Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Covenant Academy

Private | K-11 | 120 students

K-11, Fully Accredited, Offering Christian Education in a Close-Knit Community.
 
 

 

Living in Cypress

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $163,300. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,010.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 4 ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 7 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

School Official Point of View

Posted June 27, 2014

At Covenant, we are seeking to connect the heart of the child to the heart of God by helping them to understand that He is all wisdom and knowledge and His Word is applicable to every subject and situation we face. We desire to instill in each child a deep sense of the joy of learning by challenging them, stretching them and growing them within the context of trusting and safe relationships. Our older students provide a tremendous amount of leadership in our school and our teachers are passionate about their calling as educators. In all things, we are about pursuing wisdom and virtue and the glory of God. Come and see for yourself!

17 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 28, 2014

We feel so blessed and happy with Covenant Academy, is truly an excellent school! We were looking for better education and we found this and more. Your child will have an advance education and also they teach kids to be better persons, to have responsibilities, respect each other, caring and to be a strong person for the future. We are so happy to see that the school is growing in students and in every concept. Thank you Covenant!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 25, 2014

Our family loves Covenant! The curriculum is thorough, rigorous, and classical. The students love being at school and love learning. The teachers get to know each and every child in their class (and most of the ones in the other classes too). They seek to love them and shepherd their hearts. My children are being trained up in the ways of the Lord. I would not have my kids anywhere else. So thankful for the teachers, head of school, and staff.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 22, 2014

The concern I have is their use of resources. There is a tight group that controls this school. They include the principal, many teachers and most of the parents on the board. The issue is that their children are at or entering high school age. They expend a large percentage of their budget to create a high school for perhaps 6 kids. this includes buildings, teachers and teaching materials. They intend to grow the school to encompass K -12 by adding a grade per year, which also happens to coincide with the oldest child of the principal. The plan is ambitious and they are not able to execute it without a negative impact on the primary grade levels. Over the two years our children were there we noticed the best teachers were reassigned to the high school grade levels while the K though 6 were handled with entry level teachers and parent volunteers. Interacting with these teachers could be troublesome. In the end we looked elsewhere for our children's education.Classical curriculum is excellent. This conflict of interest and resources will not be equalized and sorted out until years from now. If your plan is to educate your K-5 or even 8th grader this may not be the place.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 20, 2014

Does not reflect God's beautiful rainbow of people in the world. In a Christian school efforts should be made to have a diverse group of God's people, God serves more than one group of people and he wants us to welcome all students from all ethnic groups.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 4, 2013

Covenant Academy is AMAZING! From day one they have been very welcoming and every single experience has been very positive. My daughter is in love with this school and she wants to graduate here...and she is so little :) This is the place to be if you want the whole package for your kids an excellent education, parents are involved, teachers love to teach and care about your kids and best of all that your kids will grow up knowing about God's word. Many thanks!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 28, 2013

My husband and I moved our daughter to Covenant Academy in February of 2013. After a few weeks of attending school there in the first grade, she came home saying that Covenant had changed her life. She feels safe, loved, and accepted. She is learning so much that she never had learned at her public school. Not only is she happy, but as a parent, I feel that the school communicates well with us and is in partnership with us in raising our daughter to become a Godly woman.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 6, 2012

My daughter attends Covenant Academy. Unlike Cy-Fair schools that have just become so over-crowded, and as a result they have issues with classroom management and forget about your child as a result. Cy-Fair schools waste so much precious time preparing for the taks/star tests - that you only learn how to pass these tests - as a result your child loses precious time getting a proper education. The staff at Covenant are well educated and accountable for your childs education. They all take the time and effort to be engaged and mindful of your childs development. They do not tolerate alot of what goes on at the elem and middle schools in Cypress. The children that attend Covenant are held to a higher moral standard. And it is not as though teachers in Cy-Fair don't want the best for their students, they just don't have the support and time to do so. At Covenant it is the complete opposite. The class sizes are smaller and the staff does not tolerate the moral decline seen in schools now. If you are thinking about private school for your child - Covenant is a blessing in our local community. I am so thankful I found this school, what a relief.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 2, 2011

Covenant Academy is an excellent school to send your children to. The teachers are well qualified and do a great job of training up the children in the way of Christ. The Head of School is doing wonderfully in bringing the school to where it needs to be. Our family has had a wonderful experience and I am so thankful for the work they are doing there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 11, 2011

Great year, new clubs (too much to choose), better studies, defined homework policy, simpler and improved PTF, clear expectations, 9th grade on horizon, new hires in office and in classrooms that are qualified and needed, simpler field trip procedures, new board member addition, music for all, combined elementary recess, team sports started, wonderful new building addition , happy with changes and support administration fully.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 4, 2011

I want people to know this is a good place.This is really a good school, now. We've been here for our 4th year now and this is the 1st year we've felt totally comfortable because before we just werent sure about the quality of the education. Every year we struggled about reenrolling. We are VERY glad we did this year. Now this new head of school has come in and shakened things up in that she has made some changes for the better. Some parents are struggling with the change. We are offended by that core family comment below. There are NO "core families" at the school - people can come and go - Christ is the core of this school and there are a lot of parents really who are praying that these families who are so negative and unwilling to embrace positive change would turn their eyes towards Jesus. If you are thinking about our school and can ignore parent drama you will love this school and you are lucky you are here now - they are serious about classical education not just making it a glorified homeschool. One of my kids is in chess club which is new and one is going to join the choir eventually. They have lots of activities and stuff going on. NOW we give 2 thumbs up.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 4, 2011

What is wrong with hiring someone you know and call a friend if they are qualified? Isnt that called networking? School is great. Leave the negative comments please so parents like us, who also have junior high kids and have been there a while but who love the school's new direction can reply to this negative campaign. Dont understand why people who are so unhappy would stay.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 30, 2011

This school is serious about it's future developments. Clear plans for growing into a high school beginning next year, developing athletics programs (the junior high girls' volleyball team won their first match last night!), and continuing a strong Christian classical education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 8, 2011

Great Christian school with purposeful direction from new Head. Been here many years under the changes, but have a completely different opinion. Yes, last year's 8th grade class=7 girls, but not only does this year's 8th grade class have 13 boys/girls, the school also has the largest junior high enrollment ever. Any parent who states the jr. high is weak must not have had a jr. high student and experienced the very rigorous learning that takes place. The info about class sizes and # of classes also seems to be inaccurate/incomplete/misleading. Both of my kids' classes are larger than last year. Sure numbers fluctuate for different reasons: moves, financial, even those unhappy with experience, but an overall drop of about 7 or 8 students in one year is not alarming in today's economy. The added sports mentioned earlier but not recognized could mean they didn't read their email or make it to that sign up table last month. Anyone looking for a school STILL committed to a quality Christian Classical Education should visit Covenant and see it for yourself. Too many inaccuracies and holes in the previous post to keep anyone from seeing what a great school this is!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 23, 2011

What a great start to the school year! It is the second day of classes and there are many improvements to the organization and the campus. The administration, faculty and staff are continuing their dedication to the pursuit of excellence in CHRISTIAN, classical education for our children. It shows! To complement the strong curriculum, Covenant has added classes after school such as theater arts, chess, beginner band, team sports, etiquette & social dance and two choir programs to further cultivate an understanding of truth from God's word and an appreciation of goodness and beauty. Covenant is making a lasting difference in our lives.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 1, 2009

We are very happy with this school as our kids are learning to think and process, not just find the answer. We are happy that the school wants to grow to a high school level
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 20, 2008

This is our first full year at Covenant. Thus far we have been pleased. EDUCATION- obviously a priority and doing a good job of incorporating proven methods. They are consistent with the Classical Method. RELIGION- focus on God's love and emphasizes scripture memorization. ADMINISTRATION- well organized, compassionate, caring and able to stand their ground when necessary. The principal is actively involved and goes out of his way to develop a caring but authoritative relationship with the students. He is also very approachable to parents. Communication could be better. They are understaffed in the school office and it shows. Just a small bug that can easily be worked out. TEACHERS- excellent. FACILITY- this school will be moving into a new facility for the Fall Semester 2008. The new facility will have a library and new computer lab. We are very pleased with the genuine 'heart' of this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 16, 2008

This is our third year at Covenant, and each year my fondness for this school grows immensely. We have wonderful, godly teachers who teach solid Biblical truth, with superior academics. My child is thriving here and feels loved, nurtured, respected, and challenged. As far as I'm concerned, this is northwest Houston's best-kept secret. The parent volunteers are amazing, and are treated with love and appreciation by the teachers and staff. This school has blessed our family beyond measure.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

College readiness and student pathways

Students typically attend these schools prior to attending this school Private Preschools
Other Christian or Classical Schools
Public Schools
Read more about resources at this school
Source: Manually entered by a school official.

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Dance teacher(s)
Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by school staff American sign language
French
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Outdoor learning lab
  • Science lab

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Sculpture
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
Performing and written arts
  • Creative writing
  • Dance
  • Drama
Clubs
  • Dance club: Ballet, Tap, Jazz
  • Yearbook

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Latin
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • American sign language
  • French

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")

Gifted & talented

College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • SAT/ACT prep classes
  • School-sponsored trips to college campuses
  • Visiting teachers or lecturers from colleges
School leaders can update this information here.

School basics

School start time
  • 7:45 am
School end time
  • 3:30 pm
School Leader's name
  • Leslie Collins
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
  • Phone
Gender
  • Coed
Boarding options
  • Day school
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Nondenominational
Associations
  • AdvancEd
Fax number
  • (281) 582-8227

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Classical (e.g., focuses on the "classics")
  • College prep
  • Direct instruction
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Foreign languages taught
  • Latin
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • None

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • American sign language
  • French
Extra learning resources offered
  • NILD
  • Remediation
  • Tutoring
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • SAT/ACT prep classes
  • School-sponsored trips to college campuses
  • Visiting teachers or lecturers from colleges
Transportation options
  • None
School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Art room
  • Audiovisual aids
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Internet access
  • Library
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
  • Music room
  • Outdoor learning lab
  • Performance stage
  • Playground
  • Science lab
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
School leaders can update this information here.

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Football
  • Track
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Sculpture
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
Performing arts
  • Creative writing
  • Dance
  • Drama
Media arts
  • None

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Chess club
  • Dance club: Ballet, Tap, Jazz
  • Homework help/study buddy club
  • Student council/government
  • Yearbook
School leaders can update this information here.

Photos

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Coach sports teams or extracurricular activities
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Monitor the playground
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Tutor
  • Volunteer in the classroom
  • Volunteer time after school
More from this school
  • Covenant Academy is pleased to announce that we will have our first graduating class in spring 2016!
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

This school accepts applications on a

rolling basis

 
Apply now
 

What are your chances?


9 out of 10students were accepted for the 2013-2014 school year.


Students accepted for the 2013-2014 school year
34
Applications received for the 2013-2014 school year
37
Students typically come from these schools
Private Preschools
Other Christian or Classical Schools
Public Schools

What does it cost?

Tuition range for the 2013-2014 school year
$8000 - $10000
Vouchers accepted
No
Financial aid offered
Yes.
School-based aid
FAST

Planning ahead

College preparation / awareness offered
SAT/ACT prep classes
School-sponsored trips to college campuses
Visiting teachers or lecturers from colleges
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

11711 Telge Road
Cypress, TX 77429
Website: Click here
Phone: (281) 373-2233

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT