Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
10 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 14 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Dawson Elementary School 1

Posted March 23, 2015
- a parent
I am very disappointed with this school. This has been a horrible year for my child. The teacher is not a teacher but more like a upset vindictive person. There is no leadership there and it shows. Gossip, Gossip, and more Gossip from all the teachers. Its not rocket science. If you do not like your ROLE as a teacher than retire already. Burnt out teachers are no help to our children and my tax dollars.

Dawson Elementary School 5

Posted February 03, 2015
- a parent
There's a new principal this year, Jamie Copeland, and she's making great changes! She's involved and proactive! We transferred from one of the best school districts in the US, so my son is ahead academically, but his teacher is making steps to help him continue to grow! The guidance counselor, Mrs. Wilkerson is awesome as well! I've noticed a few of the younger staff members could use some pointers on appropriate interaction as far as parents and students go, but that's found at any school. I'm sad they don't offer an art or music class for K-2nd grade, but that's not uncommon in CCISD.


Dawson Elementary School 5

Posted March 27, 2014
- a parent
5 years at Dawson. Principal Teresa has always been great and patient with students and difficult parents. I have been involved with Watch Dogs, asst cubmaster with scouts, coached soccer with bunch of Dawson kids 3 nights a week. Toughest thing about school is all the parents that want rules catering to them orvallowing their kids to do whatever. My experience, not too many bad kids but a lot of bad parents. Show up, get involved, stop complaining and help.

Dawson Elementary School 1

Posted April 24, 2013
- a parent
This school does not hold a high level of standards for the students. They do not offer the accelerated reader program because the principal feels it doesn't challange students. There are very few teachers at this school that actually love the students and have a passion for teaching. My child was moved out of her class for bully and mental abuse by the teacher. Not happy with this school district at all. Extremly low standards, defiantly will not be returning.

Dawson Elementary School 1

Posted November 27, 2012
- a parent
Horrible school. My daughter has had so many problems with this school I cannot wait to transfer her out of this district. She is currently having problems with a bully and when she has told on the little girl, my daughter gets into trouble for being a tattle tale even though the little girl is hitting her. We have also had problems with the nurse refusing to give her her inhaler when she needed it. Of course no one from CCISD would return my calls or emails. I thought schanen elementary was bad, but is think I'd take that school over this one any day!


Dawson Elementary School 1

Posted April 21, 2011
- a community member
Horrible school!! Some of the staff (including the principal) is very unprofessional. Talk to your children because the staff will not inform you of things that goes on at this school.

Dawson Elementary School 5

Posted April 12, 2010
- a parent
I think this school is amazing, its small and quaint, I love their teaching methods, how they spend their money, pretty much everything.

Dawson Elementary School
no rating

Posted September 16, 2009
- a parent
Dawson has school spirit, and we also provide fun events, for the kids and families. The teacher, and Administrative staff are friendly, caring and approachable which helps a lot.


Dawson Elementary School
no rating

Posted June 29, 2009
- a parent
We just moved here in January and both of my daughters went to this school and they really enjoyed the school the office staff is very friendly and helpful. They have already been to 4 different schools since school age and this is the best they have been to.

Dawson Elementary School 5

Posted December 09, 2007
- a parent
Dawson is a great school. My son moved into the school in 3rd grade, and is now a 4th grader. There are such innovative, creative ideas at this school! The 3rd graders end their year off with a medieval theme, and my son looked forward to it all year long! He made friends quickly, and the teachers are outstanding! Both of his teachers communicate with me by email, and I am informed of what his happening or upcoming. They also have a grade level newsletter to inform parents of events. The PTA is awesome, very very good at fundraising for the school and using those funds to better the learning and education process of our children. Would highly recommend this school to any parent looking for a good quality elementary school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Dawson Elementary School
6821 Sanders Drive, Corpus Christi, TX  78413
(361) 878-4800
Last modified Dawson Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 6 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Dawson Elementary School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 14 reviews. Top