Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
School principal icon 130x130 140902

School Official Point of View

At Covenant, we are seeking to connect the heart of the child to the heart of God by helping them to understand that He is all wisdom and knowledge and His Word is applicable to every subject and situation we face. We desire to instill in each child a deep sense of the joy of learning by challenging them, stretching them and growing them within the context of trusting and safe relationships. Our older students provide a tremendous amount of leadership in our school and our teachers are passionate about their calling as educators. In all things, we are about pursuing wisdom and virtue and the glory of God. Come and see for yourself!
June 27, 2014

5 stars
Based on 19 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Covenant Academy 5

Posted October 29, 2014
- a parent
The lost tools of learning have been found at Covenant Academy. Our 2 children are challenged every day to deliver their best at Covenant and several reasons contribute; Christian foundation, loving teachers, encouraging environment, rigorous Trivium curriculum and classmates who also strive to deliver their best. Teachers require the students to think critically while adding and nurturing additional layers of moral and character bedrock. The relatively small classes ensure nuances in learning are engrained where students master a skill before moving on to the next development. Our children are not forced to wait for the others to catch up while they may not be aware how rigorously this program pushes them. The Classical education is successful in developing critical minds by utilizing high quality study materials and avoiding propaganda that have been distilled into irrelevancy. Since joining Covenant this fall our active children in 4th and 5th grade children have not been made to feel overwhelmed or unfit. Covenant has been a sound investment in our most important priorities; the children and their minds.

Covenant Academy 5

Posted August 28, 2014
- a parent
We feel so blessed and happy with Covenant Academy, is truly an excellent school! We were looking for better education and we found this and more. Your child will have an advance education and also they teach kids to be better persons, to have responsibilities, respect each other, caring and to be a strong person for the future. We are so happy to see that the school is growing in students and in every concept. Thank you Covenant!


Covenant Academy 5

Posted June 25, 2014
- a parent
Our family loves Covenant! The curriculum is thorough, rigorous, and classical. The students love being at school and love learning. The teachers get to know each and every child in their class (and most of the ones in the other classes too). They seek to love them and shepherd their hearts. My children are being trained up in the ways of the Lord. I would not have my kids anywhere else. So thankful for the teachers, head of school, and staff.

Covenant Academy 1

Posted June 22, 2014
- a parent
The concern I have is their use of resources. There is a tight group that controls this school. They include the principal, many teachers and most of the parents on the board. The issue is that their children are at or entering high school age. They expend a large percentage of their budget to create a high school for perhaps 6 kids. this includes buildings, teachers and teaching materials. They intend to grow the school to encompass K -12 by adding a grade per year, which also happens to coincide with the oldest child of the principal. The plan is ambitious and they are not able to execute it without a negative impact on the primary grade levels. Over the two years our children were there we noticed the best teachers were reassigned to the high school grade levels while the K though 6 were handled with entry level teachers and parent volunteers. Interacting with these teachers could be troublesome. In the end we looked elsewhere for our children's education.Classical curriculum is excellent. This conflict of interest and resources will not be equalized and sorted out until years from now. If your plan is to educate your K-5 or even 8th grader this may not be the place.

Covenant Academy 1

Posted February 20, 2014
- a parent
Does not reflect God's beautiful rainbow of people in the world. In a Christian school efforts should be made to have a diverse group of God's people, God serves more than one group of people and he wants us to welcome all students from all ethnic groups.


Covenant Academy 5

Posted November 04, 2013
- a parent
Covenant Academy is AMAZING! From day one they have been very welcoming and every single experience has been very positive. My daughter is in love with this school and she wants to graduate here...and she is so little :) This is the place to be if you want the whole package for your kids an excellent education, parents are involved, teachers love to teach and care about your kids and best of all that your kids will grow up knowing about God's word. Many thanks!

Covenant Academy 5

Posted October 28, 2013
- a parent
My husband and I moved our daughter to Covenant Academy in February of 2013. After a few weeks of attending school there in the first grade, she came home saying that Covenant had changed her life. She feels safe, loved, and accepted. She is learning so much that she never had learned at her public school. Not only is she happy, but as a parent, I feel that the school communicates well with us and is in partnership with us in raising our daughter to become a Godly woman.

Covenant Academy 5

Posted August 06, 2012
- a parent
My daughter attends Covenant Academy. Unlike Cy-Fair schools that have just become so over-crowded, and as a result they have issues with classroom management and forget about your child as a result. Cy-Fair schools waste so much precious time preparing for the taks/star tests - that you only learn how to pass these tests - as a result your child loses precious time getting a proper education. The staff at Covenant are well educated and accountable for your childs education. They all take the time and effort to be engaged and mindful of your childs development. They do not tolerate alot of what goes on at the elem and middle schools in Cypress. The children that attend Covenant are held to a higher moral standard. And it is not as though teachers in Cy-Fair don't want the best for their students, they just don't have the support and time to do so. At Covenant it is the complete opposite. The class sizes are smaller and the staff does not tolerate the moral decline seen in schools now. If you are thinking about private school for your child - Covenant is a blessing in our local community. I am so thankful I found this school, what a relief.


Covenant Academy 5

Posted November 02, 2011
- a parent
Covenant Academy is an excellent school to send your children to. The teachers are well qualified and do a great job of training up the children in the way of Christ. The Head of School is doing wonderfully in bringing the school to where it needs to be. Our family has had a wonderful experience and I am so thankful for the work they are doing there.

Covenant Academy 5

Posted October 11, 2011
- a parent
Great year, new clubs (too much to choose), better studies, defined homework policy, simpler and improved PTF, clear expectations, 9th grade on horizon, new hires in office and in classrooms that are qualified and needed, simpler field trip procedures, new board member addition, music for all, combined elementary recess, team sports started, wonderful new building addition , happy with changes and support administration fully.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Covenant Academy
11711 Telge Road, Cypress, TX  77429
(281) 373-2233
Last modified Covenant Academy is a Private school that serves grades K-12
Covenant Academy Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 19 reviews. Top