Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

3 stars
Based on 14 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


16 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


High Pointe Elementary School 4

Posted July 17, 2014
- a parent
My children attended High Pointe the past 2 years and have done extremely well. With few exceptions, the teachers are excellent, and the administrators are outstanding. We believe that everyone at the school cared about our children and their success.

High Pointe Elementary School 5

Posted June 03, 2014
- a parent
My daughter has just completed two years at High Pointe, and wll enter the 2nd grade this fall. I love this school an feel the curriculum is a step above a lot of the other school districts. You definitely will not have 100% participation from all parents, but the parents showed up at the programs I attended. I can't make all o the programs because of my work schedule and the traffic I endure each day. I love the school and Mr. Johnson, the Assistant Principal has been a guest speaker at youth events at my church several times. No schooll is perfect


High Pointe Elementary School 4

Posted March 03, 2014
- a parent
High Pointe is a very good school. During my time there with my students, I learned just how much effort is shown by the principal and faculty to make it a good environment. The students are being taught by leaders in the field. My children still talk about the great teachers they had!

High Pointe Elementary School 2

Posted June 11, 2012
- a parent
This year was my son's first and only year to be in this school as we were highly dissatisfied with the overall quality of his education. The district in general only cares about one thing: test scores. Students are given test after test after test in high pressure situations... common assessments, formative assessments, sumative assessments, mock STAAR tests, and on and on. Classes had so many students in each that it was hard for teachers to be able to give individualized attention to students. Teachers seemed frazzled with the overload of work given to them. The PTA did try hard and I saw them plan many activities for students.

High Pointe Elementary School 4

Posted July 14, 2011
- a parent
Great school despite the changes that the state of Texas has caused in all public schools. This will be my son's last year at this campus, and I will definitely miss it!


High Pointe Elementary School 4

Posted June 20, 2010
- a parent
My child just finished his first year at HP. He was a transfer from private school. He, nor the curriculum never missed a beat. Sure I miss the extravagant Christmas program at the private school, but other than Chapel and that, there was truly little difference. I do wish the parents would be more involved, and that the district would make more things mandatory, not optional. The teachers, staff, and principal love the kids, and that is most important. The opportunities are there for your child to be involved and excel, its up to you to make it happen!

High Pointe Elementary School 1

Posted August 12, 2009
- a parent
We were highly dissatisfied with the academics at this school. The focus seemed to be on helping the struggling students 'get by' with no concern for encouraging the growth and academic excellence of those students who could achieve higher than 'average'.

High Pointe Elementary School 5

Posted March 24, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.


High Pointe Elementary School 2

Posted January 20, 2009
- a parent
Student behavior is very poor and teachers do not all seem to have control of classes. Other reviewers were correct that there is a lack of parental involvement which maybe the biggest influence on the behavior issues. Overall the principal does a good job and is motivated.

High Pointe Elementary School 5

Posted October 07, 2008
- a parent
My child has attended this school since 1st grade and is now a 3rd grader. I have been very pleased with my childs teachers she has had. I love that she is being challenged and encouraged to excell. The administration is wonderful. I was told that I should look for another school for my child and not send her there by a friend. I am so glad and blessed that the education she is receiving at HP has been tops that our experience was not what my friend told me it would be. Kudos to the students and staff at HP!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

High Pointe Elementary School
1351 High Pointe Lane, Cedar Hill, TX  75104
(972) 291-7874
Last modified High Pointe Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-4. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 3 out of 10 based on academic quality.
High Pointe Elementary School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 16 reviews. Top