Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Jones Elementary School

Public | K-5 | 588 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 8 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

25 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted March 16, 2014

My school is an exceptional place for scholars to learn and grow. I highly recommend it to anyone moving to this area. Luther Jones builds lifelong learners with an environment of success.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted September 9, 2013

I have two children attending Luther Jones during the past three years. The awesome, to be greatly missed principal retired this spring and while I miss her greatly, the new principal appears to be coming up to speed and genuinely cares about the school, its traditions, and the students. We have had very good to inspirational teachers - and one that I didn't personally care for - but WE worked together to make the best for my child. I've found the office staff to be professional; the counselor to professional... The PTA is ACTIVE in the school and fundraisers are just part of the deal. I'm so thankful for LJE; it's been a Wonderful experience and my children love going to school. What could be better than that?
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 8, 2012

My daughter has been attending LJE for kindergarten this school year. She's learned to read and has really had a great time this year. I love this school and am renewing my lease at my very overpriced apartment complex just so she can continue to attend here. I think LJE is the best in the city.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 25, 2011

My daughters had the priviledge of attending Jones Elementary. My youngest just finished her last year at Jones. I found the teachers to be extremely motivating and caring. I felt my daughters were challenged and well prepared for middle school. The school has zero tolerance for bullying, and my daughters always felt safe going to school. I was very impressed with this school and highly recommend it to everyone.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 13, 2011

As a former student at LJE--I can honestly say that I am able to look back on my experience at this wonderful establishment with pride. Included in the school are specific classes geared towards more rigorous learning for those students who perhaps learn at a faster pace and need more of a challenging atmosphere. Even as a college student, I still keep in touch with my friends from the playground--my best friends will agree with me in saying that LJE is the best way to go. They have a fantastic Special Education program that I have witnessed grow over the years--full of caring, patient, educators that their kids absolutely adore! If your child is in need of specific care or certain programs, this school's Special Education program is going to be your best choice! I can't say enough good things about this school--I have been a volunteer/observer at many elementary schools in the area and stand by my claim that the people at LJE sure know what they're doing!


Posted June 13, 2011

My child needed specific care and I found the special education program at Jones Elementary to be so very helpful and kind. The staff are great communicators and my son is consistently saying great things about his day in the classroom. The dedication that was shown both to me and my son really sealed the deal when deciding whether or not to keep him at this school--(we have changed quite a few times in the past)--needless to say, we have found our fit!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 2, 2011

Having three children, 15, 11, 10, we have been at Luther Jones for the past 11 years. Jones is a fantastic school and has helped form a solid foundation of academics for my children. In particular, my 11yr old was diagnosed with dyslexia in 1st grade, he was then placed in the special education department at Jones. Being in the care of the two specialed. teachers, he has overcome many hardships and is doing well with his education. This is his last year, he has passed and will be entering middle school. He could not have done it without the help of the teachers in the special education department. They are an asset to this school, community and the students they teach.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 2, 2011

My daughter attended LJE as a 3rd and 4th grader. The atmosphere at this amazing school is just electric! The "scholars" are encouraged to use every ounce of the day to learn and grow. The curriculum is challenging, and the supportive attitude of the staff is wonderful. Parent participation is actively sought out, and parents are treated with respect by administration and staff. One outstanding event is the student lead open house held each year. Hearing your child explain interdependence and structures and how they relate to the different curriculum areas is an experience beyond compare! I recommend this amazing school without reservation!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 2, 2011

I have been a special education teacher at Luther Jones for 11 years. I LOVE this group of dedicated and talented professionals. Each scholar is encouraged to celebrate their own unique gifts, and the teachers do everything in their power to help develop these gifts. Parents, administrators and staff work together to create an amazing learning atmosphere for the scholars. My daughter is a former Marlin, and as a parent I am thrilled with the confidence and creativity she demonstrates in her approach to learning. As a high school junior, she still makes a special effort to come and visit her beloved teachers. Please bring your child to us- we will love them and provide them with an amazing opportunity to grow and learn!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted May 17, 2011

Luther Jones is a gem of a school. The teachers, principals and staff are all excellent at what they do and are all very approachable. Jones welcomes parent volunteers with open arms. Perhaps the best compliment I can give to the school is that it is such a warm environment. My children wake up each morning looking forward to going to school. As a military family, we know we will move in the near future. LJE is one of the things we will miss most about Corpus Christi.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 27, 2011

The rating system is used throughout the ccisd district It is meant to showcase good behavoir and shame bad behavior Thats what good parents should do also. I am glad that schools are now getting away from evryone gets an award mentality.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 17, 2010

This school claims to be for parent-involvement, but really doesn't want your two cents. Teachers and Principal get defensive when simple questions are asked of them. Also, this school have a color-coded behavior system for the child's behavior each day. This system seems meant to shame the child and is extremely negative, although this school claims to be full of positive energy---how ironic.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 25, 2010

This is a great school. It is sad that people use there own personal vendetta to rate this school low. Other schools send their teachers to train here so that should tell you something. Please disregard the negative feelings of 1 parent who is probably not happy anywhere


Posted April 28, 2010

The person who says 'only parents whose children have problems rate the school low' is wrong. I rate this school low. My daughter is an A student and would be anywhere. This school rates low because it has too many busy body staff member, too many rules, too much emphasis on reading writing to the detriment of other subjects, and too much of the administration trying to take on the role of parent.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 27, 2010

Luther Jones Elementary has been ranked #1 Best of the Best Elementary School in the entire Coastal Bend for 11 years in a row, and for good reason! The teachers and staff absolutely love children. The instructional methods are phenomenal, designed for gifted and talented and used for everyone, and the scholars truly know that the expectations for their success are very high. They believe in themselves and they love to come to school. This is the most dedicated group of scholars you will find anywhere, from the parents, principals, teachers, all the way UP to every scholar in the school! These scholars are great thinkers who love a challenge! We highly recommend Luther Jones!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 27, 2010

I am the proud parent of two Mighty Marlins. Both of my children have attended Luther Jones Elementary since Kindergarten. Both of my children qualified as Gifted and Talented, repeatedly. We chose, every year, to keep our children at this school because we firmly believe it offers them a top notch education in a positive, safe, and loving environment. Luther Jones Elementary offers students many opportunities to succeed and provides them with the tools they need to do it. This is a public school with the family atmosphere of a private school. The teachers, staff, and principal are the BEST! Most importantly, they expect the best from each and every student and each and every parent. We love our Luther Jones Family!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 6, 2009

My three children were all blessed to have attended this incredible school! They had loving, dedicated teachers who went s far above and beyond what was expected, to ensure that EVERY child was successful and felt loved. The success my kids had in secondary school and on into college is attributed to the wonderful foundation they received at Jones. This school has a heart as big as Texas, and I would recommend it to any parent. No need to choose private school as an alternative: Save your money for college, and send your child to Luther Jones Elementary!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 5, 2009

Reading the other reviews is strange because we have had a totally different experience at Luther Jones. My child is just a number at this school. I have had such a frustrating experience at this school my child will be switching to private next year. If you don't mind your child being lost in the crowd and not being encouraged even in the slightest way this is your school. Otherwise, keep looking because Luther Jones is seriously lacking where it counts.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 28, 2007

Jones Elementary is an outstanding school. The faculty and staff are the kind of people that you can trust to take care of your children. All students are taught as if they are in a talented/gifted program, and it shows in their work and their attitudes. I have two children at Jones. We are very happy with the school and would recommend it to anyone.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 15, 2006

So far so good. I think the extracurricular activities are great and numerous and the teachers are very helpful.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 89% in 2011.

100 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
94%
Math

The state average for Math was 87% in 2011.

101 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
79%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 85% in 2011.

119 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
94%
Math

The state average for Math was 88% in 2011.

120 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
89%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 90% in 2011.

116 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
98%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 82% in 2011.

126 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
99%
Math

The state average for Math was 81% in 2011.

125 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
93%
Science

The state average for Science was 87% in 2011.

123 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
94%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students94%
Female94%
Male94%
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic91%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White97%
Economically disadvantaged85%
Not economically disadvantaged97%
Special education100%
Not special education94%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English94%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant94%
Gifted/talentedn/a

Math

All Students91%
Female90%
Male92%
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic88%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White97%
Economically disadvantaged81%
Not economically disadvantaged95%
Special education71%
Not special education93%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English91%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant91%
Gifted/talentedn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students89%
Female91%
Male88%
Black or African American88%
Asian80%
Hispanic87%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White92%
Economically disadvantaged78%
Not economically disadvantaged94%
Special education67%
Not special education90%
Limited English proficient (LEP)60%
Proficient in English90%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant89%
Gifted/talentedn/a

Math

All Students86%
Female91%
Male82%
Black or African American88%
Asian80%
Hispanic84%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White88%
Economically disadvantaged78%
Not economically disadvantaged89%
Special education71%
Not special education87%
Limited English proficient (LEP)80%
Proficient in English86%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant86%
Gifted/talentedn/a

Writing

All Students93%
Female98%
Male89%
Black or African American75%
Asian100%
Hispanic92%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White96%
Economically disadvantaged83%
Not economically disadvantaged98%
Special educationn/a
Not special education94%
Limited English proficient (LEP)100%
Proficient in English93%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant93%
Gifted/talentedn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students98%
Female97%
Male98%
Black or African American83%
Asian100%
Hispanic97%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White100%
Economically disadvantaged92%
Not economically disadvantaged99%
Special education100%
Not special education97%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English97%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant98%
Gifted/talentedn/a

Math

All Students97%
Female97%
Male96%
Black or African American67%
Asian100%
Hispanic98%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White98%
Economically disadvantaged88%
Not economically disadvantaged99%
Special education100%
Not special education97%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English97%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant97%
Gifted/talentedn/a

Science

All Students93%
Female93%
Male95%
Black or African American83%
Asian83%
Hispanic90%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White98%
Economically disadvantaged84%
Not economically disadvantaged95%
Special education100%
Not special education92%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English93%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant93%
Gifted/talentedn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 79% in 2013.

101 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
88%
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

101 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
82%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 72% in 2013.

98 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
83%
Math

The state average for Math was 68% in 2013.

98 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
67%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 71% in 2013.

98 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
75%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 77% in 2013.

102 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
81%
Math

The state average for Math was 75% in 2013.

102 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
80%
Science

The state average for Science was 73% in 2013.

103 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
67%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students85%
Female95%
Male77%
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic87%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White83%
Economically disadvantaged74%
Not economically disadvantaged88%
Special education25%
Not special education90%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English85%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant85%
Gifted/talentedn/a
Not Gifted85%
Bilingualn/a

Math

All Students77%
Female82%
Male74%
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic75%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White78%
Economically disadvantaged68%
Not economically disadvantaged79%
Special education0%
Not special education84%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English77%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant77%
Gifted/talentedn/a
Not Gifted77%
Bilingualn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students76%
Female85%
Male69%
Black or African Americann/a
Asian100%
Hispanic65%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White91%
Economically disadvantaged77%
Not economically disadvantaged75%
Special education20%
Not special education78%
Limited English proficient (LEP)60%
Proficient in English75%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant76%
Gifted/talentedn/a
Not Gifted76%
Bilingualn/a

Math

All Students70%
Female72%
Male69%
Black or African Americann/a
Asian100%
Hispanic58%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White81%
Economically disadvantaged64%
Not economically disadvantaged72%
Special education40%
Not special education72%
Limited English proficient (LEP)80%
Proficient in English69%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant70%
Gifted/talentedn/a
Not Gifted70%
Bilingualn/a

Writing

All Students80%
Female85%
Male76%
Black or African Americann/a
Asian100%
Hispanic71%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White94%
Economically disadvantaged82%
Not economically disadvantaged79%
Special education20%
Not special education83%
Limited English proficient (LEP)100%
Proficient in English79%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant80%
Gifted/talentedn/a
Not Gifted80%
Bilingualn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students86%
Female84%
Male89%
Black or African American100%
Asian80%
Hispanic82%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White93%
Economically disadvantaged73%
Not economically disadvantaged91%
Special education43%
Not special education89%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English87%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant86%
Gifted/talentedn/a
Not Gifted86%
Bilingualn/a

Math

All Students83%
Female85%
Male81%
Black or African American80%
Asian80%
Hispanic81%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White89%
Economically disadvantaged60%
Not economically disadvantaged91%
Special education38%
Not special education87%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English83%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant83%
Gifted/talentedn/a
Not Gifted83%
Bilingualn/a

Science

All Students70%
Female66%
Male74%
Black or African American60%
Asian40%
Hispanic65%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White86%
Economically disadvantaged50%
Not economically disadvantaged77%
Special education33%
Not special education73%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English70%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant70%
Gifted/talentedn/a
Not Gifted70%
Bilingualn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

  • In 2010-2011, this school was rated "Recognized".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was rated "Recognized".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was rated "Exemplary".

About the tests


Texas uses Accountability Ratings to indicate the overall performance of each school and district. The ratings are based on TAKS test results, dropout rates for grades 7 and 8 and school completion rates for grades 9 through 12. Schools and districts rated under standard accountability procedures are designated as Exemplary, Recognized, Academically Acceptable or Academically Unacceptable. Schools and districts rated under alternative education accountability (AEA) procedures are designated as either AEA: Academically Acceptable or AEA: Academically Unacceptable.

Source: Texas Education Agency

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 52% 52%
White 38% 29%
Asian or Pacific Islander 3% 4%
Black 3% 13%
Two or more races 3% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native N/A 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander N/A 0%
Source: TX Education Agency, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient (LEP) 2%N/A17%
Source: TX Education Agency, 2013-2014

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
Beginning teachers 3%N/AN/A
Source: Civil Rights Data Collection, 2011-2012

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

7533 Lipes Boulevard
Corpus Christi, TX 78413
Website: Click here
Phone: (361) 994-3674

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Yorktown Christian Academy
Corpus Christi, TX


Rise Academy
Lubbock, TX



Club Estates
Corpus Christi, TX


Dawson Elementary School
Corpus Christi, TX



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT