Advertisement
Advertisement

St. James Episcopal School

Private | PK-6

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Conroe

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $157,400. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $840.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

9 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted July 23, 2013

The staff, facilities, and campus are second to none in the area. I highly recommend St. James School for your children from 6 weeks to kindergarten.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 25, 2010

My son attends Kindergarten at St. James Episcopal Day School and loves it! The teacher is incrediable - 44 years worth of experience...you don't see that very often. The school has classes that start at 18 months and go through Kindergarten. St. James is known for its excellence curriculum and loving, nurturing teachers. Fine Arts, Music, Spanish, Chapel, P.E., Computers...they have it all. I've sent all three of my children there and have never regretted one moment!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 9, 2010

The new Director at St. James has made some great changes and the school is adding new programs. Ages 18months through Kidnergarten. We are excited for our boys to start in the fall!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 7, 2010

St. James was the one of the best things that have happened to my son. He rec'd a quality education and he enjoyed his time there. As a mother I am very greatful that I chose St. James.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 14, 2010

St. James is a great school for my children. It is the best Preschool in Conroe but they just need to look at the Director running the school FYI..
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 30, 2010

It is not the teachers at this school that is the problem...all students are getting a quality education...and you are right, the staff have very little flexibility...but if the right changes are made with this Preschool it will become what it was once known as...the best around !


Posted February 2, 2010

We have been very happy with our son's experience at St. James. We love the small class size and the attention each child gets. The Director and Staff are great and have really made us feel welcome.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 11, 2009

This school has gone downhill since the new principal arrived. I pulled my child out after she took over and started changing everything. It didn't take me much time to see all of the negative effects she was having on the children and parents. Lots of other parents are pulling their children out as well because they are saying it is only getting worse and apparently there are alot of teachers that have been there for years that are quitting too. I really feel sorry for the children and parents that are still there. At one time this school was very well known for being above and beyond in all areas but since the new principal 'dictator' is in charge, I would stay as far away from this school as possible!! Hopefully some changes can be made before the entire reputation is ruined for future children and parents. :-(


Posted August 11, 2009

2- Some teachers are aweful. Some are great. They have very little flexibility in how they do things.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 93% 37%
Black 3% 14%
Hispanic 3% 47%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Asian 0% N/A
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% N/A
Two or more races 0% N/A
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Episcopal
Associations
  • NAES
Fax number
  • (936) 756-8850

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1803 Highland Hollow Dr
Conroe, TX 77304
Phone: (936) 756-4984

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT