Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Calallen High School

Public | 9-12 | 1204 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

6 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 28, 2013

I love my school, they really care about things other schools can't or refuse to care about. Calallen is a school that'd win my vote if I had to choose. They have great a GT (Gifted & Talented) program also. I'm in band, and I love it! We go on trips, we compete against other schools, and we learn things at levels and standards we're not even suppose to meet yet! When someone says 'Calallen' they only think about sports like football, we may be top notch at that, but that's not all we're about! We represent a school a lot of kids can say they are proud of! We are Calallen!
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 9, 2009

The school is ok i guess but they need to stay in school longer my daughter used to go there and now we live in maine which is better cause you get out in june and you do not have to go back till september 1st 2nd or 3rd
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 25, 2008

i think the high school is one of the greatest school ever my daughter loves it only if all schools were like the high scool all my kids would be happy
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 16, 2006

Absolutely Fantastic school. The highest test scores in the area. A football team that goes to playoffs virtually every year. The best band in the area. And a very well developed advanced placement program, that anyone can participate in. Without a doubt, the best school in South Texas.
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 20, 2005

As a parent I have found Calallen High School to be an excellent school. The teachers work well with the students and the sports program is wonderful.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 20, 2003

I'm a graduate of the Class '94. I was very fortunate to go to this school compared to the other schools in the surrounding area. After graduating I went into the US NAVY. With the teachings that I received from my Physics, Chemistry, & Math instructors; I was able to understand my job and this understanding also helped me in receiving my Associates in Electrical Engineering from the NAVY. I'm at the moment working towards my Masters in Secondary Education with the emphasis on Political Science, all thanks to my US Government Honors teacher, Mr. Steve James. I just hope that when I finally do get into the teaching profession, I'll be as good of a teacher as Mr. James. Another teacher that was very influential, unfortunately, no longer works for Calallen High, was Mr. Jeff Stone, Head Band Director. With the instruction that Mr. Stone instilled while I was in the band all 4 yrs, I'm also minoring in Music. Though, that isn't the only subject that I'm minoring in. There have been several other teachers throughout my primary schooling days that were just an influential as the 2 men I have named. The other subjects that I am minoring in are US History, and Archaeology.
—Submitted by a former student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 89% in 2011.

315 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
94%
Math

The state average for Math was 70% in 2011.

304 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
79%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 91% in 2011.

249 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
97%
Math

The state average for Math was 74% in 2011.

248 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
84%
Science

The state average for Science was 76% in 2011.

251 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
82%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 93% in 2011.

253 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
97%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 95% in 2013.

279 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
93%
Math

The state average for Math was 89% in 2013.

279 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
94%
Science

The state average for Science was 95% in 2013.

278 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
98%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
95%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 98% in 2013.

277 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
98%

2012

 
 
99%

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
99%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students97%
Female99%
Male95%
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic96%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White98%
Economically disadvantaged91%
Special education79%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a

Math

All Students92%
Female92%
Male93%
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic91%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White95%
Economically disadvantaged86%
Special education76%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a

Science

All Students98%
Female99%
Male98%
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic97%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White99%
Economically disadvantaged95%
Special education90%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a

Social Studies

All Students98%
Female98%
Male99%
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic98%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White98%
Economically disadvantaged96%
Special education86%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

  • In 2010-2011, this school was rated "Recognized".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was rated "Recognized".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was rated "Recognized".

About the tests


Texas uses Accountability Ratings to indicate the overall performance of each school and district. The ratings are based on TAKS test results, dropout rates for grades 7 and 8 and school completion rates for grades 9 through 12. Schools and districts rated under standard accountability procedures are designated as Exemplary, Recognized, Academically Acceptable or Academically Unacceptable. Schools and districts rated under alternative education accountability (AEA) procedures are designated as either AEA: Academically Acceptable or AEA: Academically Unacceptable.

Source: Texas Education Agency

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 78% in 2013.

267 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
88%
Algebra II

The state average for Algebra II was 97% in 2013.

288 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
n/a
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 85% in 2013.

299 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
88%
Chemistry

The state average for Chemistry was 84% in 2013.

268 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
n/a
English I Reading

The state average for English I Reading was 65% in 2013.

306 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
80%
English I Writing

The state average for English I Writing was 48% in 2013.

328 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
66%

2012

 
 
64%
English II Reading

The state average for English II Reading was 78% in 2013.

276 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
n/a
English II Writing

The state average for English II Writing was 52% in 2013.

276 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
61%

2012

 
 
n/a
English III Reading

The state average for English III Reading was 63% in 2013.

264 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
63%
English III Writing

The state average for English III Writing was 42% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
49%
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 86% in 2013.

50 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
98%

2012

 
 
100%
Physics

The state average for Physics was 81% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
U.S. History

The state average for U.S. History was 73% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
World Geography

The state average for World Geography was 75% in 2013.

309 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
87%
World History

The state average for World History was 70% in 2013.

268 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
n/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

Algebra I

All Students82%
Female82%
Male82%
Black or African American71%
Asiann/a
Hispanic75%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White89%
Economically disadvantaged78%
Not economically disadvantaged84%
Special education82%
Not special education82%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English82%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant82%
Gifted/talentedn/a
Non-Gifted81%
Bilingualn/a

Algebra II

All Students87%
Female88%
Male85%
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic80%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White94%
Economically disadvantaged80%
Not economically disadvantaged89%
Special educationn/a
Not special education87%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English87%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant87%
Gifted/talented100%
Non-Gifted84%
Bilingualn/a

Biology I

All Students88%
Female89%
Male87%
Black or African American71%
Asiann/a
Hispanic83%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White93%
Economically disadvantaged77%
Not economically disadvantaged95%
Special education75%
Not special education89%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English88%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant89%
Gifted/talented100%
Non-Gifted87%
Bilingualn/a

Chemistry

All Students86%
Female88%
Male84%
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic79%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White93%
Economically disadvantaged80%
Not economically disadvantaged89%
Special educationn/a
Not special education86%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English86%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant86%
Gifted/talented100%
Non-Gifted84%
Bilingualn/a

English I Reading

All Students77%
Female80%
Male75%
Black or African American67%
Asiann/a
Hispanic71%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White85%
Economically disadvantaged67%
Not economically disadvantaged84%
Special education55%
Not special education78%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English78%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant78%
Gifted/talented100%
Non-Gifted75%
Bilingualn/a

English I Writing

All Students66%
Female70%
Male62%
Black or African American43%
Asiann/a
Hispanic63%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White70%
Economically disadvantaged56%
Not economically disadvantaged72%
Special education23%
Not special education68%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English66%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant66%
Gifted/talented100%
Non-Gifted62%
Bilingualn/a

English II Reading

All Students84%
Female89%
Male79%
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic83%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White86%
Economically disadvantaged80%
Not economically disadvantaged86%
Special education71%
Not special education85%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English84%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant84%
Gifted/talented100%
Non-Gifted83%
Bilingualn/a

English II Writing

All Students61%
Female66%
Male56%
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic55%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White69%
Economically disadvantaged48%
Not economically disadvantaged67%
Special education71%
Not special education61%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English61%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant62%
Gifted/talented100%
Non-Gifted57%
Bilingualn/a

English III Reading

All Students69%
Female83%
Male54%
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic64%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White74%
Economically disadvantaged60%
Not economically disadvantaged72%
Special education26%
Not special education73%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English69%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant70%
Gifted/talented91%
Non-Gifted66%

English III Writing

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrantn/a
Gifted/talentedn/a
Non-Giftedn/a

Geometry

All Students98%
Female100%
Male96%
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic96%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White100%
Economically disadvantaged92%
Not economically disadvantaged100%
Special educationn/a
Not special education98%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English98%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant100%
Gifted/talentedn/a
Non-Gifted98%
Bilingualn/a

Physics

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrantn/a
Gifted/talentedn/a
Non-Giftedn/a

U.S. History

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrantn/a
Gifted/talentedn/a
Non-Giftedn/a

World Geography

All Students85%
Female81%
Male89%
Black or African American86%
Asiann/a
Hispanic81%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White89%
Economically disadvantaged78%
Not economically disadvantaged90%
Special education64%
Not special education86%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English86%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant86%
Gifted/talented100%
Non-Gifted84%
Bilingualn/a

World History

All Students79%
Female76%
Male82%
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic76%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White83%
Economically disadvantaged68%
Not economically disadvantaged84%
Special education57%
Not special education80%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English79%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant80%
Gifted/talented100%
Non-Gifted77%
Bilingualn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 49% 50%
White 47% 31%
Black 2% 13%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 0%
Asian 1% 3%
Two or more races 1% 2%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

4001 Wildcat Dr
Corpus Christi, TX 78410
Website: Click here
Phone: (361) 242-5626

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Tuloso-Midway High School
Corpus Christi, TX



St. Anthony School
Robstown, TX





ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT