Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
PK-5
Public
Dallas, TX
Students enrolled: 865

4 stars
Based on 10 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


12 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Highland Meadows Elementary School 5

Posted August 28, 2009
- a parent
Students learn alot. One student learned to read very well. It's the most fantastic schools in the dallas isd. my son learned how to talk perfecly. I was so proud of him.

Highland Meadows Elementary School 4

Posted December 15, 2008
- a parent
Everything at Highland Meadows is very good except Parent Involvement. Nine out of 10 students who attend this school are from low income families. I cannot help but wonder if parent involvement in PTA and other organizations is lacking because of the number of single parent families who must work during the day and come home too tired in the evening to attend functions. The faculty and staff are wonderful. They have done a great job with student achievement in the 5 years that the school has existed.


Highland Meadows Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted September 11, 2008
- a parent
This school is very nice but the staff is very very rude, I do not like how the teachers act towards the parents, my neice just started kindergarden and does not know her way around this school, parents are not allowed to take the young ones to their class , they expect the young children to go by themselves, and I do not think that it is right for a teacher to yell at a parent and tell them they can't go back with their child to drop them off by their class.. So The teachers are very very rude and unorganized..

Highland Meadows Elementary School 3

Posted August 25, 2008
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Highland Meadows Elementary School 4

Posted February 06, 2007
- a parent
My family has been involved with Highland Meadows from the very beginning as my son started Kindergarten when it opened. The staff is very dedicated, caring and professional. The facilities are brand new and holding up well. The playground that was added last year has been a great improvement. Dr. Jones has done an outstanding job at the school and has worked hard to keep the community involved. She has also responded to the neighbor's concerns about after-hours activities at the playground and things there have improved greatly. Well done Dr. Jones, we are glad to have you at our school!


Highland Meadows Elementary School 4

Posted September 13, 2006
- a parent
This is a fascinating school! My child attended here and achieved academically! She is know in a TAG school thanks to the effort of the teachers in teaching my child!

Highland Meadows Elementary School 4

Posted February 21, 2006
- a parent
I have two children attending this school and have been happy with Academic level as well as extracurricular activities. As a PTA Board member, I must say that it has been difficult to raise the level of parental involvement to a level that the PTA would like to see.

Highland Meadows Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted January 29, 2006
- a parent
The district is too large for any school to be successful


Highland Meadows Elementary School 4

Posted January 14, 2006
- a parent
Highland Meadows has great teachers. They are knowledgeable, dedicated and caring. This is a new school. This is only the second year that it has been open. The playgrounds added this year are a very welcome addition. My child is in the preschool program and he has music and art. Overall, I would rate Highland Meadows a 7 out of 10. The only area I feel could use improvement is the class sizes. I would like to teacher to child ratio to be smaller.

Highland Meadows Elementary School 4

Posted October 02, 2005
- a parent
Brand new school! I believe the district could do a better job with finishing outstanding projects.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Highland Meadows Elementary School
8939 Whitewing Lane, Dallas, TX  75238
(972) 502-5200
Last modified Highland Meadows Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 3 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Highland Meadows Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 12 reviews. Top