Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
K-5
Public
Coppell, TX
Students enrolled: 653

4 stars
Based on 16 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


18 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Mockingbird Elementary School 5

Posted May 29, 2014
- a parent
This is a great school for students. My kid has attended this school in the last 4 years and loved it. I have seen her develop academically and also socially. The principal and teachers put in long hours and take a lot of pride in making it a great learning experience as also making it a safe place. We have been in different states for our older kids and were a little apprehensive when we moved to Coppell 6 years ago. However we have been pleasantly surprised and our kid was able do excellently in this school both academically and socially. Kudos to the Principal, Staff and Volunteers.

Mockingbird Elementary School 1

Posted May 28, 2014
- a parent
As a 4 year parent I have to say that the school administration is great about telling parents and students they are getting a great education, but they would be better off to actually apply themselves. We had 1 great teacher and classroom experience, but the bulk of our experience was horrible. 2 of our teachers were arguably incompetent. We felt the need to reinforce most of our student's learning with work at home. They place a ridiculous emphasis on testing (despite their statements to the contrary) In fact, our child spent the month after standardized tests watching movies and doing worksheets. They didn't even attempt to introduce new units or continue the curriculum. They get good scores because they start with advantaged kids in good families. Despite being involved as volunteers we were chastised by the administration when we asked questions about our experience. The nutrition plan is horrible - we had to pack lunches to avoid fried foods and pizza that are standard in the cafeteria. All in all, it is sad. They have money and the support of the community, but too much ego to create a quality education. If you really care, I would look elsewhere.


Mockingbird Elementary School 5

Posted November 20, 2009
- a parent
very good school it helped my child get better at math

Mockingbird Elementary School 3

Posted October 09, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Mockingbird Elementary School 4

Posted August 01, 2009
- a community member
As a grandparent of two students at Mockingbird and a retired teacher, I rate the school as above average in teacher/administrative competency. The availability and interation of administration, teacher and paents is very timely. The teachers' competencies are closely monitored and nurtured to enhance their positive effect s on the chilren in their classrooms.


Mockingbird Elementary School 1

Posted February 11, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Mockingbird Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted December 07, 2008
- a parent
Mixed feelings about this school. Have two children there and the school experience appears to only be as good as the teacher they are placed with during that year. Some are excellent, some are not. School absorbed many students from a closed school this year and while I've been told it is equipped to handle more, it is definitely more crowded than years past. Principal responsive to concerns raised, but did not follow up like I would have anticipated for this level of school. TAKS pass rate has been at 100% for 3rd grade and the pressure is ON for those current third graders to keep it that way. No 8/9 year old should feel that kind of pressure.......

Mockingbird Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted August 13, 2008
- a teacher
Awesome Leadership! Great Staff! Looking forward to a Excellent year as a Maverick!


Mockingbird Elementary School 1

Posted May 28, 2008
- a parent
The Mockingbird principal uses teaching techniques that were better left in the 70's. She opposes any curriculum that differentiates between in-need, average or gifted children even though this is a school district manadate. Teacher turnover is very high. New hires are generally recent college graduates who do not have the experience and knowledge to instruct such a diverse student poplulation. There are no extra curricular activites. The school is part of the Texas 'Robin Hood' plan, so 40% of property taxes that are earmarked for the school are sent to other districts. The school is aggressive in its fund raising. There are never ending contests and competitions for classes who 'sell' the most magazines, cook books or 'donate' the most money or food.

Mockingbird Elementary School 5

Posted January 03, 2008
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Mockingbird Elementary School
300 Mockingbird Lane, Coppell, TX  75019
(214) 496-8200
Last modified Mockingbird Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Mockingbird Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 18 reviews. Top