Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
PK-5
Public
Colleyville, TX
Students enrolled: 473
Before care: Yes
After care: Yes

4 stars
Based on 20 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


21 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Glenhope Elementary School 5

Posted August 17, 2014
- a parent
Our experience has been excellent . We find the teachers committed and capable of adapting to the varying needs of the students, while maintaining academic rigor. Strong involvement on the part of the local parents, good PTA and many opportunities for kids to pursue accelerated learning if you ask.

Glenhope Elementary School 5

Posted October 23, 2013
- a parent
This school is amazing! Motivated staff, very high level of education, interest for the kids, extra-curriculum opportunities, everything shows that this is just a very good school. By the way, I am appaled by the three previous negative comments, which seem to be all coming from the same frustrated person who apparently had a kid dumped from the GT program or something. The program, now called Aspire, seems very well developed, with kids coming from schools from all around the area!


Glenhope Elementary School 1

Posted June 05, 2012
- a parent
As a past reviewer stated, Glenhope has many well-hidden issues. The quality of teachers and teaching is varied and inconsistent - it seems some kids get lucky while others have to suffer through, with only lip service from the administration as a response to parental concerns. The PTA resembles a sorority, full of cliques and gossip about kids. The academic needs of the gifted/advanced learners are generally ignored; the kids falling behind, however, get plenty of tutoring opportunities and extra help. Although Glenhope is a Title I campus, with a relatively large Title I population, there is an obvious social gap between the Title I kids and the neighborhood kids, including the parents. The administration either chooses to ignore the many problems in the classrooms, or lacks the strong leadership skills necessary to correct them. Many good and educated families are leaving or have already left because of academic and social concerns. Glenhope has so many resources that could make it a great school, but unfortunately, if the main office does not immediately and effectively address the many internal problems, many more families will leave.

Glenhope Elementary School 2

Posted May 31, 2012
- a parent
Glenhope is beautifully located, safe and has some great campus resources, but unfortunately those are its only positives. Research beyond the test scores before deciding to attend, and talk to the many well-educated families that have left so far. There are some wonderful teachers at Glenhope, including the P.E., Spanish, and Art teachers, but there are also some that are very disappointing, including the administration. The school appears to be high-achieving, and when comparing the past TAKS scores, it is. But beyond the standardized test material, there is little support and enthusiasm for true learning. Kids that are on the advanced/gifted spectrum tend to be negatively labeled, their eagerness restrained and their academic needs ignored. The gifted population of this school is low relative to other campuses, so investigate before sending a gifted learner here - he/she may spend a lot of time with their head "down on the desk." The curriculum lacks rigour and substance, and the families that have expressed concern have been given lip service. The ipads in the classrooms can not change the serious defects of this school; a leader with some gravitas would.

Glenhope Elementary School 1

Posted May 27, 2012
- a parent
This school practically destroyed my son's self-esteem. You couldn't pay our family enough money to ever return to this school. Students from very good homes and educated parents are leaving this school right and left. Some of the teachers at this school have very serious personal issues that they bring to their classrooms. This school needs to learn how to let go of unsatisfactory teachers. Really check this school out before attending. They have a lot of very well-hidden issues. Glenhope reminds me of a cupcake made with too much salt. They may look appetizing on the outside, but when you get to the real core of this school's functioning unit it is not at all appealing or appetizing.


Glenhope Elementary School 5

Posted February 14, 2012
- a parent
We have been completely blown away by this school! We have a 4th grader who is participating in PAT at Glenhope and just relocated back to the area during the winter break and were concerned he was not going to get to attend his old school (Heritage). And we have to tell you, it has been absolutely AMAZING!! The teachers, as well as other staff greeted him by his first name the second day of school. We were really impressed with the diversity of the school and how it is encouraged and embraced. The teachers immediately took an interest in him; he has made great friends and absolutely LOVES it there. He came home the first 3 weeks of school talking about how much he loved it and how he was getting up to go to school with "passion." Mrs. Graham, Mrs. Waters, Ms. Hayes, Mrs. Medi, Mrs. Derrick, and Coaches Allan and Coffee are great. This school was also rated #10 best school out of over 740 schools in 24 districts and the best elementary school in our immediate area. We could go on and on, but to sum it up-it is and amazing school, with great teachers and great staff and has far surpassed and continues to surpass our expectations every day. A 10 out of 10. 5 out of 5 stars.

Glenhope Elementary School 5

Posted December 30, 2011
- a parent
Both of my children transfer from OC Taylor. The teachers and the principal at Glenhope are fabulous. The staff really tries to meet each child at the level they are at and lift them as high as they can go. The special teachers in music, PE, and Spanish are wonderful too. The only thing I did not like was the PAT program, (Gifted and Talented Program.) That class was a waste of time.

Glenhope Elementary School 5

Posted November 27, 2010
- a community member
I attended Glenhope from Fall 1996 to Spring 1999. It was brand new back then, and I still love the location of it being tucked up on a high surrounded by houses. This is a great public school. I couldn't get into the Gifted and Talented program, but it all worked out when I got to CTMS and GHS where I could shine. I learned sight-reading, so hopefully they have gotten rid of that experiment. This school has great teachers and an amazing community focused on education.


Glenhope Elementary School 5

Posted July 22, 2010
- a parent
Laura Fillmore in the pre-k special ed program is the best teacher. This campus houses the districts only full day pre-k program.

Glenhope Elementary School 5

Posted November 11, 2009
- a parent
My son has attended Glenhope for a year now and we couldn't be more satisfied. We transferred from a local private school and believe EVERYTHING at Glenhope is better. We are pleased with the academic standards and have found all the teachers and administration to be top notch. We highly recommend this school!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Glenhope Elementary School
6600 Glenhope Circle North, Colleyville, TX  76034
(817) 251-5720
Last modified Glenhope Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Glenhope Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 21 reviews. Top