Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Flour Bluff Junior High School

Public | 7-8 | 886 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

17 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 9, 2011

Considering the diversity of social, economic, and educational levels, I find that Flour Bluff does a wonderful job of reaching every child. The teachers are very kind, reaching out to kids in a way that captivates and interests them in he subject. The school work is relatively challenging in the upper-level classes, but it's nothing a hard-working kid can't handle. Academics is very emphasized and promoted, UIL Math and English challenges never failing to make the morning announcements even if some athletics miss out. Over all, my experience as a student at this school has been wonderful and I think the people, staff, and teachers are great!


Posted November 2, 2010

extremely well organized, excellent opportunities to bring out the best in the individual student with various special programs in academically as well athletics a well pounded common sense school with experienced staff and teachers that go out of there way to make learning interesting to TEENAGERS .
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 28, 2010

My child attended here last year. I was very pleased with the school. The teachers, principal and assistant were very courteous and helpful. The secretary is so sweet. The only problem I had had was with the superintendent. She is extrememly unavailable and I had to go through so much red tape to see her I just gave up.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 13, 2010

Staff too busy worrying about everything except the child's education. Emphasis on who took an MP3 player and keeping children in 'office' vs the classroom. MP3 players should be left out of school at the risk of being stolen. Books and reading and Math need to be the primary focus of the staff especially in light of the TAKS test. No child left behind, until the school can help every child master the basic skills they need to get their collective heads back in the game and not the every day minutia that goes on in every junior high school. Educators should go about the business of educating, not investigating who owns an MP3 player. Please.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 6, 2010

This school is a joke... the teachers focus only on their own lives out of school, not on the job they are getting paid to do, they show no concern if the kids are borderline or failing, and show no compassion whatsoever towards the students or the parents.... my decision to send my child to this school was the worst decisonn i ever made
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 13, 2009

i went to this school when i was a 7th grader....and now im going into 8th but i moved to washington. let me tell you this.....flour bluff is the best school district ever. it has great people,tons of friends,and a nice staff. i really wiah i could go back to this school. its been my favorite and will always be. :)
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 14, 2009

I used to go to this school and when I moved to the school district i am currently at I was so behind. I am now in the 8th grade and I moved when I was in 5th grade and Flour Bluff is a joke. The school I am at now could beat their test scores without even trying.
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 6, 2009

this school is awesome im a 7th grader at the school its amzing the teachers are great i dont understand why people think that this school isnt very good its very good and all teh teachers techa lot and we learn so much!
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 22, 2008

i am a cheerleader at flour bluff and i love the school...teachers are great and the kids are really friendly
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 16, 2007

Teachers are helpful. Principal is friendly and avaliable. School is clean and safe.
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 28, 2007

The biggest mistake I ever made was to send my child to this school. The quality of the gifted program is very low. My child was used to a rigorous program that challenged him. This school does not understand what a gifted program should look like. The principal is never available to discuss anything.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 9, 2006

This school has a poor teaching skills
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 15, 2006

My son is in the 'sail program'. While it does have Far better discipline than the rest of the school, the idea that it's gifted and talented is a joke. the only reason that their parents don't know it is that they've been in Flour Bluff the whole time and have nothing to compare it to. It's also because there is little or no parental involvement. Parents are not made to feel very welcome - rather intimidated on campus. Even the open house wasn't very 'open'. They do have a couple of strong extracurriculars - UIL and ROTC.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 11, 2006

Great Education Program for the Accelerated Child. 5 great Years in this district.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 30, 2006

I am the parent of an 8th grade student at flour bluff jr. high school. I would give this school an overall poor rating. The new principal as of '05/06 does not listen to parents concerns, and was even yawning the whole time I had a meeting with him. It's obvious he's there just for the paycheck. Also, the daily lunches are all high fat, fried, unhealthy selections. Even in the hot tray line. I thought Tx. had passed some kind of law about junk food served for kids lunches? Lacking in extracurricular activities. They have flyers for several clubs but they don't really exist. As a poor, single parent I have no other options but if I did I'd take my son out of that school in a heartbeat.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 20, 2005

Flour Bluff Junior High has a tradition of excellence in academics, athletics, and social involvement. Students feel 'at home' in our school; so much so, that many actually return years later to teach in the school they once attended.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 4, 2005

This school values standardized testing very highly. The school works all year preparing the students for the TAKS test. The academic programs are detailed and offer subjects that appeal to many interests. I did not notice a lot of parental involvment.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 86% in 2011.

408 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
86%
Math

The state average for Math was 81% in 2011.

406 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
80%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 94% in 2011.

403 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
90%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 85% in 2011.

453 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
96%
Math

The state average for Math was 73% in 2011.

446 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
86%
Science

The state average for Science was 79% in 2011.

451 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
77%

2010

 
 
73%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 95% in 2011.

453 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
91%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students91%
Female91%
Male90%
Black or African American100%
Asian90%
Hispanic91%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White90%
Economically disadvantaged85%
Not economically disadvantaged95%
Special education78%
Not special education92%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English91%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant91%
Gifted/talented100%

Math

All Students85%
Female84%
Male85%
Black or African American100%
Asian90%
Hispanic82%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White86%
Economically disadvantaged79%
Not economically disadvantaged89%
Special education68%
Not special education86%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English85%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant85%
Gifted/talented100%

Writing

All Students95%
Female95%
Male94%
Black or African American100%
Asian90%
Hispanic94%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White95%
Economically disadvantaged93%
Not economically disadvantaged96%
Special education73%
Not special education96%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English95%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant95%
Gifted/talented100%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students95%
Female97%
Male93%
Black or African American90%
Asian100%
Hispanic92%
American Indian or Alaska Native100%
White96%
Economically disadvantaged91%
Not economically disadvantaged97%
Special education63%
Not special education98%
Limited English proficient (LEP)57%
Proficient in English95%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant95%
Gifted/talented100%

Math

All Students93%
Female94%
Male92%
Black or African American90%
Asian89%
Hispanic89%
American Indian or Alaska Native100%
White95%
Economically disadvantaged90%
Not economically disadvantaged95%
Special education69%
Not special education95%
Limited English proficient (LEP)80%
Proficient in English93%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant93%
Gifted/talented100%

Science

All Students77%
Female78%
Male77%
Black or African American60%
Asian70%
Hispanic68%
American Indian or Alaska Native60%
White85%
Economically disadvantaged68%
Not economically disadvantaged84%
Special education35%
Not special education82%
Limited English proficient (LEP)29%
Proficient in English78%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant77%
Gifted/talented100%

Social Studies

All Students95%
Female96%
Male94%
Black or African American90%
Asian90%
Hispanic92%
American Indian or Alaska Native100%
White98%
Economically disadvantaged92%
Not economically disadvantaged97%
Special education78%
Not special education97%
Limited English proficient (LEP)100%
Proficient in English95%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant95%
Gifted/talented100%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 77% in 2013.

446 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
79%
Math

The state average for Math was 71% in 2013.

394 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
75%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 70% in 2013.

445 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
70%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 84% in 2013.

436 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
86%
Math

The state average for Math was 77% in 2013.

301 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
86%
Science

The state average for Science was 75% in 2013.

443 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
78%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 63% in 2013.

442 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
64%

2012

 
 
67%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 78% in 2013.

170 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
99%

2012

 
 
100%
Algebra II

The state average for Algebra II was 97% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 85% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
Chemistry

The state average for Chemistry was 84% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
English I Reading

The state average for English I Reading was 65% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
English I Writing

The state average for English I Writing was 48% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
English II Reading

The state average for English II Reading was 78% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
English II Writing

The state average for English II Writing was 52% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
English III Reading

The state average for English III Reading was 63% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
English III Writing

The state average for English III Writing was 42% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 86% in 2013.

21 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
100%
Physics

The state average for Physics was 81% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
U.S. History

The state average for U.S. History was 73% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
World Geography

The state average for World Geography was 75% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
World History

The state average for World History was 70% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students82%
Female86%
Male79%
Black or African American63%
Asian100%
Hispanic81%
Multiracial92%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White83%
Economically disadvantaged74%
Not economically disadvantaged89%
Special education67%
Not special education83%
Limited English proficient (LEP)38%
Proficient in English83%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant82%
Gifted/talented100%
Non-Gifted79%
Bilingualn/a

Math

All Students73%
Female71%
Male75%
Black or African American57%
Asiann/a
Hispanic66%
Multiracial100%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White77%
Economically disadvantaged68%
Not economically disadvantaged78%
Special education44%
Not special education75%
Limited English proficient (LEP)38%
Proficient in English74%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant73%
Gifted/talented100%
Non-Gifted71%
Bilingualn/a

Writing

All Students67%
Female77%
Male58%
Black or African American53%
Asian100%
Hispanic65%
Multiracial77%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White67%
Economically disadvantaged53%
Not economically disadvantaged78%
Special education28%
Not special education69%
Limited English proficient (LEP)0%
Proficient in English68%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant67%
Gifted/talented100%
Non-Gifted60%
Bilingualn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students86%
Female86%
Male85%
Black or African American85%
Asian87%
Hispanic84%
Multiracial100%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White86%
Economically disadvantaged79%
Not economically disadvantaged90%
Special education60%
Not special education87%
Limited English proficient (LEP)80%
Proficient in English86%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant86%
Gifted/talented100%
Non-Gifted82%
Bilingualn/a

Math

All Students76%
Female74%
Male77%
Black or African American100%
Asian70%
Hispanic68%
Multiracial82%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White80%
Economically disadvantaged64%
Not economically disadvantaged85%
Special education52%
Not special education78%
Limited English proficient (LEP)50%
Proficient in English76%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant76%
Gifted/talented100%
Non-Gifted72%
Bilingualn/a

Science

All Students77%
Female71%
Male83%
Black or African American85%
Asian67%
Hispanic69%
Multiracial93%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White82%
Economically disadvantaged68%
Not economically disadvantaged84%
Special education43%
Not special education80%
Limited English proficient (LEP)80%
Proficient in English77%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant77%
Gifted/talented100%
Non-Gifted71%
Bilingualn/a

Social Studies

All Students64%
Female58%
Male68%
Black or African American62%
Asian73%
Hispanic51%
Multiracial80%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White70%
Economically disadvantaged47%
Not economically disadvantaged75%
Special education39%
Not special education65%
Limited English proficient (LEP)50%
Proficient in English64%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant63%
Gifted/talented100%
Non-Gifted54%
Bilingualn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

Algebra I

All Students99%
Female99%
Male100%
Black or African American100%
Asian100%
Hispanic100%
Multiracial100%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White99%
Economically disadvantaged100%
Not economically disadvantaged99%
Special educationn/a
Not special education99%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English99%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant99%
Gifted/talented100%
Non-Gifted99%
Bilingualn/a

Algebra II

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrantn/a
Gifted/talentedn/a
Non-Giftedn/a
Bilingualn/a

Biology I

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrantn/a
Gifted/talentedn/a
Non-Giftedn/a
Bilingualn/a

Chemistry

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrantn/a
Gifted/talentedn/a
Non-Giftedn/a
Bilingualn/a

English I Reading

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrantn/a
Gifted/talentedn/a
Non-Giftedn/a
Bilingualn/a

English I Writing

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrantn/a
Gifted/talentedn/a
Non-Giftedn/a
Bilingualn/a

English II Reading

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrantn/a
Gifted/talentedn/a
Non-Giftedn/a
Bilingualn/a

English II Writing

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrantn/a
Gifted/talentedn/a
Non-Giftedn/a
Bilingualn/a

English III Reading

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrantn/a
Gifted/talentedn/a
Non-Giftedn/a

English III Writing

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrantn/a
Gifted/talentedn/a
Non-Giftedn/a

Geometry

All Students100%
Female100%
Male100%
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic100%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White100%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantaged100%
Special educationn/a
Not special education100%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English100%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant100%
Gifted/talented100%
Non-Giftedn/a
Bilingualn/a

Physics

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrantn/a
Gifted/talentedn/a
Non-Giftedn/a

U.S. History

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrantn/a
Gifted/talentedn/a
Non-Giftedn/a

World Geography

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrantn/a
Gifted/talentedn/a
Non-Giftedn/a
Bilingualn/a

World History

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrantn/a
Gifted/talentedn/a
Non-Giftedn/a
Bilingualn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

  • In 2010-2011, this school was rated "Academically Acceptable".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was rated "Recognized".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was rated "Academically Acceptable".

About the tests


Texas uses Accountability Ratings to indicate the overall performance of each school and district. The ratings are based on TAKS test results, dropout rates for grades 7 and 8 and school completion rates for grades 9 through 12. Schools and districts rated under standard accountability procedures are designated as Exemplary, Recognized, Academically Acceptable or Academically Unacceptable. Schools and districts rated under alternative education accountability (AEA) procedures are designated as either AEA: Academically Acceptable or AEA: Academically Unacceptable.

Source: Texas Education Agency

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 51% 31%
Hispanic 38% 50%
Black 4% 13%
Two or more races 3% 2%
Asian 2% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

207 Hustlin Hornet
Corpus Christi, TX 78418
Phone: (361) 694-9300

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Seashore Middle Academy
Corpus Christi, TX



Haas Middle School
Corpus Christi, TX


New Hope Baptist Academy
Corpus Christi, TX


Kaffie Middle School
Corpus Christi, TX


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT