Report this review as inappropriate

« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
Public district
Carrollton, TX
Students enrolled: 953

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

Blalack Middle School 5

Posted March 04, 2015
- a community member
In the 2012-2013, Blalack got a new principal and it was a much needed change. In his first year, the new principal cleaned house. He got rid of negative, ineffective teachers, and replaced them with high-quality student-centered teachers. The change in the culture has been dramatic and the students have definitely benefit from the new positive behavior system! Blalack once again is organized, fun, and producing high achievement for all students. Blalack is a great community for students and families to get involved.

Blalack Middle School 1

Posted June 08, 2013
- a parent
This school has horrible teachers teaching 8th grade. I have had extensive issues that have gone all the way to the state level with two of the teachers. I am extremely disappointed that my child had to attend this school. My child has not been well prepared to enter high school. The new administration is trying, but the staff exhibits no respect for the administration, so they have been largely ineffective. Very sad that the teachers in 8th grade have lost sight of the importance of providing a quality education to our youth.

Blalack Middle School 4

Posted June 04, 2013
- a parent
This school has improved dramatically where the administration is concerned. The principal and both assistant principals were replaced in 2012 and it was definitely for the better. They are all a real presence in the hallways now and the assistant principal is a terrific guy who emphasizes that kids take charge of their own problems and try to fix them with the school's help. The student body at this school has changed very rapidly in recent years and it has not been for the better. Blalack is not what it used to be as a safe middle ground before high school. there are certain classes you would not want your child in but in a world of diversity, your child will surely get some experience at this school! The counselors at the school are really hands on and have an open door policy. they do much more than just schedule your child's classes. My son needed some emotional help at the beginning of his first year and the Counselor was wonderful with him. Academically, the entire district has taken a step backward with the emphasis on language arts instead of math and science so unless your child is in pre-AP classes the education is not really where it should be.

Blalack Middle School 5

Posted July 27, 2011
- a community member
I love this school! It has GREAT teachers!! I recommend this school! I go there and even though there are rumors about it it is an amazing school!

Blalack Middle School 2

Posted April 21, 2011
- a parent
The councilors are terrible and they did not help my daughter, all they can do is say sign a sheet , and when i ask for a meeting they did not give me one, I'll say that some teachers are very nice but the principle needs to learn to take matter into his own hands not to just sit around, they do not listen to the students feelings and they make their own lives worse, In my opinion i think they should not try to HELP the students and get into their lives, NO THAT IS NOT THEIR BUSINESS,They are teachers and they need to leave the students ALONE!

Blalack Middle School 5

Posted June 25, 2010
- a community member
Blalack Middle School is a fabulous school. Not just within the district, but within the entire North Central Texas region and beyond. The academic quality is first rate, and the athletic program is strong. But what truly sets Blalack apart is they have for their entire history maintained and grown one of the finest Music and Arts Programs around. In this day and age of cutbacks and program canellations, the district, faculty, PTSA, and parents have year after year recognized the role music and arts play in developing the entire person and have made it a priority. My one daughter will be a junior in high school this Fall and benefitted from Blalacks many choirs. My youngest will be an 8th grader next Fall and has been in the choir and the band. This is one of the best public schools I have encountered in many years.

Blalack Middle School 1

Posted January 29, 2010
- a student
Some of their teachers are great but their disciplinary actions are not fair

Blalack Middle School
no rating

Posted April 07, 2009
- a student
i really love this school alot and i want to stay here forever since all the teachers and other staff are very nice, generous, responsible, and AWESOME!!!

Blalack Middle School 5

Posted March 07, 2009
- a parent
this is a great school mhy children come here and everytime they come home from school they tell me something new they learned in school and thier test grades a awesom i am very happy with this school

Blalack Middle School 3

Posted January 05, 2009
- a parent
Administration is too concern about performance on standardized exams. Administrators not held accountable for their actions.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families. 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Blalack Middle School
1706 East Peters Colony Road, Carrollton, TX  75007
(972) 968-3520
Last modified Blalack Middle School is a Public school that serves grades 6-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Blalack Middle School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 22 reviews. Top