Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
9-12
Public
Carthage, TX
Students enrolled: 720

3 stars
Based on 20 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


21 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Carthage High School 1

Posted May 21, 2013
- a community member
Honestly this school has a high concentration of drugheads, a lot of the girls are screwing around with the whole school, and there is definitely a gang problem and a bully problem they won't address. Just some info you should know from someone who graduated a year ago and will never let my future kids go to this school system

Carthage High School 4

Posted July 01, 2009
- a teacher
Carthage High school is on the right track. They have some great teachers working very hard for the students in the community.


Carthage High School 0
no rating

Posted December 19, 2008
- a parent
I certainly hope the new leadership makes significant progress. If not, CHS will go from being on the brink of terrible to downright disaster. Kids do not get what they need for college as is evidenced by the high percentage of college bound seniors who return after 1-2 semesters because they couldn't handle real academics or got in trouble because they don't understand discipline. We got smart and moved our kids. I hope for the ones we left behind it gets better. We have high schoolers who need an education now..not later

Carthage High School 4

Posted September 30, 2008
- a teacher
CHS and the other schools can only benefit from the current leadership and guidance. There is a positive attitude coming from the faculty and staff, and a renewed confidence in the future and our youth.

Carthage High School 1

Posted March 11, 2008
- a parent
CHS has been a very disapointing experience. Where do I begin? Is it the lack of discipline? The apathetic, burned out faculty? The administration? The overemphasis on sports? The racial problems? There are so many problems facing this school it is difficult to decide where to begin. It is my opinion that this school is beyond help. It would take a miracle to get CHS back on it's feet.


Carthage High School 1

Posted December 09, 2007
- a student
The teachers barely teach in most cases, however there are some that are just extrodinary. They put to much emphasis on sports. Everywhere you look it's 'football this' or 'basketball that' and so on and so forth. Band is pretty much next in line... What about the other clubs and organizations? For example: the drama department gets almost no recognition.. I'm sure there are others... But I don't know... You never hear about them...

Carthage High School 1

Posted October 04, 2007
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Carthage High School 3

Posted July 10, 2007
- a teacher
This review submitted without content.


Carthage High School 1

Posted November 25, 2006
- a teacher
It is my opinion that the problems this district is facing revolve around the districts hiring practices. It's time to clean house.

Carthage High School 1

Posted October 18, 2006
- a parent
CHS is best described as mediocre. Chaos reins at this school. It's sad to say it, but many of the teachers just flat out don't care whether or not the kids are learning. The curriculum is lacking in substance. All of the focus is on the schools football team.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Carthage High School
#1 Bulldog Dr, Carthage, TX  75633
(903) 693-2552
Last modified Carthage High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 6 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Carthage High School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 21 reviews. Top