Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
PK-8
Private
Colleyville, TX
Students enrolled: 200
Before care: Yes
After care: Yes

4 stars
Based on 15 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Barbara Gordon Montessori School 3

Posted May 27, 2014
- a parent
Worked for one our two kids, but had some difficulty transitioning to public elementary from the self guided Montessori program to the more structured elementary approach used in our public school. We felt the class sizes was little large given the price. Could benefit from more physical activity. Some kids seemed to thrive, some didn't with their approach.

Barbara Gordon Montessori School 5

Posted January 28, 2014
- a parent
We just love our school! My children have attended for over 4 years and I cannot imagine giving them a greater gift than BGMS. Our children are confident, happy and self motivated. The guides are kind, caring and personally invested in following the AMI standards that drew us to the school. It's easy to get feedback from guides via email. I feel lucky to be part of this community!


Barbara Gordon Montessori School 5

Posted January 22, 2014
- a parent
We have had a wonderful experience with this school! We have two children enrolled and have been happy with both our teachers and the other kids. Everyone is helpful and engaged when we have concerns and questions. The new administration has been smooth to come in and hasn't disrupted our experience with the classes at all. I hope to keep our kids here through middle school.

Barbara Gordon Montessori School 2

Posted September 01, 2012
- a parent
The elementary program has problems. Attrition is high in the elementary school. Class size is too large. The guides do not provide enough guidance and do not utilize Montessori methods such as the 3 period lesson. They do not provide guidance such as a work plan for students to organize and plan their work. Classrooms are noisy, chaotic, and have behavior problems. There is some bullying and meanness that goes on unchecked and happens over and over again without intervention or guidance. The tuition is higher than most. The class size is higher than most. The before and after school care is not drop in and is overpriced. The extra-curriculars are all over priced. No PE or sports. The students do not spend time actively playing during recess or time in the gardens. There is very little physical activity and there is no hot lunch program. The spanish program is ineffective. The spanish teacher comes to do some conversational spanish for those that want to join her in a corner of the room. Independence is supported, but with little guidance and some children have transferred into the school with behavior problems this combination leads to problems.

Barbara Gordon Montessori School 5

Posted April 30, 2012
- a parent
My son has attended BGMS since he was a toddler, and we continue to be very pleased with his progress, now in lower elementary. Staff is well qualified/certified and most guides have been there for the past five years or longer. I feel strongly that the staff and administration works hard to maintain and strengthen the curriculum and learning environment. For us, an overwhelmingly positive experience pretty much all around.


Barbara Gordon Montessori School 5

Posted October 28, 2011
- a parent
My kids have attended BGMS for the past 7 years, and we have been extremely happy with the school, the environment, the campus. The school promotes independence and curiosity in a warm, caring environment.

Barbara Gordon Montessori School 0
no rating

Posted May 08, 2010
- a parent
BGMS is an outstanding AMI Montessori school! We have 2 boys who have thrived in the Primary & Lower Elementary programs. The guides nuture each invididual child's social, emotional & academic potential. The beauty of the Montessori method allows each individual to grow, develop an internal love of learning and learn responsibility. The new adolescent program is exciting. The 7th graders have visited Anasasi Indian Pueblos in New Mexico, developed their own business model and even enjoy weekly yoga classes. I would highly recommend BGMS to anyone who wants so much more than just TAKS test & group think mentality for their child.

Barbara Gordon Montessori School 0
no rating

Posted December 08, 2008
- a parent
BGMS is a wonderful environment in which our son has thrived. His amazing ability to learn new concepts and achieve academics far beyond his years is due in large part to the nurturing environment and his amazing guides. The before and after school program is spactacular - the guide there is experienced and fair with the children. However, the only complaint I have is that it is difficult to communicate with the staff for families with two working parents. We do everything that we can to afford this school and it is challenging to feel like we are kept in the loop since neither of us are on campus except for drop off and pick up. This is a challenge for the administration. Despite this we love the positive effect BGMS has on our son and we appreciate the diversity of the student and guide population.


Barbara Gordon Montessori School 5

Posted October 01, 2008
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Barbara Gordon Montessori School 5

Posted May 25, 2008
- a parent
My son attends BGMS and we are very pleased with it. He did start school at another Montessori Academy when he was 18 months. He cried daily there. Since he has gone to BGMS everyday he says bye and is off so confident and happy. The guides are wonderful! I love the enviroment the school provides. This school is a little pricey but in comparrison not too much more and totally worth it!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Barbara Gordon Montessori School
1513 Hall - Johnson Road, Colleyville, TX  76034
(817) 354-6670
Last modified Barbara Gordon Montessori School is a Private school that serves grades PK-8
Barbara Gordon Montessori School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 17 reviews. Top