is relatively new, quite young and seemingly inexperienced in dealing with children and parents. The school seems very performance driven and pressure to perform is very high - especially on the kids in LEAP. The PTA is very active and does a lot for the school. Emotional needs (often an issue for highly gifted kids) do not get the support they need and efforts instead are focused on documented performance. In short, the LEAP program is by no means ideal and the change in principal has not helped the school.

Mccoy Elementary School 5

Posted December 11, 2007
- a parent
The LEAP program is uncomparable to any other elementary school. It is unique and the students are selected after very difficult tests, tasks and interviews. I wish they had this program in a little sophisticated campus with little more comfort.

Mccoy Elementary School 5

Posted October 01, 2007
- a parent
This review submitted without content.


Mccoy Elementary School 5

Posted September 25, 2007
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Mccoy Elementary School 1

Posted April 29, 2007
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Mccoy Elementary School
2425 McCoy Road, Carrollton, TX  75006
(972) 968-2320
Last modified Mccoy Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Mccoy Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 14 reviews. Top