Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

4 stars
Based on 12 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


13 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Colleyville Elementary School 5

Posted November 04, 2013
- a parent
I have three children in CES, we have been in this school for 4 years and we love our school. To address the low marks below: My oldest was prone to throat infections, missed 15 days in one year, and we turned in doctors excuses. We received a warning letter from the STATE OF TEXAS. I took it to school & was told that she was maintaining schoolwork, so it was not a problem. My youngest was adopted from Guatemala, and started speech at CES when 3 yrs old. We loved working with Mrs. Sweat. By the end of kindergarten he had overcame all of his issues and completed his speech program. She also worked with my daughter on normal speech issues. There are age appropriate speech development standards (th, r, etc and when children should master them), and when my daughter reached 2nd grade they added speech for the year, and mastered her issue before school was out. A very active PTA buys library books, iPads, etc and sponsor teacher education and student activities. The school uses the Rachel's Challenge bullying program and the kids REALLY love it, and are bully conscientious. No school or it's students and teachers will every be perfect, but this really is a great school.

Colleyville Elementary School 5

Posted April 17, 2013
- a parent
We have just relocated to the area from New York and our major concern was finding the right elementary school for our daughters. We feel so lucky to have chosen CES. We have 2 children, 10 and 7 years old. Our 10 year old has special needs. Therefore, it was very important to find the right place for all of her needs. Everyone at CES has gone out of their way to make us feel at home and of course provide the most excellent services, therapy and education for both daughters. They love it and the transition mid-year has been one of the best experiences. The principal and vice principal are the most dedicated administrators I have ever encountered. They truly care and involved in every aspect of the school. The teachers are exceptional, especially the Special Needs Staff. We absolutely love it and look forward to many years of education at CES.


Colleyville Elementary School 5

Posted August 12, 2012
- a parent
I have 2 children at CES. I've had pretty good experiences at this school. The teachers are fantastic (Mrs. Maddox, Mrs. Grant) and the leadership at the school (Mrs. Richland the principal, Mrs. Farager the v-principal) are truly fantastic. I was there one day when there was a tornado headed our way and their level heads, calm demeanor and preparedness made me feel like my kids were in good hands. The teachers care and if anything, they're held back by some of the lack of funds and Texas state rules around public education. To the parents complaining about getting in trouble for their kids being tardy - get them there on time. When you're late - you're a distraction to to others. My kids missed more than 3 days last year due to sickness and we didn't get in trouble for that. You just have to provide a doctors note. GREAT school. GREAT teachers. Execellent community. Very happy with CES.

Colleyville Elementary School 1

Posted February 24, 2012
- a parent
I totally agree with needing help with speech therapy. We were told the Same to us about our son. The absence policy is a joke. Kids come to school sick and make others sick because parents are afraid they'll get a notice and have to send kids to Saturday school, formissing 3 days for the year. That policy is from gcisd !!The curriculum is poor, discipline is awful. Went to private and son is thriving in all areas.

Colleyville Elementary School 1

Posted February 13, 2012
- a parent
My younger son has speech difficulties. When I requested speech therapy services, my son and I were treated with both horrifiying intimidation tactics and infuriating disrespect. Inappropriate "eligibility labels" were forced upon us and my input in the ARD/IEP process was ignored. I have my child in private school where he isnow thriving. BTW, my older child is enrolled in CES and we were sent to truancy court last school year for having 3 absences and 7 tardies. I consider that harrassment. Shame on CES.


Colleyville Elementary School 5

Posted September 16, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Colleyville Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted September 15, 2009
- a parent
The teachers are wonderful!

Colleyville Elementary School 5

Posted July 05, 2008
- a parent
This review submitted without content.


Colleyville Elementary School 5

Posted March 07, 2008
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Colleyville Elementary School 4

Posted February 07, 2007
- a parent
My daughters teacher is Mrs Maddox. She is absolutely wonderful. I could not have pick a better teacher for my child. I do wish that Colleyville elementary offered more activities after school for the children like sports or something like that. They don't offer anything for the kindergartners. I would love it if they had like a soccer team, softball team or something like that. Loretta Ross the principal is great. She's very approachable and easy to talk to. Loretta seems very concerned about the children and just does a fabulous job. I'm so glad my child goes to Colleyville elementary.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Colleyville Elementary School
5911 Pleasant Run Road, Colleyville, TX  76034
(817) 305-4940
Last modified Colleyville Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Colleyville Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 13 reviews.