Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Arlington Heights Christian School

Private | PK-12 | 160 students

AHCS is best known for its excellence in academics

 

Living in Corpus Christi

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $135,400. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $860.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars


Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

8 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted November 9, 2010

I like Arlington Heights for their individual attention my kids get. They are get a fantastic education and the spiritual foundation that they will carry in their hearts forever.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 19, 2010

AHCS teaches Christian values in a Christian environment. The core curriculum is a fundamental part of each child's development.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 12, 2010

We love our school. It is a very nuturing and educational environment
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 11, 2010

I love this school! My 4 year old looks forward to going to school and I don't have to fight with him to go to school. All staff is so friendly.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 11, 2010

This school is not only a great school for leadership but also a awsome church. My son is only 3 and knows more verses from the bible then I did at 18 yrs its such a blessing to know that when I'm at work he is well taken care of!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 10, 2010

I am a previous student there I attended there from pre-k through 5th grade. I am now a senior in high school, and I must admit it is the best school I have ever attended. The teachers were great, they really do have and amazing educational program. Not to mention you get to learn about god while you are there! I can't imagine a better school!


Posted October 10, 2010

It not only teaches you child great values it give your child that one on one that they need. Arlington Heights strives on wanting the best for your child. They don't just hire any teacher, they take the time to really find the right one. I'm so blessed to have my child in this school becuase I know it's all about the kids.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 18, 2007

I really enjoyed this school. MY daughter enjoyed the teachers a lot. However, we will not be attending next year b/c their curriculum does not suit my child who has a lot of energy. The school gives them little time to expend that energy. There is a lot of repetition and a lot of seat work for their young age. However many of the children did well with. Know what your child needs before committing to this highly structured school. Some blossom here others need more moments to experience and explore their independence.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 63% 31%
Hispanic 35% 51%
Black 2% 13%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Asian or Pacific Islander 0% 4%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 2%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

College readiness and student pathways

Students typically attend these schools prior to attending this school Tuloso-Midway ISD
Calallen ISD
Read more about resources at this school
Source: Manually entered by a school official.

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
Reading specialist(s)
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • None - the school offers no services
Extra learning resources offered
  • Differentiated learning programs

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Performance stage
Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Gym
  • Kitchen

Gifted & talented

Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
School leaders can update this information here.

School basics

School start time
  • 8:00 am
School end time
  • 2:50 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school: starts at 7:00 a.m.
  • After school: ends at 6:00 p.m.
School Leader's name
  • Mrs. Leanne Isom
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
  • Phone
Age at which early childhood or Pre-K program begins
  • 3 years old
Gender
  • Coed
Boarding options
  • Day school
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Church of the Nazarene
Associations
  • ACSI
Fax number
  • (361) 242-9284

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Multi-aged
  • Teacher-run
  • Virtual school
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • None - the school offers no services
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
  • Reading specialist(s)
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
  • Differentiated learning programs
  • Remediation
  • Tutoring
Transportation options
  • None
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Auditorium
  • Cafeteria
  • Chapel/spiritual reflection center
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Kitchen
  • Library
  • Performance stage
  • Playground
School leaders can update this information here.

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Football
Girls sports
  • Cheerleading

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
Performing arts
  • None
Media arts
  • None
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Dress code
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Volunteer in the classroom
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

This school accepts applications on a

rolling basis

 
Apply now
 

What are your chances?


8 out of 10students were accepted for the 2013-2014 school year.


Students accepted for the 2013-2014 school year
160
Applications received for the 2013-2014 school year
200
Students typically come from these schools
Tuloso-Midway ISD
Calallen ISD

What does it cost?

Tuition range for the 2013-2014 school year
$4000 - $5000
Vouchers accepted
No
Financial aid offered
No.

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
University of Texas (Austin)
Texas A&M (College Station)
Texas Tech
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

9550 Leopard St
Corpus Christi, TX 78410
Website: Click here
Phone: (361) 241-0090

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Tuloso-Midway Primary School
Corpus Christi, TX


Tuloso-Midway High School
Corpus Christi, TX




Tuloso-Midway Middle School
Corpus Christi, TX



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT