Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Lakeridge Elementary School

Public | PK-4 | 345 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Cedar Hill

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $112,400. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,130.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

11 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 24, 2014

I am both a parent and a teacher in the district. My son has a learning disability and did well at LakeRidge. I was happy that he was held to a high standard behaviorally. Mrs. Syverson was an exceptional partner in helping my child adjust and succeed in Advanced Academics. I will be sending my second child to LakeRidge this fall with no hesitation. I agree that District-wide, the disciple measures and procedures need to be standardized so that kids and parents understand what the expectations and consequences are for unacceptable behaviors. Parental communications need improvement, and parents need to be given greater notification of the resources and ways they can become involved. As a teacher, we NEED moms and dads on campus and ideas on how to strengthen the ties between us. We love these kids and pour almost all of our professional and personal time and money into them. We beg administration for more time to work with them and more resources to meet their diverse needs. LakeRidge is full of peokple who do the same!


Posted January 12, 2013

This is a great school I went there for my whole elementary life and feel that now that I am entering 7th grade next year that the school environment made me the A student I am. Go LRE Tornadoes!


Posted April 20, 2012

stay away from CHISD, not a good school district for your kids. parent involvement is great but teachers forget why they became teachers in the first place. put our children first. stop complaining about your paperwork.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 28, 2011

I have been with the Lakeridge E. for at least 3 years. I would like to disagree with the comment against Mrs Syverson. Two of my children also in advanced academics have gone through her class. I think she is a wonderful teacher. She encouraged my children to be the best and they are still excelling after moving on from her class. She is friendly, very personable and communicates well with parents. That was my experience with her twice with 2 different kids.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 27, 2011

My experiences with this school is way far from satisfactory: my special need children have experience a great deal of problems as well as harsh discipline, which I found unprofessional and a great deal of concerns for our children. I think parents who have experience any uncomfort with the staff ways of disciplining their behavior problem children, should highly report their complaints. Most complaints from this school would probably be from how the school deals with children who have emotional and behavior problems: Otherwise, the school would be great for children of normal behavior. The whole district has a zero behavior policy, which discriminates against those students diagnosed with behavior disabilities. This school seemly needs deep investigation of how it's trained to deal and handle students with behavior problem disabilities. If you or your child never experience these problems, it would be judgmental to dictate to parents like myself as not knowing what we are talking about. If a pole was sent to every parent who have children with these problems, you will be surprise at the district's ratings.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 23, 2010

We spent 2009-2010 at this school. We came from a private school and was apalled with the unprofessionalism of one of my childs teacher Mrs. Syverson. I partnered with several other parents who had the same issue. We were suppose to be in Advanced Academics but the class didn't seem to be challenging at all yet often confusing. Since we were only here one year I'm not for sure of the other teachers. Everything else seemed to run ok. Wasn't crazy about the afterschool onsite program. Unfortunately several of the students who attend this school are bused in from other neighborhoods. Therefore your getting some kids with a lot of behavioral problems. I'm glad to say we've moved on to a much better charter school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 13, 2010

We had a very disapointing time at Lakeridge E. and I'm so thankful to be out of Cedar Hill ISD. The teacher quality was poor and uninspiring, and communication with parents was lacking. The parent involvement was the only posivite at Lakeridge. Unfortunately, a rating of "Academically Acceptable" with a 4 is what the school deserves.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 22, 2009

Lake Ridge is an excellent school. Our daughter has been there for 3 years and she is excelling. The GT program is wonderful. So are the faculty and staff.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 17, 2008

No middle class? This is a public school, if your are in the district you can attend this school. So that should not be an issue concerning how well you like a school. This is a wonderful school, great teachers and administrition.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 26, 2008

I have had two daughters to attend Lakeridge. There are great teachers there that really care about the children's education. The parents are so involved and the children are so into learning and developing as model students for the years to come.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 10, 2006

Great teachers,students & parents. Unfortunately,there are no so-called middle class family in this school, either from 400K homes or family in need of fedaral support.Should have children from versatile background and neigborhood.Not well balanced. Over all great school. Recommend.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 89% in 2011.

58 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
90%
Math

The state average for Math was 87% in 2011.

58 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
79%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 85% in 2011.

62 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
81%

2010

 
 
89%
Math

The state average for Math was 88% in 2011.

62 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
77%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 90% in 2011.

62 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
90%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students91%
Female100%
Male86%
Black or African American89%
Asiann/a
Hispanic91%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White100%
Economically disadvantaged87%
Not economically disadvantaged96%
Special educationn/a
Not special education91%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English91%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant91%
Gifted/talentedn/a

Math

All Students93%
Female100%
Male89%
Black or African American94%
Asiann/a
Hispanic91%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White89%
Economically disadvantaged87%
Not economically disadvantaged100%
Special educationn/a
Not special education95%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English93%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant93%
Gifted/talentedn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students81%
Female77%
Male84%
Black or African American79%
Asiann/a
Hispanic80%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White90%
Economically disadvantaged75%
Not economically disadvantaged87%
Special education20%
Not special education86%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English82%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant81%
Gifted/talentedn/a

Math

All Students85%
Female83%
Male88%
Black or African American79%
Asiann/a
Hispanic100%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White100%
Economically disadvantaged81%
Not economically disadvantaged90%
Special education40%
Not special education89%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English85%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant85%
Gifted/talentedn/a

Writing

All Students89%
Female87%
Male90%
Black or African American85%
Asiann/a
Hispanic90%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White100%
Economically disadvantaged84%
Not economically disadvantaged93%
Special education20%
Not special education95%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English90%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant89%
Gifted/talentedn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 79% in 2013.

59 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
70%
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

59 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
58%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 72% in 2013.

67 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
89%
Math

The state average for Math was 68% in 2013.

67 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
77%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 71% in 2013.

67 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
89%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students81%
Female73%
Male86%
Black or African American81%
Asiann/a
Hispanic85%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White82%
Economically disadvantaged76%
Not economically disadvantaged88%
Special educationn/a
Not special education82%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English81%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant81%
Gifted/talentedn/a
Non-Gifted80%
Bilingualn/a

Math

All Students69%
Female73%
Male68%
Black or African American68%
Asiann/a
Hispanic77%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White64%
Economically disadvantaged61%
Not economically disadvantaged81%
Special educationn/a
Not special education72%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English71%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant69%
Gifted/talentedn/a
Non-Gifted68%
Bilingualn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students70%
Female69%
Male71%
Black or African American65%
Asiann/a
Hispanic80%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged64%
Not economically disadvantaged85%
Special education38%
Not special education75%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English71%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant70%
Gifted/talentedn/a
Non-Gifted70%
Bilingualn/a

Math

All Students73%
Female66%
Male80%
Black or African American71%
Asiann/a
Hispanic80%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged68%
Not economically disadvantaged85%
Special education50%
Not special education76%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English74%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant73%
Gifted/talentedn/a
Non-Gifted73%
Bilingualn/a

Writing

All Students72%
Female72%
Male71%
Black or African American73%
Asiann/a
Hispanic70%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged66%
Not economically disadvantaged85%
Special education25%
Not special education78%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English72%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant72%
Gifted/talentedn/a
Non-Gifted71%
Bilingualn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

  • In 2010-2011, this school was rated "Recognized".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was rated "Academically Acceptable".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was rated "Exemplary".

About the tests


Texas uses Accountability Ratings to indicate the overall performance of each school and district. The ratings are based on TAKS test results, dropout rates for grades 7 and 8 and school completion rates for grades 9 through 12. Schools and districts rated under standard accountability procedures are designated as Exemplary, Recognized, Academically Acceptable or Academically Unacceptable. Schools and districts rated under alternative education accountability (AEA) procedures are designated as either AEA: Academically Acceptable or AEA: Academically Unacceptable.

Source: Texas Education Agency

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 56% 13%
Hispanic 21% 52%
White 13% 29%
Two or more races 5% 2%
Asian or Pacific Islander 4% 4%
American Indian/Alaska Native N/A 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander N/A 0%
Source: TX Education Agency, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient (LEP) 3%N/A17%
Source: TX Education Agency, 2013-2014

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
Beginning teachers 0%N/AN/A
Source: Civil Rights Data Collection, 2011-2012

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • WINNIFRED GOODMAN
Fax number
  • (972) 291-5210

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1020 Lake Ridge Parkway
Cedar Hill, TX 75104
Website: Click here
Phone: (972) 293-4501

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Brain Train Academy
Cedar Hill, TX



Bray Elementary School
Cedar Hill, TX


Village Tech Schools
Cedar Hill, TX


Ashleys Private School
Cedar Hill, TX



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT