Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Oak Crest Private School

Private | PK-8 | 40 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Carrollton

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $125,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $880.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 3 ratings
2011:
Based on 10 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

22 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted March 23, 2014

OCPS is truly the best school in Carrollton! Before entering OCPS, my child was constantly searching for social acceptance, bullied, afraid to participate in class, would shut down and had very little trust in her teachers/administrators. To witness this daily and the impact it had on her (despite all the praise she received at home) took it's toll on me. Now, she looks forward to going to school. Her writing/spelling has improved drastically. She is pushing herself to learn, so 'she can make us proud' (her words). She LOVES to read even when there's 'a lot of pages.' I've stop counting the # of times she asked me to wait so she can finish her 'study hall' (they actually learn/get homework assistance in day care!) assignment. What's more amazing, many times it's an upper classmen (who's also staying late) that's helping & encouraging her, 'as they've been there' (that's a quote from a 9 year old BTW). The teachers are compassionate, patient & genuinely invested in seeing each kid succeed. She's not anxious. I'm not stressed trying to figure out how to 'fix it.' It's like our house is finally at peace. Honestly, I can't tell you how many times I've cried tears of joy.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 7, 2012

This is a wonderful school. The children learn what they study and can apply what they learn. They learn it fully with complete understanding of the subject. They are taught respect for each other and valuable communication skills starting from the Early Beginners class. The children gladly help, encourage and applaud each other for their successes. The whole school participated in a dance show that was awesome. None of the students showed any embarrassment to get out there and dance. That shows how safe the kids feel to get outside their comfort zone. When a child needs extra help they get it till they fully understand what they are studying.


Posted March 2, 2012

Wonderful Powerful School! A school about knowledge, application and participation with total comprehension. A safe, interactive environment for students to excel at their own pace and you would be surprised on how fast their pace is when a student is taken out of the box of "stay with your class" environment and put in one that lets them run as fast as the want to run with nothing less then perfect score to complete and move on.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 7, 2012

Wonderful school! My child is doing amazingly well and is learning a lot. The staff is very friendly and caring and they know my child's strengths and weaknesses. I would highly recommend this school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 19, 2011

I have been very concerned about the quality of the public schools for many years. So, when the time came to start researching schools for my own child, I visited Oak Crest. Boy, was I impressed. Small class sizes, intelligent, caring teachers and a wonderful atmosphere. But was surprised me most was the level of academic rigor and how young the students were studying these subjects. Upon questioning a few students, I found a level of understanding that surprised me. This is clearly the school for my child. What I saw exceeded my most hopeful expectations.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 19, 2011

Couldn't be happier with my son's progress. He has only been going to Oak Crest a few months, but so many people have commented on how much he has matured in the last few months and how much happier he seems. Many times when I pick him up in the afternoon he asks to stay until he finishes the paper he's working on!! The staff is incredible and truly focused on each child.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 19, 2011

My nephew has been going to this school for 2 years and WOW what a huge difference I've noticed in him!! He actually looks forward to going to school and when gets home from school he's always talking about what he learned that day. He actually applies what he's been learning at school. He is 4 yrs old but now he acts like he is 10 :)


Posted October 18, 2011

I love this school! All three of my children have attended Oak Crest. Two of them went on to success in high school and one is still at Oak Crest. I could not be happier with their experience at this school, and here are a few of the areas in particular that I like: 1) Class sizes are small and students get one-on-one, individual attention specific to areas where they need help. 2) Unlike other schools who may be fine with a student getting an 80% or even 90% grade, at Oak Crest the students review material that they missed in order to get a full 100% understanding. 3) Students are not only taught the subject matter, but they are also given tools which help them to better understand and study any subject they may choose to earn in the future 4) The school demonstrates a high level of integrity and ethical behavior and teaches the students these important concepts as well. I highly recommend this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 18, 2011

I love Oak Crest! I was a little worried about where the American school system was headed until I visited this school. At Oak Crest, students don't just learn in order to pass a test, they learn so they truly understand. The school is oriented toward application in life, not just theoretical studies. I think it is the best private school out there!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 1, 2011

My son attended Oak Crest from Kindergarten to Form 2, which is loosely translated to 4th grade. I was a teacher there for 5 years. We left the school because my son was not happy there and failing. He is a smart kid, who didn't learn the way he was expected to and suffered much invalidation because of it. Open disgust at his inabIlity to learn was what he got a steady diet of. Being a Scientologist at the time myself, I bought into to the idea that this school was the best. And yes, Scientology is used on these students, whether members of the Church or not. The study technology of Scientology is awesome, but the use of it here, along with the handling of "problem" students makes it a nightmare for any child who isn't already an exceptional student. My son is now in a wonderful public school, getting the help he needs to learn what he couldn't get at Oak Crest. And getting it with kindness and lots and lots of validation. He is slowly healing from the harm that was done.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 25, 2011

My son has been at this school for only a few months in the Early beginners class, but is progressing at a remarkable rate. I am also impresses with their patience with his behavior as he adjusts, and their genuine care for each child. I am so glad I put him in this school, and amazed to see how he applies what he learns at school to reading and other activities at home. It lets me know he really understands what he is learning.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 14, 2011

Excellent school!!! My son started this current school year only, and I found it interesting to learn that everyday he learn so much with their activities and field trips. Thank you for keeping that high standards!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 1, 2011

It takes me thirty minutes to drive my child to school and it is well worth it. The small student to teacher ratio is what first attracted me to Oakcrest, but the hands-on academics, 100% sucess rate and the caring educators are what keep me there. My child is learning and understanding above her current grade level. She loves school and is not just a number. She gets one-on-one attention everyday and is thriving in her environment. Thanks Oakcrest for providing a school where children are excited to learn and are provided the opportunity to experience the world around them hands-on.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 31, 2011

My Kiddo has been a student at Oakcrest for 2 years now and she is well above her peers academically who are in the Carrollton public school system of the same age. She loves the school and the teachers and actually comes home with nothing but happy tales of her day at school. Prior to Oakcrest, everyday she came home with horror stories of what her day had been like and had many tear filled days. We are very happy with Oakcrest and would recomend this school to anyone with an elementary age student.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 22, 2010

At this school I found a small student to teacher ratio, which gives more attention to students. There is a strong sense of community. They emphasis strongly on ethical behavior, as well as, academics. The teachers always have time to answer parent's questions. In teaching the students academics they make sure that new concepts are understood fully and thoroughly. My son has been attending Oak Crest since he was 4. He is now 6 and is reading better than any 6 year old I know. He is also mastering mathematical concepts that most of his older cousins are struggling with in public school. I look forward to watching my son grow in a school that actually cares about his future . Thank you Oak Crest Private School.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 21, 2009

I am a new parent to Oak Crest Private School. My 7 yr. old daugther has been attending for only 2-months and she is a completely different kid. Not only is she loving reading and math now, she is even willinging helping out at home and her behavior has completely turned around. She is more respectful, more polite etc... This is truly the best decsion we could have ever made. Parents-Do whatever it takes to get your child to Oak Crest, so they don't become another child that 'falls through the cracks' in public school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 18, 2008

I am a parent of 6 yr old, who has been attending the school for 1 year. I am happy with teacher/student ratio and the care that each of the teachers have provided for my child. I believe this could be one of the best decisions I have made.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 14, 2007

I graduated from Oak Crest when I was 13 and I am now going to Delphi, a boarding school in Oregon. Oak Crest prepared me for Delphi better than any other school could have. At my previous schools I was pushed along past things that I didn't understand, making my education harder and harder for me. At Oak Crest I was not allowed to go past something that I didn't understand, and learning became fun. The fundamental education I recieved has proven to be invaluable to my education and life so far.


Posted June 12, 2007

As a mother of 3 students at this school I couldn't be happier with my children's progress. They are all enthusiastic about their studies and routinely thank me for selecting this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 12, 2007

My two boys have attended Oak Crest for 4 and 3 years. They both love going to school and are doing well in their classes. My favorite part is that they learn everything 100% before going on and learning something that is more difficult.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 65% 31%
Asian or Pacific Islander 15% 4%
Hispanic 15% 51%
Black 6% 13%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 2%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Nonsectarian
Fax number
  • (214) 483-5403

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1200 East Jackson Road
Carrollton, TX 75006
Website: Click here
Phone: (214) 483-5400

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Merit Academy
Carrollton, TX


The St. Anthony School
Carrollton, TX


Good Elementary School
Carrollton, TX





ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT