Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

PK-8|Private
150 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
38 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 40 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Crown of Life Lutheran School
Develops honesty: Strongly disagree

Posted June 03, 2016
- a community member
This school does not develop honesty, integrity, or fairness in it's students. If your child makes a mistake, all the parents are shaking their heads like you did something TERRIBLE. If you are different you WILL be bullied. COLLS is a not a Christian environment, and I wouldn't EVER recommend it.

Crown of Life Lutheran School 1

Posted June 03, 2016
- a community member
When I first visited this school, I LOVED it. I quickly realized I didn't fit in. I was bullied like there was no end - If you are considering this school, don't. If your child has a learning disability (LD) then this school isn't right for you. Teachers immediately have "favorites" and then that pretty much determines how your year will go. I have a learning disability, and choosing COLLS was the worst mistake i've ever made. If your child has a learning difference, I recommend The Novus Academy located in Grapevine. Novus is truly one of the best schools in Texas! Check them out!


Crown of Life Lutheran School 1

Posted May 15, 2015
- a community member
I was bullied because I was different. I had no friends. I told my teacher and they did not do one thing. I would never recommend this school after this experience.

Crown of Life Lutheran School 5

Posted May 02, 2015
- a parent
My son and daughter have attended this school for two years now, and we are very impressed. The one-on-one attention and love each child is shown is amazing. Teachers attend continuous training that focuses on new instruction techniques, incorporating technology, and teaching to student-strengths. One of the things I have been most impressed with is how students are held accountable and taught responsibility. Even in the lower grades, they are taught to be independently responsible for their learning, behavior, and materials. I also like how the school groups all students (k-8) into "houses" for camaraderie, mentoring, service projects, and fun. It gives the little students a chance to see hang out with the cool big kids, and it helps the big kids understand the importance of leadership and being a role model. And most importantly, it reinforces the underlying feeling that the school is a family. The facility is also very impressive -- full sized gym, athletic field, playground, library, cafeteria, computer lab. And over all this is the presence of Christ-centered learning, where students see and feel God's love every day. Yes, I would highly recommend this school.

Crown of Life Lutheran School 1

Posted April 20, 2015
- a community member
I am a former student and this school had a severe negative impact on my life. I was bullied because I was not like the rest of my peers, I was expressive of myself and would do my hair and makeup only to have the teachers & students tell me that it was ungodly because I wasnt focusing on inner beauty. Teachers & students also criticized trivial things like the fact I listened to secular music and that I had a cartilage piercing. After a few months I started having worsening depression and started self-harming because I was rejected for not being like my peers. At this point I wanted someone to help me so I went to a teacher to talk about the fact I was depressed & being bullied, the teacher told me me that depression was un-godly and caused by not having a strong enough faith in God and that the bullying was my fault because I didn't act the way a good christian should. I ended up being kicked out of the school for sharing my Experince of how they look down on self expression and individuality. I've been out of the school for quite some time now but I still have social anxiety & find it hard to make friends or trust people from the time I spent being constantly bullied and judged.


Crown of Life Lutheran School 5

Posted June 30, 2014
- a parent
Crown of Life Lutheran School has been a wonderful school for my children! They love their teachers, friends and they know the Lord! What more could I ask for! Yes...the academics are superb, but that is just a bonus! The upper school has been a great experience for my older child, my younger one can't wait to get up there. The lock-in, the science, the community service, all super fun stuff that makes them LOVE school! We are soooo excited about the new Principle! Any of the past challenges that our school has faced will be undoubtedly be eradicated by this man. His experience and faith will lead this staff and school family to new heights. Can't wait to see where he takes us. I am confident that any issues discussed in the negative reviews will no longer exist! So sorry for those that had a poor experience, that truly is NOT the norm for this school but a few isolated instances that surely had a one sided review. Yes, we have had a high turnover rate, but that has mostly been due to families moving from the area or for financial reasons. Overall, this IS the best school in the area, I have looked, just to make sure, and will not be moving my children.

Crown of Life Lutheran School 5

Posted May 30, 2014
- a community member
I'm an alum of COLLS, and it is a wonderful school! I attended 1st-8th grade, and it molded me into the person I am today. I enjoyed having smaller classes because I got to know everyone, and my teachers personally knew every student. I have so many great memories from COLLS! I learned so much spiritually, academically, socially, and athletically from attending COLLS. Two of my teachers from COLLS inspired me to be a teacher. I'm so blessed I have the opportunity to go there!

Crown of Life Lutheran School 5

Posted May 27, 2014
- a parent
Crown of Life Lutheran School is an amazing school. This is our second year in the preschool program and my daughter has just flourished. I couldn't ask for a better school for my daughter to grow academically, spiritually and emotionally.


Crown of Life Lutheran School 5

Posted May 26, 2014
- a parent
We are so grateful for the loving and christian atmosphere at Crown Of Life Lutheran School. Our children have flourished over the years. Developed lifelong friends and are doing excellent in high school. We give credit to the great teachers, curriculum and their faith in Jesus Christ.

Crown of Life Lutheran School 5

Posted May 21, 2014
- a parent
Wow! The teachers at Crown of Life were put on this earth to teach children! It truly is a gift and a pleasure for these teachers to instruct and minister to their classes. I love the student/teacher ratio. My child gets personalized attention and this allows him to excel. At Crown of Life, everyone knows your name.

Nearby schools

Crown of Life Lutheran School
6605 Pleasant Run Rd, Colleyville, TX  76034
(817) 251-1881
Last modified Crown of Life Lutheran School is a Private school that serves grades PK-8
Top