Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
9-12
Public district
Coldspring, TX
Students enrolled: 481
 

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Coldspring-Oakhurst High School 1

Posted August 12, 2014
- a teacher
Like so many of my fellow teachers, I quit rather than endure another year under an administration that doesn't hold students accountable for clear violations of their on written student code of conduct--classroom disruptions, sexual misconduct, boys walking around school with boxers fully exposed and pants down to knees. An administration that blames the teacher for everything and provides no support to our teachers. The principal is a joke--parrots the phrase "on our way to world class" while presiding over horrible state assessment scores. COHS isn't even ranked in the BOTTOM 25th percentile of all Texas schools. It's that bad! This principal is and self-absorbed, far more focused on using COHS as a springboard to get his next job. Turnover at this school is a scandal: 6 principals and 3 superintendents in 7 years; teacher/staff turns over at an alarming rate. No continuity for students, poor pay for teachers, terrible classroom furniture--looks like a 3rd world country. NO parent should send their child to COHS if they care about educating that child.

Coldspring-Oakhurst High School 1

Posted July 31, 2013
- a community member
The number one problem with this school is: no matter how many times a student demonstrates bad behavior, they are never disciplined according to the very discipline plan this school (district) has written and claims to uphold. In short, the school is not only run by the students, it is run by the students with long histories of discipline problems. The principal and vice principal habitually take the student's or parent's side against the teachers - destroying teacher morale and causing a great amount of teacher turnover (some teachers even break their contracts to get away).


Coldspring-Oakhurst High School 4

Posted September 11, 2009
- a community member
This school has come a long way in the short time Dr. Chapman has been at this school. I have been at other schools in surrounding counties and there are some of the nicest, polite, respectful students if you show them a little respect. I am pleased it what I have seen on this campus. Great teacher - student interaction as well as the administration always in sight never sitting in an office all the time!

Coldspring-Oakhurst High School 4

Posted January 19, 2009
- a teacher
I am a teacher at the school. It is not my first year. I have been at worse schools. There was high turnover but this years group of teachers is wonderful. Teachers are always finding ways to improve their performance. There is no perfect cure for discipline and academics. Every class is different and what works for one does not work for the others. The community is great and the new principal is visible in the hallways.

Coldspring-Oakhurst High School 1

Posted January 05, 2009
- a teacher
This school is pathetic, anyone thinking about sending their children here are out of their minds. The school board has no clue what they are doing, and focuses to much on dress code than behavior or grades (frankly if the students came to school only in a towel but made a's that would be good enough).... Do not go here


Coldspring-Oakhurst High School 5

Posted April 15, 2008
- a student
the 07-08 school year is wayy better since mrs.bryant is not here anymore.it feels more like a school than a prison,also more student interaction and academic scores are up higher/

Coldspring-Oakhurst High School 4

Posted August 29, 2007
- a teacher
A massive change is under way here. There has been a complete change of office staff on all campuses and the TAKS scores are on their way up. The high school still was unacceptable, but the jr. high was acceptable, the intermediate school was recognized, and the elementary school was recognized. The high school has an entirely new administration as well as a new superintendent came on board last year. I am very impressed with what I'm seeing now. Things are definitely on the way up. My ratings here reflect the new administration also.

Coldspring-Oakhurst High School
no rating

Posted July 10, 2007
- a student
Where to start? The faculty at this school have a way pressing students that might negatively affect school test scores. I am a former student and I actually dropped out, preferring a GED to a diploma with name on it from Coldsring Oakhurst. Choose carefully!


Coldspring-Oakhurst High School 3

Posted August 01, 2006
- a parent
Coldspring has many difficulties. In my opinion Coldspring does not prepare the majority of students for college. Since TAKS scores are low, most of the teachers set their expectations low to cater to the students who are not passing the TAKS. they feel this is a necessity for the district, yet other students fall short of college preparation because of it. Art and Drama are not well supported, but Band, athletics, Ag and Dance are. Band (although small) and Ag are argueably the best organizations due in large part to the amount of parental participation. Regardless, the most emphasis is on sports and cheerleading. Low Parental involvement district-wide. In defense of Coldspring, the teachers and administration have the best intentions, however, due to high turnover (low pay and lack of teacher experience) principals are limited in teacher selection. With such a high turn over consistancy is lacking. Select your child's teachers carefully.

Coldspring-Oakhurst High School 2

Posted February 27, 2006
- a student
Coldspring highschool is a very aggravating school. Only a few teachers know what they're doing. Most of the money goes to the sports teams and the band and especially the art classes go wanting. Many parents are involved in the school but this makes for trouble because only their kids advance.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Coldspring-Oakhurst High School
P O Box 39, Coldspring, TX  77331
(936) 653-1140
Last modified Coldspring-Oakhurst High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 2 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Coldspring-Oakhurst High School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 19 reviews. Top