Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
6-8
Public
Corpus Christi, TX

4 stars
Based on 21 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


22 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Baker Middle School 4

Posted November 19, 2011
- a parent
As a parent of an IB student, and a military family, I am generally pleased with the school. It is unfortunately overcrowded, and because of that the kids have very strict rules at lunch, and aren't allowed to go to their lockers most of the time. I have had very good results with the teachers responding to emails/phone calls and they have been great about using echalk to show assignments/test/grades. Twice now the admin has quickly and effectively dealt with bullying issues - I was definitely impressed with their concern and swift action. The school also has some nice clubs/programs. They are still "learning" how to handle special ed differences. Overall, I think they do the best that they can with the overcrowding and two schools in one.

Baker Middle School 1

Posted October 07, 2011
- a parent
Do not be fooled by the awards! Of course the scores are high, it is home to the gifted and talented. I suggest that a patent spends a day at the school to see the real truth. Teachers do not return calls, there is a theft problem, and there IS a real problem with bullying! Time for new leadership in this school. I would love to see a new principle come in! No speakers in the gym...so, if you miss announcements- too bad. Councilors are purely academic.. No one is there to speak to your child. I will say the nurse who has been there years is excellent. There are alsosome good teachers and staff. Watch your cafeteria dollars!! They have a way of "leaving" your account. Also, the cafeteria women are the most rude I have EVER encountered.


Baker Middle School 1

Posted September 14, 2010
- a parent
Baker makes a big deal about being IB, Athena, Blue ribbon but that is not the case in the classrooms. Kids need to be treated with dignity and respect not being with teachers who doesn't like to teach. Oh, about the not carrying any backpacks, it has been brought up in the past years and they do not care. You will get no where with those people. They are not about partnering with parents for the education of the children.Teachers do not return calls and seem bothered when a parent takes interest in what is going on the the class. They are only about covering up for each other to seem professional.Not parent friendly at all. IB should consider having this school carry on their LOGO. Hm perhaps if any other parents feel the same report concerns to CCISD and IB ; I know I am. (Thumbs down)

Baker Middle School 1

Posted August 23, 2010
- a parent
The principal is never there.... The kids are expected to NOT carry any bags! When you have a class by the gym and one on the IB wing and back and forth...not carrying a bag is CRAZY. When is the math book supposed to be put in your locker when passing period is short...I guess carrying supplies and folders AND a text book seems fine with the adults because they don't have to do it!!!!

Baker Middle School 5

Posted April 22, 2010
- a parent
This is the best school in Corpus Christi. It has the best of everything. The principal is awesome! The teachers are great. I can not imagine anyone being critical. It must be personal. The school wins all kinds of awards. It is an IB World school. It is a Blueribbon School. It just can not be topped!


Baker Middle School 5

Posted April 21, 2010
- a parent
This school is great ! I can not agree at all with the (1) negative comment. The comment is so untrue. This school is the best! The principal is fantastic and the teachers are the best. Go Baker Broncs!

Baker Middle School 0
no rating

Posted April 20, 2010
- a parent
this is the worst school ever to much bullying

Baker Middle School 1

Posted January 25, 2010
- a student
This review submitted without content.


Baker Middle School 4

Posted December 11, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Baker Middle School 5

Posted December 01, 2009
- a parent
This school is absolutely terrific in almost every way. As a teacher at another school in the district and a parent of a student here, I can honestly say that I would not send my child anywhere else. This school's gifted and International Baccalaureate programs as well as the sports and extra-curricular activities make this school a definite winner. The teachers are wonderful and violence is extremely low. This school also has a phenomenal band program! Great school all around. (Only negative is that at times the students get groupish and the athena/community sectors don't really intertwine.)

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Baker Middle School
3445 Pecan Street, Corpus Christi, TX  78411
(361) 878-1420
Last modified Baker Middle School is a Public school that serves grades 6-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 5 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Baker Middle School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 22 reviews. Top