Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Christ Community School

Private | PK-6

 
 

Living in Conroe

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $230,600. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $950.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 4 ratings
2012:
Based on 8 ratings
2011:
Based on 3 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

22 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 7, 2014

This school used to be a wonderful school. We had four kids enrolled there. The first year the atmosphere was very personal and felt like a family. But after the first year the board started changing and the feel of the school is different. The focus is not so much Christ as it is getting bigger. The board has fired the principal and many of the teachers left because of it, which is unfortunate. As far as the education goes, we live in an area where the public schools are among the top in the nation so the curriculum at best rivals the public school. The music, art and Spanish teachers have all left so I'm not sure what sort of extracurricular activities will be offered, if any. They do have hot lunch, which is nice. They have cut their moms day out program, which was also disheartening. We have kept our youngest in PK this year but we'll have to see how the year goes so see if she'll stay the whole year. In all fairness, I need to say that the board is currently looking for a principal.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 7, 2013

This school is just amazing. Not only are they a year ahead of public school the learning atmosphere is one of caring. My husband put it best -" the teachers here actually care about the children and love what they are doing. They are not like those teachers we have encountered at public schools who feel entitled and are just there for a job." Love this place
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 19, 2013

We absolutely love this school! The principal is so sweet and so are the teachers. The curriculum is a whole year ahead of other Christian schools in the area and definitely way ahead of public schools! My child could read in PK at CCS! It is a very friendly and welcoming school and we highly recommend it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 29, 2013

CCS is a great school, great academics! the only concern in the assistant principal very sweet nice in person but overbearing underhanded indirectly proceed with caution.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 23, 2013

We absolutely love this school. The curriculum is at least a year ahead of public schools. We left for a year to try another christian school because it was a PK-12 school and ended up returning to Christ Community School because the curriculum was so much better. We highly recommend this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 21, 2012

The worst school , not recommend it at all , we had very bad experience at this school with my daughter
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 17, 2012

My nephew went to CCS and it was the best experience for him because of the caring and wonderful staff he has grown tremendously!!!!! The academics are the best in Texas but most importantly they put our lord and Savior first in everything they teach!!!!! If you are lokking for a great school CCS is it!!!!!!! I just love the fact that this school puts God first in everything they do because of that it is a well rounded school!!!!!!! Hats off to the staff and leadership at CCS!!!!!!!


Posted January 17, 2012

My nephew has grown spiritually and academically because of his teachers and staff at CCS!!!! I am so thankful that he was able to attend CCS and learn so much about God and that he was challenged daily in his work through hands on activities!!!!! God is awesome and He is working to change lives at CCS!!!!!


Posted January 17, 2012

We are now in our 4th year at CCS - all 3 of our kids now attend and I couldn't ask for anything better. Some schools do 1 or 2 things really well but CCS does it ALL with excellence. My kids thrive in the loving environment that is created by staff, the small class sizes and the Godly instruction not to mention the challenging academics which is especially important for my gifted son. There is nothing more precious as a parent to have your children hiding God's word in their hearts and being taught how to apply it to their lives. Christ isn't just a name at this school, HIs character is taught and lived everyday.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 16, 2012

I searched for months for a private school that was well rounded and provided a broad spectrum of curricula for my bright 3 year old. After 6 months of attending this school, I am still very satisfied with my choice. My child is being taught Spanish, Music, PE, and Library in addition to the regular academics. Her attention span has greatly increased. She is writing all of her letters. She is also beginning to put letters together to form words. The teachers meet each morning to pray about the school. They are very kind and caring.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 15, 2012

We LOVE this school! The staff, teachers and principal are absolutely wonderful and you can feel the love that they have for the children and the school. The academics are advanced and the focus on Christ is evident on a daily basis. If you are looking for an excellent private school education at a reasonable price with a caring environment, you won't be disappointed!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 13, 2012

This is a great school with committed caring leadership, with a Christ first philosophy. Students are challenged by curriculum and the academic standard of excellence is set high. Teachers and staff genuinely care about the students and with small student teacher ratios, students are afforded opportunities they would not have access to in other schools. I highly recommend this school if you are looking for quality Christian education in a great environment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 12, 2012

This school seems to struggle for growth only in quantity, not quality of education, focusing on marketing, fundraising... etc. There is nothing special for curriculum and instruction. Class activities are routine-based with too many drills and practices, which do not help students enhance their creative and logical skills. Most of teachers seem to be in the educational field for many years but adequate at best. My teacher was neither caring nor professional. I had horrible experiences there. Individual needs are not recognized or satisfied, which is expected from attending a private school. If you are looking for a small and affordable private school, think twice and make a wise choice!! It will end up being waste of money!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 23, 2011

Top-notch school! Affordable (for a private school), yet the kids get a challenging curriculum taught in an environment tailored to help each child succeed. CCS is growing (for good reason!), so check with the school administration for current statistics (the stats posted here are already out-of-date). Students ARE the top priority at this school. I'd give them 50 stars if I could! The one (just one!) lower review took me by surprise. It is quite unusual to find anyone unhappy with this school. Since the reviewer didn't go into any specifics I can only assume they also did not communicate their concerns with the administration or teacher. Parent input is invited and welcomed by everyone at this school. They work as a team, not just with fellow staff and faculty, but with the students and parents as well to ensure every child is learning and developing their talents. Go visit Christ Community School. It is truly worth your consideration. I wrote a LOT of specifics about the wonderful things this school does, but I was way over the character limit allowed for these comments. I'd give this school 50 stars if I could. They really are that good. Best kept "secret" around!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 15, 2011

This school does not have student needs as their first priority! I am not the type to post comments about grievances, but I feel parents should be warned. I have a graduate degree in Education and must inform parents before they spend hard-earned money on this school. My child's teacher was adequate at best. The principal was only concerned with the school's financial needs, and my child suffered because of them. I highly caution you to make a wise choice and choose a different school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 10, 2011

CCS is filled with some of the most caring, considerate, Christ seeking people we have ever been blessed to meet. Our 5th grader was new to this school and everyone made him feel like instant family. The curriculum is challenging and always provides an opportunity for the student to be stretched and experience a sense of achievement through hard work. There is something special in all of our children......CCS recognizes that and makes our child FEEL exactly how special he really is.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 24, 2010

This is a great school. The curriculum is a grade level ahead across the board. The students leave hre in 6th grade and enter into GT classes. The staff is wonderful. The principal is truly a God send.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 23, 2010

Have two students at CCS and it has been a great experience. Academically advanced like most private schools. Focused as well on spiritual growth - prayer, bible lessons, chapel, memorizing scripture. My third grader knows the bible better than most adult Christians. There's also plenty of the extras that people think they might miss at a small school. Music, Art, Spanish, Computer, field trips, contests, etc.. What we really cherish about this school is the loving environment. Is your child lost in a sea of first graders? How about a school where the principal, asst principal and all the teachers know your child's name? That's what you get at Christ Community School.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 10, 2009

Need more Stars! I'd give them 10 stars out of 5! And they teach pre-K through 6th grade, not just 5th. Exceptional school; warm, caring staff; great teachers, able to teach to the students' abilities and learning styles; outstanding principal. Rigorous academic curriculum, yet taught so well students pick it up easier than less ambitious curricula at more expensive schools. Happy students, great fostering of creativity, great example of teaching Christianity by living what they preach. The students are the top priority here, not fancy surroundings or snooty attitudes. There is a dress code, but it is realistic, affordable, and focused on the comfort and safety of the students more than an unvarying adherence to a uniform appearance. If you want your kids to excel while enjoying learning then this is the school for you.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 1, 2009

Wonderful school with caring teachers and staff. My son started there in kindergarten and just finished 1st grade. It's been a very positive experience for him, not just academically, but socially & spiritually as well. I highly recommend this school!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 75% 31%
Hispanic 10% 51%
Black 5% 13%
Two or more races 5% 2%
Asian or Pacific Islander 4% 4%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 2% 0%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
School Leader's name
  • Bernadette Lentini
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Phone
Gender
  • Coed
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Christian
Associations
  • ACSI
Fax number
  • (936) 273-5858

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Resources

School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Cafeteria
  • Chapel/spiritual reflection center
  • Computer
  • Library
  • Playground
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Dress code
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1488 Wellman Road
Conroe, TX 77384
Website: Click here
Phone: (936) 321-6300

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Pcal Christian School
The Woodlands, TX





Collins Intermediate School
The Woodlands, TX



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT