Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
15 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 23 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Rainwater Elementary School 5

Posted May 25, 2016
- a parent
The staff from the principal down to the custodian is amazing. Always friendly, truly care about each and every child. We love Rainwater!

Rainwater Elementary School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted May 25, 2016
- a parent
Ms. Marceau is a wonderful teacher. She made learning fun, and is so patient with her kids. My son adored her and we are so glad we had her a as our sons kinder teacher


Rainwater Elementary School 5

Posted April 17, 2015
- a parent
Rainwater provided a wonderful education for my child. She was loved, valued and she thrived. The Fine Arts programs are amazing.

Rainwater Elementary School 5

Posted November 15, 2012
- a parent
great school my two kids are going to this school and I am very happy with all their staff

Rainwater Elementary School 3

Posted September 30, 2012
- a teacher
It saddens me to read the recent posts for Rainwater. Parents, my suggestion is that you try to find out what is really happening in the classroom. CFB has overburdened the teachers with massive amounts of testing, paperwork, unproductive training, and an ineffective curriculum. All of which stresses the teachers out and takes time away from the planning they need to ensure your children are being served. I love the relationships I have with my parents and students. I am sorry to hear that that has not been the case for some of you. I know we certainly try to do our best. We want to teach, we want your children to thrive, we want them to feel loved but the constraints put upon us today challenge our desire. My most heartfelt wish is for things to change. You are the voters, you have the strength. Teachers are afraid to speak out in these scary economic times but if they could, they would tell you they would do things differently at school. We are so overwhelmed by our district's "solutions" that many of us have expressed a desire to leave the industry. We need changes by people who know what is happening in the classroom, not by people in an office far removed.


Rainwater Elementary School 2

Posted January 19, 2012
- a parent
I've heard some negative opinions about the staff at Rainwater, and I've read some unfavorable reviews prior to enrolling my child. I was really hoping that the opinions and reviews were just isolated situations, and I did my best to establish open communication with my child's teacher. I am saddened to say that the reviews were right. The office staff is wonderful, but that's where it stops. Supervision provided by the afterschool coaches (high school students) are mediocre at best. Although they pride themselves in being a "Bully-Free School", the children face bullying and harassment from a handful of their classmates. Now I understand why homeschooling is becoming more and more common.

Rainwater Elementary School 1

Posted January 07, 2012
- a parent
I agree with some of the previous posts. The school is not what it used to be. Leadership and parent communication seem to be lacking . The school dropped to a Recognized rating this year. There are many people in the community who are wondering what is going on with this school.

Rainwater Elementary School 5

Posted December 31, 2011
- a parent
My son has attended this school for three years. We have loved all of his teachers and find this to be an excellent school.


Rainwater Elementary School 1

Posted November 21, 2011
- a community member
Terrible teaching staff, low principal support (of parent's concerns) and poor academic concepts. Stay away!

Rainwater Elementary School 1

Posted September 08, 2011
- a parent
This school and staff has re-invented the wheel. The school seems to focus more on advancing careers than teaching/managing various types of children and attending to each child's appropriate educational needs. One of my children was named "unteachable" from one teacher and the staff does just enough to avoid a lawsuit. If you are looking for a nuturing yet challenging school curriculum, you will NOT find it here. Overcrowded classrooms and teachers who are unhappy and non-flexible will be found at this school. Avoid it at all costs. My son cried in my arms believing he was STUPID when attending this school. Now all of my children (attending a NEW school) are flourishing, confident leaders and the new school compliments how sweet and smart my children are. They look FORWARD to seeing my children and myself each day. They also appreciate involved parents and truly collaborate to close the gap between potential vs. achievement within my children and ALL children. After leaving Rainwater, we ALL could NOT be happier and I know many parents who had felt the same way I do.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Rainwater Elementary School
1408 East Frankford Road, Carrollton, TX  75007
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 23 reviews. (972) 968-2800
Last modified Rainwater Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 7 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top