Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
1-5
Public
Corpus Christi, TX
Students enrolled: 668

5 stars
Based on 10 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


15 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Windsor Park G/T 5

Posted January 17, 2014
- a parent
This school is in a world of its own. Students have to be tested in, and teachers are fantastic. G/T students in this school are as varied as can be, and the teachers recognize that. I have never had one complaint about office staff, and Dr. Bissell is one of the best principals I have ever come across. Excellent school by far!

Windsor Park G/T 5

Posted August 04, 2013
- a parent
My school is a Gifted/ Talented school in Corpus Christi, TX. It is a free public charter school that the district requires a student to "test in" to be accepted. Parents get involved! Our PTA is huge. I like that the teachers, staff, and principal all care about the students and their education. The curriculum is based on the International Baccalaureate program, which continues all the way through the local middle and high schools. The kids learn how to deal with the world around them and their impact on society. They learn how to make a difference in their surroundings. The school also incorporates many projects like the History project, Insect project, or story writing. The students enjoy the work and the teachers and most give hugs to their past teachers on campus. I also like how the principal walks the school regularly and seems to prefer to be in the hallways than behind her desk. She must have lots of work to do after hours with the amount of time she spends with the students. Unfortunately, it is in need of many building repairs or upgrades. But despite the old building, it's the wonderful teachers who are providing the advantage for our city's most gifted kids.


Windsor Park G/T 5

Posted March 28, 2012
- a parent
I have had three children attend Windor Park. The school is equivalent to a private school environment in a public school setting. The parental involvement is like no other school. The PTA raises over $100,000/year and the funds go directly to the classrooms. My children benefited from accelerated programs and enrichment in reading and math. The teachers are there because they enjoy teaching and the staff is top notch. I feel very fortunate to have this program in Corpus Christi.

Windsor Park G/T 0
no rating

Posted October 21, 2009
- a parent
The only reason we live in Corpus Christi TX. is so that my son can go to Windsor Park. I have been all over the country and this school is by far the best.

Windsor Park G/T 0
no rating

Posted October 20, 2009
- a parent
Excellent GT school. It challenges my son to learn and excel. Has a grate staff and is top rated. Deserves all the money in the world for our children..


Windsor Park G/T 0
no rating

Posted October 09, 2009
- a parent
Windsor (and Baker middle school GT) used to be top notch in the city but things have changed. Unfortunately math and science have become very weak due to a major change in curriuculum over the last year or so. Scores are falling and students are finding out that they are not well prepared for higher math and science when they move on. Prior to the new program WP was the most outstanding school in CC. Sadly this is no longer the case. Other schools and school district have not only surpassed Windsor over the last couple of years, familes are pulling out of Windsor (and Baker GT) because the curriculum has changed for the worst.

Windsor Park G/T 0
no rating

Posted June 07, 2009
- a parent
We have been very pleased with our experience at WP. The kids are able to be themselves, love learning and move quickly in all subject areas. The administration shows high levels of involvement and they care greatly for the kids. I highly recommend it to those with GT kids!

Windsor Park G/T 0
no rating

Posted August 02, 2008
- a parent
We're currently at this school and can say that only some of the teachers at this school are true GT instructors. Others are not. While they all must be trained and qualifid to teach GT curriculum, they don't all deliver challenging material. If you're considering Windsor Park and want a genuine GT curriculum, make sure to ask other parents who the strong teachers are and submit your request. It's unfortunate that the school doesn't require all teachers to teach the same material... so what you find is that 2-3 teachers in a grade level of about 5-6 teachers are doing something challenging and the others are doing 'something else'. IF you choose the strong teachers, your child will infact get that GT material. Hopefully administration will become more involved in overseeing and unifying grade level curriculum so this will no longer be the case.


Windsor Park G/T 5

Posted August 11, 2007
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Windsor Park G/T 5

Posted May 18, 2007
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Windsor Park G/T
4525 South Alameda Street, Corpus Christi, TX  78412
(361) 994-3664
Last modified Windsor Park G/T is a Public school that serves grades 1-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Windsor Park G/T Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 15 reviews. Top