Advertisement
Advertisement

St. Pius X School - Corpus Christi

Private | PK-9

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Corpus Christi

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $111,500. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $860.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

8 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 6, 2011

Very poor quality in follow through from the administration and staff. I am dissatisfied after 3 years of attendance.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 9, 2010

My husband and I are extremely impressed with St. Pius X Catholic School in Corpus Christi, TX! We will have 4 children there and couldn't be happier with the teachers, staff, curriculum and Catholic education in a strong and safe Christian environment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 20, 2010

St. Pius X is a Nationally recognized Blue Ribbon School with highly dedicated teachers, and a loving Catholic environment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 28, 2010

My son is on his 5th year at St. Pius X, the current class size for his second grade classroom is 15 students 1 teacher. He gets pulled out twice a day for enrichment which is great. We chose to place our son at St. Pius X although a great sacrifice because he is safe, we do not worry about bullying, wasted class time, angry teachers or ill mannered children. The kids are not perfect but they will act their age, the 5th and 6th grade girls actually still look like little girls. I teach in a public school and it is scary, the behaviors of some of my 5th grade students are that of a 15 year old....not what I want to expose my 8 year old to. Love this school, did I mention that they do not teach to a standardized test, they teach to gain knowledge. Go figure!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 9, 2010

I can only share my experience that occured: I had to transfer my child out of this school during the school year due to an unresolved situation where the children were not being very nice with my child. My child would come home crying. My child was an honor student there; however, when I tranfered my child to a public school, my child scored under a 50 on the TAKS test in Math. My child has been tutored since then and is now catching up with math academics. My child scored very well in the Reading TAKS test, but I attribute that to having books exposed to my child since my child was 6 months old. They have a wonderful religious ed program (5 stars).
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 11, 2007

Great academics. Very advanced compared to most public elementary schools. Safe and nuturing environment. Great Catholic values promoted. Perfect size. Happy kids in a protected environment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 23, 2006

Safe, caring, Catholic environment with excellent academic standards and athletics.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 26, 2003

I think St. Pius is a great environment for both the parents and children. [Everyone] is very helpful and has the children at heart.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 51% 37%
Hispanic 47% 47%
Asian 1% N/A
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 1% N/A
Two or more races 1% N/A
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Black 0% 14%
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • TCC,NCEA
Fax number
  • (361) 992-0329

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Diocese of Corpus Christi
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

737 St Pius Dr
Corpus Christi, TX 78412
Phone: (361) 992-1343

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Cullen Middle School
Corpus Christi, TX


Montclair Elementary School
Corpus Christi, TX


Windsor Park G/T
Corpus Christi, TX



Our Lady of Perpetual Help
Corpus Christi, TX


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT