Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
20 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered School leader (1 response)
characters left.
There are 29 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Faye Webb Elementary School
Develops grit: Strongly agree

Posted October 01, 2015
- a parent
Faye Webb Elementary is the regional day school for the deaf. Webb offers an after school ASL club, but there a limited number of students who can join. It's a highly sought after club chosen by lottery and not everyone can participate. If you don't get chosen, but you want to learn ASL, you might just have to do it on your own. I've watched my own child doing her best to include and be a part of her classmates lives by learning as much ASL on her own as possible. Watching hearing and deaf children alike making an extra effort to be friends with sound as a barrier shows all of these qualities.

Faye Webb Elementary School
Develops respect: Strongly agree

Posted October 01, 2015
- a parent
The children are taught to keep their hands to themselves, respect personal space, words matter, bullying is not okay and being a friend is important. You can see this displayed in the hallways as they walk to and from their classrooms.


Faye Webb Elementary School
Grateful to: School leader

Posted October 01, 2015
- a parent
Mrs. Hammond works long hours, sacrifices family time and tries really hard to make the school a perfect learning environment, while also making it a place that children enjoy being. It's a tough combination, but I think she consistently meets the challenge without very many pats on the back.

Faye Webb Elementary School
Develops empathy: Strongly agree

Posted October 01, 2015
- a parent
The staff & teachers take extra care to get to know each student individually. I think the new class dojo point system helps them think about each student more specifically as well.

Faye Webb Elementary School
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted October 01, 2015
- a parent
Yes, They do not shame children, but encourage them to make correct choices. When they've made a correct choice, they are given positive reinforcement.


Faye Webb Elementary School 5

Posted October 01, 2015
- a parent
I have 2 children at Webb, one promoted to Kaffie and started at Webb in 2nd grade. I chose Webb and the surrounding housing area after reading testimonials, test scores and reviews from a website just like this one when we were preparing to move here. I haven't been disappointed. Webb has educators and staff that work tirelessly to make sure not only the test scores meet state requirements, but to meet the needs of each and every child. Children walk through the halls and ask if the principal and AP will be coming to their classroom that day, with excitement! Watch D.O.G.S. are in the cafeteria, classrooms and hallways. PTA plans and prepares for events almost on a monthly basis, works diligently to provide new technology for students & teachers and do their best to get to know and encourage new parents to get involved. I've seen the hours they put in before, after school and on weekends. They are supportive of one another, parents and especially the children. There is so much to love about Faye Webb Elementary, the Principal, Jennifer Hammond, AP, Stacy Lucas and all the educators and staff that call Webb home.

Faye Webb Elementary School 5

Posted April 24, 2015
- a parent
My child has been a student here for the past 2.5 years. I can honestly say that our time here has been nothing but enjoyeable. As a transfer from private to public school I expected that there may be a slight dip in the quality of education but this has proven to be 100% untrue, in fact I feel that my son is receiveing even more attention and higher quality education at Faye Webb. The teachers are fabulous, most organized and best teacher-parent communication I have come across. Thank you Faye Webb!

Faye Webb Elementary School 1

Posted February 03, 2014
- a parent
I really don't enjoy being yelled at by staff members in front of my child. Bullying at its finest from Faye Webb. Those people are crazy.


Faye Webb Elementary School 1

Posted January 09, 2014
- a parent
Where do I begin? If you're looking for a school with a friendly staff, DO NOT choose Faye Webb. The woman that works outside for the Pre K and Kindergarten car line has a horrendous attitude. She yells at the students and parents if the kids are not moving quickly enough to get out of the car. I've been yelled at several times in front of my child, to the point that she cried, because in the staff members opinion, we were being rude and holding up the traffic. These were her exact words. The communication to parents about certain events, such as picture day, is lacking. The students wear uniforms but on certain picture days they can wear regular clothing. We never know which day is which because they don't send anything home to tell you. I was snapped at by a teacher for sending my child in the wrong clothes, and when I confronted the vice principal about the situation she immediately got an attitude with me in front of my child. Those people are the most hateful and rude people I have ever been in contact with, and at this point I believe my child and I are being targeted and bullied. I can't wait to pull her out of there. Don't send your kids there!

Faye Webb Elementary School 5

Posted September 18, 2013
- a parent
Do not write reviews out of hate and your own frustration. Faye Webb is a great school and that is why so many people want their children to come here. There are rules set by the school district and if you don't live in this neighborhood your kids can't be students here. It is as simple as that. Up to last year children from other neighborhoods were admitted here. But now new schools have opened where they live and that is why they can't attend Faye Webb school any longer.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Faye Webb Elementary School
P O Box 110, Corpus Christi, TX  78403
(361) 878-2740
Last modified Faye Webb Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Faye Webb Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 29 reviews. Top